Skip to content

Chill Out Stinky Feet

February 13, 2010

The other night, my eleven year old son plopped down in my computer chair and sat down to do a little homework.  I sat down beside him and my nose was assaulted.  I mean clobbered, by the smell that was floating up from this child’s feet.  I swear, I could almost see that green cloud you see in cartoons when something really reeks. 

So, as any loving mother would, I chased him away.  Made him leave quickly.  He needed a bath.  Why would anyone smell like that?  Those are new shoes?  What the heck?  Honey, what the heck? 

Now, I’m married to a turkey farmer, and I know stinky.  Seriously.  Challenge me here and you will lose.  I know what stinks.  And this child STUNK! 

So, of course, that night, I threw the offending sneakers in the washing machine.  I even loaded them down with Borax and let them sit for a while first.  Surely, Borax would do it.  I’m not sure what Borax is, but it once took crayon stains out of my sheets, so I trusted it to do away with this problem. 

NO SUCH LUCK!  To my horror, when I got them out of the washing machine, they were just wet and stinky.  What to do?  So, after researching it a little on the internet, I got several suggestions.   Apparently, the problem is bacteria.  So, my kid has bacteria filled shoes.  Oh Bessie, that’s a problem.  So, to do away with the smell, you have to do away with the bacteria.  I would have thought that’s what the washing machine was for…wouldn’t you think?  But, here’s what dear old internet suggested…

  •  Mist them with alcohol, it should evaporate quickly and then shake around a tablespoon or so of baking soda.
  • Don’t wear the same pair every day, alternate
  • Always wear socks(shocker)
  • But, the big one, is so easy and I am thrilled that it worked so well was the freezer.  I got his stinking shoes and put them each in a gallon sized freezer bag and put them in the freezer over night.  This morning, I got up and checked them, and guess what, good as new.  You would never have known that they had once been so rotten that I had denied my child educational opportunities because of them.

Okay, if you’re like me, the idea of stinky shoes around your food is pretty repulsive.  But, I got past it.  I had washed the shoes, they weren’t caked in dog poo or anything, but, I put them in those heavy-duty zip lock baggies and tried it.  I guess if you live somewhere cold, you could just leave them outside. 

Anyway, worked well for the sneakers of Stink o potomos.  So, maybe it’ll work well for you too.  Though, I sincerely hope your feet don’t stink to begin with.  It’s just not attractive.  Though, easily remedied!

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 27, 2014 9:15 pm

    Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted
    to say that I have really enjoyed browsing your blog posts.
    After all I will be subscribing to your rss feed and I
    hope you write again soon!

Leave a Reply

