Skip to content

Interview with a Seven Year Old

March 14, 2010

 

Yesterday, I got the idea that I wanted to interview my four-year old, Sam. He is big on conversation. So, I thought I’d ask him a few questions. It went pretty well, so I thought I’d do the same with my seven-year old, Mack. I may even talk, my 11-year-old, Adam into it with a little bribery.
Seven year old Mack is the most sensitive of our boys, he’s very much like his dad.  He’s also the most impulsive.  He and I share a tendency to leap before we look.  He’s a great, loving, dancing little kid.  It’s kind of hard for him to sit still, so cross your fingers.  Without further adieu, Captain Random,  Mr. Fidget, the marvelous Mack.

Can you tell me a little about yourself?
I’m good-looking.
Smart.
Good looking.
I’ve got that one.
But, write it down again. Good looking.(Not sure where this is coming from)
Moving on.
 

I’d like to talk about your family a little. Is that okay with you?
Mmmhmmm
 

What’s the nicest thing about being in this family?
Having two nice Dad and mamas. (For the record, it sounds like there’s four of us, but in actuality, it’s just the two)

What is the thing that stinks the most about being in this family?
Tortured. Everyday.
By who?
Sam and…(he pauses as he tries to make me think he’s talking about me) Sam

Can you tell me a little about your dad?
Nice, he won’t get me in trouble for jumping. (Wriggles in chair and tries not to jump.) Thank you for giving me the bike.(Out of the blue, he did get a bike for his birthday last week)

You’re welcome.

What’s the best thing about him?
(Crosses eyes while trying to think. This isn’t going well.) Everything.

Can you be more specific?
Please, just go to the next question.

What’s the one thing about him that you wish you could change?
Hair, I’d turn it yellow instead of black.

How about your brother Adam? Favorite thing? Anything you’d like to see him do more?
(Crosses eyes again, having trouble thinking.) A split. (This baffles me, Sam wanted a cart-wheel, Adam is not gymnastically{not sure if that’s a word} inclined.)

How about Sam? Very best thing?
He cleans up my room.

What would you like to see Sam do more often?
Not torture me.

How does he torture you?
Not letting me go to sleep, makes me read him books every day, comes in my room and never gets out.(Now he’s ready to dish)

Okay, you know mommy LOVES you! This should be an easy one. So, best thing about your mom?
Everything, same as Daddy.

Can you be more specific?
No ma’am.

Least favorite thing? It’s okay if you can’t think of anything. Seriously. I know this will be difficult.
(Lots of giggling)
Making me get in trouble for climbing. You gotta admit, nobody likes to get in trouble.

I guess you’re right. Wouldn’t it work better if you just stopped climbing?
Move on please.
Okay

What’s the best thing about you? This should be an easy one.
I’m nice and more nice.

Is that all you’ve got?
No, good-looking.
Kinda of hung up on that one, aren’t you?
(more giggles)

What does Daddy like doing?

Quit chewing your DS(remember when I called him Mr. Fidget?)
He likes playing with his turkeys.

Really?
WEll, he stays at the turkey farm all day.

What does Mama like doing?
Cleaning.

REALLY?
You’re like, “do you know me?”

So, what do you think I really like doing?
Cleaning.

We need to spend more time together.

On your next “special day” what do you want to do?
Climb all day without getting in trouble. At the whitewater park, I would really like to climb there.

If you could do anything you wanted today, what would you do?
I would like to be staying up all night. But, I’ve got SCHOOL tomorrow.

What is your favorite thing to learn?
Probably not science. Math, Reading. Not science.(Not sure what he’s got against science)

What do you want to be when you grow up?
Rodeo Bull rider/skydiver/race car driver.

Wow! Those are dangerous choices.
I’m a dare-devil.

Yes you are.

Can this be over?
Yeah, thanks buddy.

God love him!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 14, 2010 9:08 pm

    That is soo cute! What a great idea! It will be fun for him to look back on his answers in 10 years or so.

  2. March 14, 2010 9:25 pm

    What a great idea!! He’s very smart ;)!! Love the pictures. Especially the dirty face!

  3. March 15, 2010 12:48 pm

    Love the “good looking” answers! He certainly is, too!

  4. March 16, 2010 8:57 am

    He’s a little nut! I love the dirty face picture too. It’s one of my favorite pictures. I let the kids dig a big hole and put a hose in it for them ages ago. They spent days playing in it.
    I thought the “good looking” answers were pretty funny too. He would never act like that in front of anyone, but he was sure showing off for me.

Leave a Reply

