Skip to content

Butt, Stupid, Shut Up, Fart, Dummy, Hate

March 10, 2010

Butt, Stupid, Shut Up, Fart, Dummy, Hate. 

These are the words that I’ve outlawed at our house. These are the “bad words.”   Some of them were “bad words” when I was a kid.  I’m just not a fan of hearing little kids say them.

 I, on the other hand have been known to have a potty mouth myself on occasion, when the kids aren’t around.  Not my best quality, but I’m an adult.  They can have a “cussing” throw down when they are adults if they see fit.  I won’t say a word.  I just don’t want to hear it when they’re little.

 Crazy?  Probably.  But, it’s a crazy I’m not swaying on. 

The only problem with my list is that it’s not everyone else’s list.  When my kids started public school, you’d think they were hanging around with a bunch of sailors.  Their mouths just dropped at stuff the kids and the teachers would say.  It’s taken a little effort to explain these aren’t bad words to everyone.  But, at our house, they are. 

Why, they thought Junie B. Jones was a heathen with all her swearing. lol

They find ways around it.  I hear them call each other “stu…” sometimes.  Didn’t technically say stupid, so they pretend they didn’t do anything wrong.   They’ve been known to tell each other to “shut it”.  Once again, didn’t say, “shut up” so was it really wrong?  It is a little hard to enforce.  So, my general rule of thumb is,  if it sounds disrespectful, then we shouldn’t say it.

Do you have words or phrases that aren’t technically “bad” that you don’t allow your kids to use?  Or am I the only one buying this flavor of crazy?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 10, 2010 1:38 pm

    Butt, Stupid, Shut Up, Fart, Dummy, Hate

    No kidding. These are words we don’t use in our house either. They are so negative and why would you want your kids saying these anyways. They are not the worst words out there but they are gateway words. I completely agree with your post. I have to think of other words we dont like our kids to say

  2. March 10, 2010 6:25 pm

    Did you find your other comment from me?? Sorry about that. Not sure how it posted in the wrong place.

    • March 10, 2010 9:10 pm

      I did find it. I just have no clue how to set this site up, so it’s completely confusing!

  3. March 11, 2010 8:52 am

    Funny that your kids say stu instead of stupid, I’m 30 and I still do that because I wasn’t allowed to say stupid as a kid. We don’t have banned words at our house yet, my son is 9 but he has CP and I haven’t yet had to worry about it. But I’m going to have to start thinking about it with the new baby almost here!

  4. March 13, 2010 9:35 am

    Hi! Thanks for stopping by my blog!

    My girls are all teenagers, but we did have the verboten words when they were little, just along the same lines as those. I also added, “fart” to the mix because I hate that word. We called it “toot” and to this day, that’s what my girls call that. A little more ladylike. The other words have found their way into our vocabulary and yes, I am a cusser of vast proportions. Especially when driving. I can not drive without my profanity.

    I never notice my cussing until my young niece is in the car. She too, feels the words stupid and idiot are bad words. She is the profanity police in my car and lets me know every time something slips. There’s A LOT of cussing, I’ve realized.

Leave a Reply

