Skip to content

My favorite “Breakfast” Scrub

January 27, 2010

Pouring the melted coconut oil into the scrub

I tried this coconut oil tonight. It's solid and I melted it over a low flame. So far so good, but it's my first time with it, so I'll let you know.

This is about how coarse I grind my oatmeal. The finer it is, the less mess it leaves in the shower or tub.

Okay, now I like a bath. Not so much a shower person, but I like a good relaxing soak. I cannot start my day without a nice bath. In the last few months, I’ve become obsessed with making my own bath products. So much that I’m going to try to attend a “hippie camp” as my friends are calling it in March to learn how to make soap. One whole week away from home and that’s what I want to do with it. Not everybody’s cuppa, but I’m digging the whole idea. Hoping I don’t come back smoking weed, burning incense and letting my arm pit hair grow out. But, you never know what you’re missing! 🙂 

So, back on track, the scrub. 

Here’s the basic recipe. It changes a little each time I make it. 

  • 1/2 cup ground oats, some would probably refer to this as oatmeal.  I grind my own oats in the food processor , you choose how coarse you want them
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 3/4 cup epsom salt Add more of the salt if you need it to be a little coarser,less if you want it to be a little more gentlemen. You could skip it all together if you wanted
  • oil, grapeseed is great, but I’ve used olive oil, not a virgin olive oil, it’s got too strong of a smell.  Today, I used coconut oil that I melted in a saucepan on the stove, I’ll let you know how it works
  • 1 or 2 tablespoons of honey

I wash my hair every other day and I use this on the days that aren’t hair washing days.  It would be just a mess to let my hair get mixed up with this stuff I’m thinking. 

Grind the oats, pour in the other dry ingredients, stir well.  Add the oil/oils and then the honey.  Stir well. 

You have the option of adding a little fragrance oil, though this smells pretty good on it’s on. 

Now, I use this all over, but if you aren’t leathery from too many years of sun bathing, then you may only use this on the rough spots. Get a handful and go to town! It does leave your bath tub pretty slippery, so be careful.  A silky soft tail doesn’t seem so important when it’s broken! Enjoy!

P.S. I like the coconut oil. It’s a little tiny bit thicker, but doesn’t feel greasy after you get out of the bath or anything. And I feel quite moisturized, thank you very much!
P.S.S. Don’t use this immediately following shaving your legs. It contains salt. Trust me on this one.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

