Skip to content

5Q Friday

March 19, 2010

Today is Friday, which means, no school tomorrow for the kiddos and I for one am ready for the weekend!

It also means it’s time for Five Question Friday with Mama M.  I’m so proud!  I actually came up with the brilliant question about your house temp.  And she picked it! Yay me!  If you’re not already answering these five pressing questions today, why not?  Go check her out and link up! 
My Little Life

 
 
1. Have you ever had a celeb sighting?
I have actually had a celeb incident on a couple of occasions. My best friend and I hung out with aging country singer, Merle Haggard and band on a few occasions.  Another time, I ended up backstage with Hank Williams Jr., and  a slew of other early nineties country bands that no one would know if I named them.  The funny thing is, I rarely ever listen to country music anymore.  I still have traumatic memories of horrendous attempts at line dancing when I was in college. *Shudder*
2. What temperature do you keep your house?
Up until recently, I kept it on about 72.  I like it toasty. But, after receiving the past two bills, and not being able to eat as well as pay them, I’ve bumped it down to 68.  Feels like 48 to me though.  I’m cold natured, let me tell you!
3. Do you notice dust at other peoples homes?
I am curious to see what other people say here.  I don’t even notice it in my own home.  I sincerely hope no one notices it!  Otherwise, I can no longer have company.

4. What’s the worst job you ever had?
I’d have to say my last job.  It turned me against work all together. lol  I was a Lemon Twist girl.  Not much responsibility went along with this job.  And it seemed like a lot of fun.  When I applied for it, I thought, “I’ll be on the beach all day, I’ll have a great tan, my thighs will be nice and tone from pushing that cart in the sand.  I’ll meet nice people.  Sounds like a party, sign me up.”  In actuality, it was equal parts sun damage from excessive exposure to UV rays, long hours with little pay, and a healthy dose of sexual harassment thrown in for good measure.  The final straw was when they had me attach a cow bell to my cart so that people who were sleeping or reading on the beach would hear me coming.  Walking down the beach in a bikini ringing a cowbell is just not good for your self-esteem. 
Upon quitting, I decided that the path of ambitious career woman was just not one I was interested in pursuing! 😉

5. What is your most sentimental possession?
When I was 11 years-old, my mom was diagnosed with cancer of the pancreas.  Over the course of the next year, she was in and out of the hospital and was very sick.  Her cancer was fatal and she died a year after her diagnosis.  During that year, she kept a notebook with her.  In that notebook, she wrote me a running letter.  She talked about her hopes for me and her hopes for recovery.  She talked about her feelings for my dad and for me.  The last entry into this notebook, she talked about being alone at the hospital at night and how she felt God’s presence in the room.  Her last sentence was “and at these times, I feel no fear.” 
This is my most sentimental possession.
Have a great weekend friends!

MckLinky Blog Hop

Click here to enter your link and view the entire list of entered links…

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 19, 2010 11:33 am

    I’m sure you made a lovely lemon twist girl!!

    Your last answer brought tears to my eyes. My aunt died of Pancreatic leaving 5 children under the age of 21. She never wrote letters. What a treasure it would have been to her children.

    • March 19, 2010 11:53 am

      It’s why I scrapbook now. I am obsessed with leaving my kids some memories that they might not have without a reminder from me.
      I’m sorry about your aunt. That had to be so hard for her and for her children. For me, I can’t imagine anything more frightening than dying before I get my boys up and grown.

  2. March 19, 2010 12:08 pm

    Your post was very touching at the end. My grandma passed away from a 13 year old battle with pancreatic cancer when I was 13 we were very close, it is such a horrible disease. I treasure everything she left us.

    • March 19, 2010 9:28 pm

      I’m not sure if it’s so for everyone with pancreatic cancer, but my mom really suffered. It was a cruel disease.
      It’s great when we’re left with something to remember the special people who were in our lives by. Sorry you lost your grandmother.

  3. Rene permalink
    March 19, 2010 7:28 pm

    I, like the others, was really touched with your answer to #5. What a wonderful treasure!! And I’m sure your children will feel the same way about the scrapbooks.

    • March 19, 2010 11:48 pm

      I hope so. When it really comes down to it, it’s hard to remember everything. I’m hoping that the scrapbooks will help all of us remember how special this time is.

  4. March 23, 2010 1:18 am

    I was all set to comment on the dust thing, but can’t now that I’ve read what you wrote about your mom. I think that is a very special treasure for you to have from her. Simply beautiful.

    • March 23, 2010 8:20 am

      You don’t realize how important a few words from someone who isn’t here anymore can actually mean. I don’t dust it either though! 🙂

Leave a Reply

