Skip to content

The Family that Dresses Together…..

January 17, 2011

I’m finding it really hard to get “family” outfits for the whole lot of us.

The family above isn’t mine, I snagged it from Google Images, but a girl can dream, right?

Clothing companies are too concerned about the individual outfits and are missing an entire market.  When is the last time you’ve been able to find  an entire outfit that matches your five year olds? There aren’t any out there.  Hard to imagine, right?

And what preteen boy doesn’t want to wear a nice corduroy romper just like his mom, dad and little brothers?  And sometimes his MawMaw? Maybe one with a nice applique that really proclaims the holiday or the season.  I don’t know about you, but it’s something I don’t want my kids to miss out on.

My husband and I have spent long evenings lamenting this perplexing dilemma.  How could they experience a proper childhood without family ensembles?  The closer the match, the better.

And just imagine the photographs.  I daydream of the possibilities.

One night, just before my birthday, Wayne took me out to dinner, and surprised me by solving this problem forever.

Yep.  You’re seeing it right.

A sewing machine that also monograms!

And lots of thread so that I can personalize everything we wear.

 

Everything.

Every.

Single.

Thing.

I’ll begin as soon as I finish my sewing classes that start this week!

So durn you, Ann Taylor! Your refusal to make clothes that fit my husband and children will bother me no more.

So there.

Yippee.  We can all be happy now!  My kids childhoods are still in tact!

I’m all about them having experiences, and this can only add a feeling of unity to our adventures.

I’ve already got five matching leprechaun outfits twirling around in my head for March.  I think I’ll surprise the boys with them! March 17th falls on a Thursday this year, maybe their dad and I could wear ours and volunteer at their school!  They’re going to be the happiest boys!  It’ll be like finding the pot of gold at the end of the rainbow!

Let me know, because I’m sure by Easter, I’ll be able to churn out some matching Easterwear for you and your loved ones. Get your orders in early!

I think a career is born!

Filling a niche, making the dreams of others come true.

That’s what I’m all about.

My life has purpose.

May your seams be strong and straight,

 

 

 

 

 

 

P.S. I think I need to clear something up, the wall behind that machine is not properly exposed, I would never paint anything in a color that muted! lol

21 Comments leave one →
  1. January 17, 2011 12:44 pm

    So, how early do I need to put in my order for our matching leprechaun outfits? I really, really want a set.

    Please let me know where to send the check.

    • January 21, 2011 8:55 am

      If you want, I can make a little rainbow that could be velcroed on to the whole shebang. I’ll email my address!

  2. January 17, 2011 1:22 pm

    Haha! You are funny Carol Anne. Though truthfully- I am a little jealous about your fancy new machine and your sewing classes. In my head I am an excellent seamstress. In reality- not so much. And I have my grandma’s old machine, it’s hard to part with.

    • January 21, 2011 8:57 am

      I’m really excited. I’ve got big ideas about all the things I want to make! Wish you were closer, we could make nice lunches and quilt, or some such thing!

  3. January 17, 2011 1:36 pm

    Oh my goodness, LL! I cannot believe he bought you all that…and you still need to take actual classes?!?!

    He’s a good man. :)

    • January 21, 2011 8:58 am

      He’s a good egg! He’s got more faith in me than I have in myself!

  4. January 17, 2011 2:44 pm

    I’m doubtful about the matching outfits, but that machine is all kinds of awesome! And the rack of colored embroidery thread is a treat for the eyes. Please keep us posted on your creations.

    • January 21, 2011 8:58 am

      So far, I’ve sewn on paper, hopefully I’ll have something to share soon!

  5. January 17, 2011 5:46 pm

    I’ve gotta admit that me and sewing machines do NOT get along. The one and only sewing class I took was in 7th grade in my home ec class so I HAD to take it. Our project was to make a wrap around skirt (it was 1978!!) and I managed to sew my finger to the machine.

    I know, that takes talent, doesn’t it? ; )

    I love the shot of your sewing threads. That’d make a nice screen saver during these blah winter months!

    • January 21, 2011 8:59 am

      Yikes! I hope that I can sew something other than flesh! That had to hurt!

  6. January 17, 2011 8:42 pm

    I am picturing you and Wayne dressed like deranged leprechauns and dancing around your kids’ school. And I can’t.stop.laughing. The husband is starting to give me funny looks, and I can’t even explain beyond, “Go read LulaLola’s post”.

    • January 21, 2011 9:00 am

      I’ll post video. It’ll be great! lol The more enthusiastic, the better!

  7. January 17, 2011 10:09 pm

    Oh that is awesome! Long gone are the days of khaki pants and a black shirt family photo op!

    Good luck with the sewing! I think it’s way cool! I’m a little jealous. A lot…actually!

  8. January 17, 2011 10:53 pm

    That initial family photo had me rolling!! I can just imagine trying to pose for that one!! I’m so excited for you!! What a great gift!! How do your boys feel about being matchy matchy???

  9. January 17, 2011 11:00 pm

    My five-year-old (who loves to dress up) would probably think it funny and get a kick out of dressing up a like. My fifteen-year-old, on the other hand, would not. An inevitable war would ensue! lol

  10. January 18, 2011 12:02 am

    Oh Lula Lola, you can go crazy! Outfits for each season! Each holiday! Oh, Easter is coming….boys just love them some matching Easter wear with bunnies and chicks embroidered on them.

    You crack me up, and I often think of borrowing families from the web, too. Almost did it for my Christmas cards this year.

  11. January 18, 2011 2:56 am

    Is it wrong if I tell you that I just became RIDICULOUSLY excited to see what you come up with here?!?

    I’m pretty sure it’s going to be Ah-Mazing!

  12. January 18, 2011 9:45 am

    You crack me up!! I try to stay as far away from my sewing machine as possible. The more dust it gathers, the better off we all are! But I think you are going to have a very cool, very matching family in the near future!

  13. January 18, 2011 11:17 am

    Oh, you shouldn’t have offered. I have no patience for sewing, so I’m sure I’ll be sending in lots of orders for you. If I can ever get my kids to pose for a family photo.

  14. January 18, 2011 4:36 pm

    Love that Sewing Machine and look at all those colors! Beautiful! :-) ~Take Care…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

