Skip to content

How to make the Cupcake as Good as the Icing!

January 24, 2010

The popularity of the cupcake seems to be at an all time high. I see them on tee shirts. I see them on stationary. I see them on jewelry. I see soap shaped like them. They are everywhere. But, my favorite place to see them is on my plate.
I’ve never thought much about cupcakes until recently. They’ve always been the thing you take to your first graders class when there’s a party. Half the time, I’d go by Wal-Mart and pick up a couple of dozen. But, this year, I was in a pinch for time and just made some from a mix with the container of frosting you get from the grocery store. They were pretty ugly actually. And they tasted okay. Nothing to get excited about. I make some really good desserts, I had to learn to make better cupcakes.
So, I bought a book. Hello Cupcake! It was fantastic. The cutest and most easy to do cupcakes ever. And, you don’t need an arsenal of cake decorating supplies to make them. But, aside from the really creative cupcake designs, they gave some tips about baking your cupcakes from a mix. So, I got out a regular old box of butter recipe cake mix. I pretty much ignored the recipe on the back. I did add the amount of oil they were recommending. Aside from that, I added buttermilk instead of water. One cup. And I added 4 eggs. I followed the directions on the box for time and temperature.
Well, when they came out, they were perfection. Didn’t taste like they were from a mix at all. They were light and fluffy and just wonderful.
The proof of this came later. My husband is like one big kid. He could eat frosting right out of the container or bowl. He eats the icing and skips the cupcake or cake. Well, I gave him one of my newest goodies. And, miracle of miracles, he ate the whole thing. And, actually said, “this cupcake tastes as good as the icing.”
Moments later, I was being helped off the floor. This was such a shock that I fainted dead away.
But, this will be the way I make cupcakes, when I’m using a mix, for the rest of my life.
I also made the easiest cream cheese frosting in the world.
Try this frosting! It will forever be my “go to” frosting recipe.
Now, go bake some cupcakes!
Oh and if you don’t have buttermilk, you can make your own by adding a tablespoon of lemon juice or vinegar to a cup(or a little less) of milk. But, go on and buy some buttermilk. Use it in your muffins and baked goods. I won’t be without it again.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

