Skip to content

New Camera! Yay me!

March 23, 2010

Sunday I went out to lunch with my husband.  Just the two of us.  And if that wasn’t enough to thrill a girl, he made my day.  Took me by the camera shop and bought me a new camera.  I’ve been itching for something other than my cheap point and shoot, so I was very excited.  I ended up with a Nikon D5000.  I debated about the D90, but couldn’t bring myself to spend the extra $$$.   

Right out of the gate, the kids aren’t very excited about being photographed, so I’m going to have to sedate them.  But, until I can make a Benadryl run, this is what I came up with. 

Adam, with a little burning around the edges

 

I really have got to get used to the shallow depth of field.  I loved how he was giggling, but I only got the dog in focus.  Ugh! Gotta practice with that.  Also, not sure what was up with the pink tint on Sam’s face.  I’d love to hear some thoughts.
I can’t wait to try again tomorrow.  I’m probably going to have to borrow someone else’s kids.  Mine are already sick of me.
4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 23, 2010 11:11 pm

    Well, I think these are pretty darn good! I especially like the one of Adam on the couch. They all have such wonderful eyes.

    With the focus…you should be able to choose your sharpest poit of focus. Look up points of focus in your manual to see.

    The pink tint…not sure about that one. Was it late afternoon sun? May have felt too warm to the camera if you had it set to daylight…not sure. My guess is that it has something to do with the white balance.

    • March 24, 2010 5:37 am

      I did have it set to daylight. Maybe that’s what was wrong.
      I’ve been focusing manually, and I’m not sure if this is making a difference, but I really need glasses. Slacker that I am, I’ve put it off. I’m wondering if that’s causing problems getting a sharp focus. I might need to play with the auto focus.
      I can’t wait to play with it some more.

  2. March 24, 2010 2:01 pm

    Oh my goodness. I freaking LOVE it : ) I am SO happy for you! You are already a rock star!

  3. April 1, 2010 7:26 am

    Welcome to the world of DSLR! You’ll love it here! ^_^ You’re doing fantastic already! The pink tint might be a color cast.

Leave a Reply

