Skip to content

Practicing

January 20, 2011

Okay, we’ve had our two weeks of winter, and since it’s lasted so long this year, I guess we’re all ready for summer.

I’ve started loosely planning our summer vacation.

I’m envisioning lots of beach time mixed with a very eclectic road trip.

I’m hoping(if Wayne can get away) that we’ll be able to take an east coast road trip.  Last year, I was flipping a trip to DC over in my head, but couldn’t work the dates out with my family’s pesky work and  school issues.

I’m hopeful that we can get a few weeks on the road this summer.  In my daydreams, I’m imagining the Outer Banks of NC, I’d like to take the kids to see Wild Corolla Spanish Mustang Horses.  Then maybe off to Richmond, Yorktown, Jamestown or maybe the Hampton Roads area or Virginia.  I’d like to scoot into Washington DC for the better part of a week.  Then onto Boston and on up to Acadia National Park in Maine.

I’m envisioning the Whitman’s sampler of lodging choices.  I’d like to do everything from camping in a tent to renting a cabin or house to seedy(or not so seedy) hotels to really nice hotels and resorts.  I’m checking out my options currently.  Suggestions would be appreciated!

I want to get a good dose of history, entertainment and lots of the great outdoors.  I’ve found whale watching tours and kayak trips and rock climbing excursions.  I’ve researched hot air balloon rides and archaeological dig sites.  I’ve found lobster boats that will take us out for the day.  Bike tours of the Washington DC.  Scavenger hunts all over Boston. Trails and camping areas that look like just plain fun. I’m getting very excited.

Now, if Wayne’s dad-gum business will cooperate and we can get away, I’m ready.

We all got new camping gear for Christmas.  Always planning, that’s me.

I’ve talked about it a lot with the kids, trying to feel out what they’d find interesting and all.  It’s been a great diversion since we’ve been in a lot with our two weeks of winter.

Sam, who is more like me than you could even imagine, is getting as ramped up as I am.  In fact, he’s been “practicing.”

I have a 12×12 tent set up in my living room.  It sort of fills up a room.  We don’t hang out in there much anyway, so I guess it’s not actually hurting anything.  Though, it looks pretty crazy.  I’m sort of used to it now.

Sam is sleeping in it more than in his own room.

He’s pretending he’s on a trip.

I think I’m raising a wanderer.

Yay!

** The ill fitting, mismatched pajamas that Sam is wearing were his call, not mine.  You can’t accuse me of micromanaging these kids!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. January 20, 2011 3:05 pm

    I would be scared to post a pic of what Laila wears to sleep. In the summer they got into the habit of sleeping in their sundresses. Whatever.
    We are thinking about Maine too.

  2. January 20, 2011 4:05 pm

    I know how much you love to travel! I bet you are chomping at the bit right now, just waiting for winter to be behind us!

  3. January 20, 2011 4:06 pm

    Oh, you’re such a gypsy at heart! And now you’re raising a few of your own….love that. Half the fun of the summer vacations is in the planning and the anticipating, so enjoy!

    • January 21, 2011 7:38 am

      I love the planning. It gives me something to tie me over until we’re on the road!

  4. January 20, 2011 5:03 pm

    We used to live in the DC area, and it really is quite pretty. The city itself is a-MAAAAZ-ing, with tons and tons of stuff to do—be SURE and check out the Natural History museum and the Air and Space Museum out at Dulles airport, where they have the Concord and the SR-71 Blackbird. Waaaaay cool. Then, if you can rent a car, head west about 30 minutes or so, and visit the Manassas Battlefields (that was where we lived. In Manassas, not the battlefields!). They have hiking paths along a creek and leftover canons to touch and explore, and markers describing the scenes of the two battles that took place there. It’s just gorgeous.

    I’m happy that we moved to Arkansas, but there are some places that I really miss about living in that area. Hope you have a terrific time.

    • January 21, 2011 7:40 am

      I can’t wait! I might end up emailing you before we go and get your opinion on some things! Thanks for the tips!

  5. January 20, 2011 6:15 pm

    All I’m saying lady is that you had better freaking TELL ME when you get to New England. Having called Boston my home for most of my life before moving north, I can totally give you the insider’s look.

    Plus I think it would be awesome to meet up.

    • January 21, 2011 7:41 am

      Absolutely! I’d love to meet you! And I can use all the planning help I can get! Yay!

  6. January 20, 2011 10:38 pm

    Love it! We have done living room camping a few times too! The kids love it! And the PJ’s rock! He’d be right at home in my house!

  7. January 22, 2011 4:04 pm

    I wanna go on vacation with you! And my kids love to do the tent in the living room thing. I think it’s good for them. : )

  8. January 23, 2011 1:47 am

    That is the cutest thing ever!! And I am so totally jealous even just of your planning stages! I want a vacation so bad right now!

  9. January 24, 2011 12:03 pm

    I swear on everything that’s cheese, if I could trade lives with anyone – just for a week – I’d pick you. You’re always doing the funnest, off-the-wall things. I can only imagine what your kids are like because of it … (hilarious, is what I’m thinking).

    Anyway, new travel itinerary: Colorado.

    There. Decision made for you. You’re welcome.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

