Skip to content

How Not to Spend Your Kids College Fund on Disney Pins

February 26, 2010

 

Disney Trading Pins for Cheap!

I have three boys and they all love collecting Disney pins.  When we are at WDW,  that is their souvenir of choice.  They love trading with each other and trading with cast members and anyone else they can talk into trading with. 

I hear phrases like, I’ll trade you that Darth Vader Stitch pin for your bad guy shaped like a bowling pin.  Quite entertaining for them, let me tell you.  They wear those lanyards, and pin them all over their hats. 

The thing about collecting them is that they aren’t free. They start at somewhere around $7 a pop.  And that’s for the most basic pins.  And they aren’t very big.  So, you can spend $50 in a blink and have very little to show for it.  Especially if you’re like me and you’re splitting things up between three kids.  And pins are everywhere!  I don’t think you can go anywhere without seeing them.  They are for sale, or being worn by cast members.  So, the kids can get pretty fanatical pretty quick.  A lot of the pins are closer to $15.  And of course those are the ones that they are going to want.  So, if you take that out of the equation, and they are left with tons to trade, it’ll save you some money. 

The best solution that I have to offer is eBay.  I’ve purchased pins for around $1 each.  You buy them in lots and it’s sort of  a grab bag.  You don’t know what you’re getting, but that’s okay.   They can trade the ones they don’t like without having to hem and haw and twiddle thumbs over what to trade.  It’s actually a time saver.  I have asked, before bidding, if the seller would make me an “all boy” lot.  And they have been very happy to work with me. 

My middle son has a birthday coming up next week, and he’ll be getting some as will my 5 year old who will be celebrating his birthday in WDW in April!
If you think your kids are interested in pin collecting, this is a good way to get into the fun without whittling away the college fund.

If you've got a trip coming up, these are great to pack into treat bags, or give as rewards for really good behavior. They add to the excitement around my house!

 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 26, 2010 12:05 pm

    That is a lot of pins. I need a plan for not spending my kids college fund on Hello Kitty memorabilia. And now I want a Darth Vader Stitch pin.

    • February 26, 2010 12:16 pm

      I may have a kid that would trade you his Darth Vader Stitch pin, but you may have to come up with something other than Hello Kitty. I think his brothers might give him a hard time. lol

  2. May 27, 2010 5:32 pm

    I have a lanyard with 2 Disney pins on it. A girlfriend I went to high school with sent them to me for Emily when she went a couple years ago. She goes to Disneyland in CA. quite often.
    {me, not so much since I’m in NJ now}

    So there the lanyard sits…………..with 2 pins. I will hold onto it for the day I can take Emily to WDW {when she’s old enough to understand} and she can wear hers proudly. hehe

    PS. I am going to send you a pin in your package………. since you are still patiently waiting “FOR THAT PLATE.”

Trackbacks

  1. Prepared. ‘Cause That’s Just Who I Am. « Lula Lola
  2. Prepared. ‘Cause That’s Just Who I Am. — Lula Lola

Leave a Reply

