Skip to content

Being Assertive Makes Me Feel Icky!

March 8, 2010

This is a really weird post.  I won’t get into the specifics, but I’ve got an attorney that is handling the sale of some property for me.  He’s dragging his feet and not getting it done.  And won’t even give me a time-table for when it will be done.  This same attorney almost jeopardized the sale of my house by dragging his feet.  And the same guy failed to show up for a hearing we were having with the zoning board when we were first trying to get permission to build our poultry farm. 

The part of this that’s funny, as I write it down, is that he’s not had a very good track record with me, but I’ve continued to use him.  It’s a small town thing, I guess. 

So, today, I made a phone call and asked if he had any idea when we could close on this property.  He answered, “Won’t be today.”  When I asked if he could give me a time frame at all, he answered, “No, I’ll call you when I work the bugs out. ”  So, I asked about the bugs, what were they exactly.  His answer didn’t seem like that much of an ordeal.  But, he said he was “trying to get it done.” 

Getting the run around for this length of time is wearing on me. 

So, my next question was kind of unexpected I think.  “Are you really?  Are you really trying? ”

I heard the ice in his voice.  “Yes.”

I sweetened right up, why I don’t know.  But, in my nicest voice asked if he’d try and get it done or at least point us in another direction so that we could get things rolling. 

He said, I was welcome to use someone else.  And I thanked him profusely.  You would think he’d actually completed the job that he’d promised.  And I told him that I thought we would see if someone else could help us. 

He’s a weak man,I’ve known him forever, and he’s just someone that screams, wimpy, wimpy, wimpy.  I don’t know why I felt intimidated.  I feel like throwing up just a little right now.  He was working for me, not doing me a favor.  Why do I feel this way about wanting the work he’s supposed to be doing completed? 

I called the other attorney who was familiar with this property and the problems that are coming along with it.  I’ve not been impressed with him either in past dealings, but he won’t have to start from scratch, so I called.  I’m still waiting on his return call.  I’m not even actually expecting to hear from him.

I’m feeling frustrated.  Frustrated that you can’t just pay someone to do a job and expect to get it done.  Frustrated that I am such a wimp.  Frustrated that I feel bad about coming across as impatient or even sniffy. 

Frustrated.  I hate it when I have to be assertive.  I’m just not very good at it.

I’m feeling kind of frustrated. 

 Grrrr, Hoping a bird nests and spends the day pooping on my former attorney’s car,

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 9, 2010 12:54 am

    Oh, I HATE being aggressive. Don’t feel bad because how you acted to the attorney sounds exactly like something I would have done. And then afterwards I’m so mad at myself.

    • March 9, 2010 9:38 am

      I hate it! I tend to put up with a bunch before I snap. If I would just handle the little things, I guess it wouldn’t snow ball, and I wouldn’t get to the “snapping point”.

Leave a Reply

