Skip to content

Interview with a Four Year Old

March 13, 2010

Fantastic Sam. This is my baby. Third child. He is also the wordiest. He hasn’t stopped talking since he got here, so I thought I’d let him do the talking this morning. I will preface this with, he’s been known to tell a tall tale from time to time. I’ve come up with some questions, baited him into agreeing to an interview(girl scout cookies). He’s agreed to sit down with me until his patience runs out. So, here we go. By the way, we’re letting it all hang out, I won’t be editing his answers. They will be direct quotes.

Sam, how are you this morning?
Good.
Can you tell me a little about yourself?
I just go to sleep real long. I like to the play on the park.(“On the park” his words, not mine) I like to eat peanuts. I like to look out the window. I like to sit down.(lie) And that’s all.
I’d like to talk about your family a little. Is that okay with you?
(Grins mischievously)
What’s the nicest thing about being in this family?
I love my family. The goodest thing about it is having a good daddy and good mommy and good brothers.(No lying here)
I appreciate your honesty.
What is the thing that stinks the most about being in this family?
Foxy. She stinks. (Pomeranian who, indeed, needs a bath, truthful again)
Can you tell me a little about your dad?
My Daddy likes to sleep almost all day. (The man never even sits down, seriously)When does he get to do that? When you’re not here. When am I not here? When you’re at the store.(Who knew?)
What’s the best thing about him?
He likes to play the monster game.
What’s the one thing about him that you wish you could change?
I would change him so he could clean up around the house for the kids.
How about your brother Adam? Favorite thing? Anything you’d like to see him do more?
Adam likes to play outside. He lets me clean his room so I can play with his Bakugan.(I don’t see the appeal) A cart-wheel.(Really?)
How about Mack? Very best thing?
Mack let’s me come in his room and play with his stuff.(I’ve never actually witnessed this, wishful thinking, maybe?)
What would you like to see Mack do more often?
Play Star Wars with me.
Okay, you know mommy LOVES you! You’re doing great, can I get you another cookie? So, best thing about your mom?
The best thing about her is cause she’s beautiful. (And so the brainwashing has been effective…..)
Least favorite thing? It’s okay if you can’t think of anything. Seriously.
Some days she won’t let me make up her. (Have you seen me after one of his makeovers?)
What’s the best thing about you? This should be an easy one.
I like to play with my brothers sometimes.
What does Daddy like doing?
He likes to wrestle.
What does Mama like doing?
Keep herself safe.(???? During the wrestling?)
On your next “special day” what do you want to do?
Go to the park and see Caroline.(Best friend)
If you could do anything you wanted today, what would you do?
Go outside and enjoy the sunset tonight.(Easy enough)
Thank you for you time Sam, it’s been a pleasure. (As he runs off to wrestle with his Dad)

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 13, 2010 1:12 pm

    Sooo cute…what a great idea, to interview your son! I might have to steal that idea some day…giving you full credit, of course. : ) I’ve so enjoyed getting to know you and your family through your blog. And the answers he gave to the questions are really great!

    • March 13, 2010 8:59 pm

      I’m enjoying reading about your family too! I’ll look forward to reading your interview. I think I’m going to try to talk my other two into giving me an interview too.

  2. March 13, 2010 11:37 pm

    I love this idea! Sam is charming and oh-so-adorable πŸ™‚

    • March 14, 2010 7:40 am

      Thank you! I could just bite him! (I mean this in the nicest possible way!)

  3. March 14, 2010 6:49 am

    Oh man that is so cute. I wish I could ask my kid, but I think the answers would all be the same, “Ah babababamamamababba*raspberry*” Maybe in a few years.

    • March 15, 2010 4:46 pm

      Oh, I remember rattling along with the raspberry for punctuation. Probably cuter than when they actually start talking. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

