Skip to content

Mom Guilt, Post Number 437

March 3, 2010

I had hoped my last post would put an end to this  “Mom Guilt”  theme that I’ve been harping on. But, not so much.
My husband brought cupcakes to my Mack’s class for his birthday today. And I really make good cupcakes, but didn’t think the added ingredients that may have come with my stomach virus would have been welcomed, so he bought some from the Wal-Mart bakery. This is somewhat guilt inducing. The fact that his cupcakes weren’t cute and homemade and that my husband delivered them to his class makes me feel like a loser.  But, the kicker was the conversation we had after school.

“Mom, do you feel better? ”

“I sure do!”

“Yay! I got my wish!””

“What do you mean?”

“That’s what I wished for when I blew out my candles today at school!”

I”m thinking he should have wished his Mom wasn’t such a loser!

One year, we were going to Disney for his birthday and ended up having to call off the trip because I had pneumonia.  His birthdays are just destined to include a sickly mother.  Poor kid!
Signed, 

Guilty Mom,

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 3, 2010 5:12 pm

    Don’t be too hard on yourself! Sounds like you’re a great mom.

    • March 3, 2010 8:02 pm

      I get it right about as often as I mess it up! I guess I’m breaking even. My boys are learning to be ultra flexibile if nothing else. Thanks for the kind words though! 🙂

Leave a Reply

