Skip to content

I love Photoshop Elements! Before and After

March 19, 2010

I was looking at the really cute saddle shoes at Julie from The Peanut Gallery’s blog.  And from there, stumbled onto some cool Before and Afters at Pixel Perfect.  I thought I’d join in.  So here we are…

I am so far from an expert on PSE, that I don’t even know where the real experts hang out.  Certainly not at my house.  But, I do love playing with it.  I’ve pretty much fiddled around until I’ve figured out a good 10% of the program.  A lot of what I do is just trial and error.  

I use it all the time.  For one thing, I only have a point and shoot digital camera.  Years ago, I had a great Nikon SLR.  Still have it actually, but it’s a film camera.  And I’m just over it.  I have a digital SLR on my wish list.  But, for now, I’ve got a $100 point and shoot and Photoshop Elements. 

I was snapping pictures of my son one afternoon for a project he wanted to do to make a little money off of his friends at school.  He is so his father’s child.  God love him.  None of the pictures turned out good.  In fact every single one of them was blah.  The color was just blah, his expressions were pretty blah,(sorry Adam) it was just one of those days.  Nothing. 

Fast forward to very cold weather.  I have nothing to do this morning. (That is actually a lie, I have lots to do, I’m just avoiding it) My kids are at school.  So, I started digging through old pictures on the computer.  Actually, deleting stuff.  My computer is really slow, and I”m thinking it can be blamed on the 400,000 photos stored on the thing.  

Anyway, I stumbled across those pictures.  Blah. 

This blah photo could easily be mistaken for a drivers licence photo, or perhaps the mug shot of a really amicable prisoner.

But, sometimes, boredom+blah=pretty cool. 

So, I started playing with it in Photoshop Elements.  I did a little cropping, switched it to black and white, added a sepia filter, made his eyes stand out a little better, smoothed out his skin.  And bam.  12 hours later, (kidding) ended up with this. 

Pretty cool, huh? And not blah at all!

I just wanted to share!  So, if you’re bored, go find some pictures that do nothing for you and fix ’em up.  Everyone needs a project.  

Mine needs to be laundry.  Now.  Good day! 

p.s.  This is the same kid that had his smelly feet written about a few days ago.  Who wants to donate to the therapy fund?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 19, 2010 3:40 pm

    Beautiful picture! I love the edit too. I haven’t played around with the Sepia filter, but I’ll have to give that a try! I left you a comment on my blog re: actions. It took all afternoon yesterday, but I finally got one installed and figured out what I’d been doing wrong, so I might be able to help if you let me know what version of PSE you’re using. I felt really dumb after I figured out the problem. The folder Program Files is not the same as Program Data, and I was looking in the wrong one and couldn’t figure out why I wasn’t seeing the correct folders for the installation! Anyway, let me know if I can help you figure it out. I’m pretty excited to see what I can do with actions!

  2. March 19, 2010 9:51 pm

    adorable!

    krista @ kristalucasphotography.wordpress.com

  3. March 20, 2010 2:44 pm

    What a fun edit! Thank you for joining in on the fun! Hope to see you next week!

    Monica

Leave a Reply

