Skip to content

“Lula Lola Maddy May Jane Scooterbug Drakeford Truesdale.”

January 20, 2010

Lula Lola: The early years

Well, I finally decided on a name for this blog.   I did some research.  From everything I’ve read, I needed a concise easy to remember name.  One that would let people know what my blog was about.  Short and to the point, that’s what I was looking for.  

Never having been one to take direction well, I have arrived at   “Lula Lola Maddy May Jane Scooterbug Drakeford Truesdale.”    It tells you nothing, couldn’t really be called short, and is certainly not easy to remember.  But, it’s the name for me.

            When I was a kid, my Dad was a mail carrier.  Rural letter carrier, actually.  He carried the mail in Heath Springs, SC.  He really enjoyed the people on his route.  And  came home with funny stories and often bags of fresh vegetables from their gardens. 

            I’ve heard the story of Lula Lola Maddy May Jane Scooterbug Drakeford Truesdale more times than you can imagine.  I know it by heart.  My Dad called me this mouthful of a nick name throughout my childhood.   Daddy carried the mail for a lady who was expecting a baby.  She wanted to name the baby after her employer.  But, she’d had so many, and she really loved all of them.  So, she decided to name the baby after all of her old bosses.  Thus, Lula Lola Maddy May Jane Scooterbug Drakeford Truesdale was hung with her name.  Could you imagine trying to learn to spell that one in kindergarten?

            This story still sticks out in my memory.  So, I figured, why not?  I couldn’t think of anything that suited me any better.  Lula Lola Maddy May Jane Scooterbug Drakeford Truesdale.  Kind of rolls off the tongue, don’t you think?

But, you can call me Lula Lola for short! 😉

10 Comments leave one →
  1. February 26, 2010 6:30 am

    I LOVE the name you’ve settled on. Mine is really tedious. And now I’m considering changing it…Love you blog Lula Lola!

    • February 26, 2010 9:56 am

      Thank you! I’m so new to this blogging thing, I really am trying it figure it all out! I need help making it pretty. Haven’t figured that out at all!

  2. March 8, 2010 12:52 pm

    Hi there! I am trying to work my way through your layout. What is your most recent post? Not that I wouldn’t read others…just want to be sure I am following along in the right order.

    By the way, I love the name of your blog!

    • March 8, 2010 2:49 pm

      You are so sweet to stop by!
      This whole thing is a train wreck. I’m not sure how to even set it up. Sad, huh?
      My most recent post is about being assertive.
      The whole Lula Lola thing is stuck on my front page and I can’t get it off! lol

  3. March 10, 2010 6:24 pm

    Just read your post on name calling, not sure why the comments are here. Anyway, now that I think of it, it’s funny what our kids come up with instead of the words they aren’t allowed to say. Mine aren’t allowed to say shut up either, but I often hear them saying “shut your mouth” very stongly!!

    • March 10, 2010 9:08 pm

      I am clueless about how to set this site up and that’s why it’s so crazy! :p
      The kids really find the loopholes, don’t they?

  4. March 12, 2010 8:03 am

    That’s such a cute story! My dad gave me a simple nickname– “Zib” (I couldn’t pronounced Elizabeth, so it worked out well).

    ~Elizabeth

    • March 13, 2010 8:31 pm

      I like Zib, I’d want to be called that all the time. Sounds very exotic!

  5. March 12, 2010 10:04 am

    I love the story of your blog name (and nickname). Very cute! I only started my blog two weeks ago and I already forget how I came up with the name. It is nice that you have a story to tell with yours!

    • March 13, 2010 8:31 pm

      Thanks! I racked my brain, and this was the best I could do! lol

Leave a Reply

