Skip to content

Boys are Strange

March 23, 2010

Why?

Okay, I love boys, love men.  I’m a fan.  But, I think they are weird. 

I live in a house with four fellows, so I think I’m allowed to make that judgement.  I love ’em anyway.  But, they are St-range!

For instance, my husband helped chaperone a friend’s birthday party this weekend.  They played “paintball.”  If you aren’t familiar with this, they give everyone a gun(10 year olds, you understand) loaded with this little marbles full of paint.  Sounds like a water gun fight, right?  Not after you see the bruises.  Apparently they sting pretty good before they burst.  They had the best time, my husband included.  Even though, he crawled a great distance and hid under a board in a creek.  This was by choice.

  People pay to do this.  To crawl on their bellies, while being shot at by little children(and you know they aren’t cautious and have no consciences) only to hide in a muddy creek under a scrap of wood. 

They had a great day.(tilting my head like a dog hearing a high pitched sound) 

I hope I am never forced to do any of it.  I don’t know why you’d pay to do that.  I would pay to get left out of such an activity. 

Proof positive that guys are weird.

Another example of this weirdness is fighting, wrestling, rassling.  Whatever you wanna call it.  My boys spend time tossing each other around.  They get hurt, get mad, laugh their heads off, and do it again.  The first time they put me in a head lock, I’d be done.  But, my husband often jumps right in the middle of it.  Again, by choice.  And seems to enjoy it.  Weird.

No minors were harmed in photos for this blog!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 23, 2010 9:40 am

    I would not know how to act with boys, and that is why God gave me a girl. LOL

    • March 23, 2010 4:40 pm

      As weird as the boys are, I’m comfortable with their kind of weird. Between my husband’s brother’s children, there are five girls and five boys. I think the girls are darling, but after an afternoon in the middle of it, I know God knew which camp to stick me in too. lol

  2. March 23, 2010 11:09 am

    I know exactly what you mean. Boys ARE weird. I once played paintball, and came home with bruises all over my body. One guy even got hit in the head and started bleeding. I never played paintball again.

    • March 23, 2010 4:42 pm

      I’m not a fan of getting roughed up. Just don’t see it. They are planning to go back, and they were bruised all to pieces. Weird, I tell ya.

  3. March 23, 2010 11:10 am

    You are so right….but I have to admit, I once participated in paint ball. It was a team building event when I used to work . Crazy, right? It does hurt, make no mistake.

    I love these pictures! Oh, and I LOVE your floor.

    • March 23, 2010 4:44 pm

      Did you enjoy the paint balling? I guess if I had to I could do it, but I just can’t imagine volunteering for it.
      Thanks! I did heart pine on the floors, and I really like it, but they do ding up very easily. We were doing a country thing, so I don’t mind.

  4. March 23, 2010 4:18 pm

    I’m telling you what! I don’t understand any of this nonsense. I have all girls, but I have 3 brothers and the wrestling and the fighting that they consider fun! My brother had a black eye for my wedding, (which he was in) because of all the wrestling going on in the rented van on my husband’s bachelor night. I was furious. What is with that? You never see girls getting together for an evening of fun, only to end up wrestling each other in the back of a van. It’s their primal instincts that they never grow out of, no matter how old they are.

    • March 23, 2010 4:47 pm

      I know, right. When I do something with my girlfriends, I never think, “Game on,” and then tackle and pin them. Heck, if I did, I’d have no friends.

Leave a Reply

