Skip to content

Interview with an Eleven Year Old

March 20, 2010

  Mack and Sam.  I finally got around to interviewing the oldest.  He’s a sweet kid.  Genuinely kind.  He’s honest to a fault.  I’m really proud of him.  He is a great big brother.  I think he makes a great role model for the little guys.  He tries really hard when things are important to him.  Our family is kind of like a cartoon, I sometimes think.  And he’s the normal guy stuck in the middle of it.  He does really well in school, except his spelling kind of stinks and he hates science.  His teacher says that he could convince you to buy used toilet paper.  He can be pretty darn persuasive. 

This week, I sat down with my younger boys,

 

Can you tell me a little about yourself?
I’m Beta Club president.  I’m smart.  I surf and play baseball.  Second base.  Sometimes I pitch and I stink at batting.

  You do not.

 I stink at batting.

What’s the nicest thing about being in this family?

Daddy playing baseball with me.  Spending one on one time with y’all, taking me places.

What is the thing that stinks the most about being in this family?

I never have a snack for school. 

Why not?

My brothers eat them all.  

And you don’t?

 I’m golden.

Ahem.

Can you tell me a little about your dad?

He works too hard.  He has a strong stomach.

Why do you say that?

 He has to pick up dead turkeys and some of the stuff that comes out of those turkeys.  Cold chills.

What’s the best thing about him?

He can hit one out of the park without even trying.

What’s the one thing about him that you wish you could change?

He wouldn’t work at the farm all the time.  And he wouldn’t smell so much. 

I’m with you on both of those.

How about your brother Mack? Favorite thing? Anything you’d like to see him do more?

He’s funny.  How he acts around other people is funny.(makes twitchy/fidgety faces)

How about Sam? Very best thing?

He cleans my room if I let him play with my Bakugan(magnetic ball toys that make no sense to adults).  He’s always got a smile.  Except when he fights Mack.  He’s tough, but he can’t hold Mack when he’s angry.  Mack might look all nice, but he starts breathing hard and just goes off.  Like Aaargh!

What would you like to see Sam do more often?

A cart-wheel or a flip. 

Really?  That’s what you’d like to see him do more often?

Yeah.

(He’s read the interviews with his brothers, obviously) 

So, best thing about your mom?
(Pauses and stares.  So many great things, he doesn’t seem able to decide on just one.)

I like it when she rubs my feet. 

Have you got me mixed up with somebody else?  I don’t think I’ve ever rubbed your feet. 

 Yeah, but I’d like it if you did. 

I like her cooking.  And her cleaning.  (Ha!Ha!) I like it that you can swim good and I like your personality. 

Least favorite thing?

I don’t like it when you’re sarcastic.  I wish you’d clean my room a lot. (Not happening)

Okay, what are you good at? 

Baseball. 

What else? 

 Social studies.  Learning to write other languages.  I can write all my letters in Chinese.  I like learning about Greek Mythology.  Not about boring history like the crop busters, that went in and busted some crops.  I like learning about wars and stuff.

Tell me about your plans for the future.  Where do you see yourself in 10 years?

I want to go to college, get my degree from Harvard.  Then become an archaeologist and work in Egypt and Greece and become a spy and do secret agent stuff.  Like a spy/archaeologist. (Someone’s rented Indiana Jones on Netflix recently)

What’s the best thing you’ve ever done? 

Become Beta Club President. 

What are you most proud of?

I’m proud that I’m in Eagles(Gifted and Talented program at school) and have made Advanced and exemplary since I’ve been taking PACT/Pass tests.(standardized testing)

Tell me what your best qualities are. 

My personality.  My face. (insert eye roll here)  I can read a Harry Potter book in one day, one of the thick ones too, not like The Chamber of Secrets.

What else would you like me to ask?  Did we miss anything?

My job. 

Okay, tell me about it.

It stinks.

 Why?

Have you ever worked at  turkey farm? 

 Nope and don’t plan on it.

Well, I have and it stinks in two ways.  The way it smells and my employer(his dad) gives me horrible working conditions.  The food is awful.

Okay, before we have bash on my husband I’m going to wind it up. 

Thanks you for talking to me. 

 Sure, what’s for supper?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 20, 2010 7:27 pm

    I love these interviews…it’s always so interesting to see what kids have to say!

    • March 21, 2010 9:56 am

      I’m going to try to do it again next year. It’ll be fun to look back on years from now.

  2. March 23, 2010 5:08 am

    This is a great idea. Wish I’d thought of it when my kids were small. I do think I’ll borrow the idea for my grandies, though. I’ve been doing some special things for them so they’ll have good memories of their times with my good hubby-buddy and I and this is a really good idea to add to the collection. Thanks.

    ~ Yaya
    Yaya’s Changing World

    • March 23, 2010 8:10 am

      Yaya, I’d love to read your interviews. From what I hear, those grands are a good time. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

