Skip to content

Zit Popping Trauma

March 24, 2010

My seven-year old thinks things to death.  When he gets something on his mind, he CANNOT let it go.  It is enough to drive you mad, I tell ya. 

Somehow, one day, he started talking about zits and puss and wondering if you could die from them.  I told him that I didn’t think that anyone had been lost to acne yet.  But, he was unconvinced, he’d  heard something about staph infection somehow got the two all wrapped together in his mind and couldn’t let it go.    And this made for a worrisome(annoying) topic for several days.  So, I thought, I’ll do some googling, and show him what a zit is, this will help get him over the fear, you know?

So, he climbed up into the chair with me, and this is the video that we found. I can’t vouch for the language, because we turned the volume down, you never know, with kids around.

It had the opposite of a calming effect on him.  Tears started falling, ugly faced crying, general hysteria.  He’s a hard kid to reel in  when he gets wound up.  And having his older brother laughing at his irrational fear was just not making a bad situation any better.   The video isn’t for the faint of heart.  I almost cried too.

No one likes pimples, but my Mack takes it up a notch.  He’s deathly afraid of them. To him, this video was like watching a horror movie late at night, and then spending the night alone when there’s actually a serial killer loose in your neighborhood and your door won’t lock. It was that traumatic.
I’m not sure what it would be called, Pimple-phobia, Acnephobia, Zitaphobia?  Whatever it is, he’s got it.  Funny, because this is my fearless child.  He wants to be a bull rider/sky diver/race car driver.  The thing that strikes fear in his heart is the zit. Puberty should be a blast.

Wishing you clear skin,

11 Comments leave one →
  1. March 24, 2010 9:59 am

    OKAY! This has me cracking up!!!

    I’ll never think of a zit the same way again. Wouldn’t you know??? “The Fearless one is the over Thinker” maybe that will keep him safe…One can only hope.

    Lisa

    • March 24, 2010 3:57 pm

      I’m hoping the over thinking will counteract some of the impulsive behaviors. He worries to death about stuff one minute and is doing something that will break his neck the next. Weird combo! I hope he’ll level out one of these days!

  2. March 24, 2010 12:04 pm

    You write really well. You know that? Poor kid. I actually think peope have died from infection caused by zit popping. I could be wrong…but it seems I have heard it somewhere before.

    • March 24, 2010 3:59 pm

      I’ve scarred him for life. I think I’m going to keep that little piece of info to myself. I can’t go through another, “Death by Zit” conversation.

  3. March 24, 2010 12:16 pm

    Gotta love boys! 🙂

  4. March 24, 2010 4:10 pm

    That video just scared the crap out of me! I can never look at a zit the same way again. Eeek!

    • March 25, 2010 5:49 am

      It was gruesome! I threw up in my mouth just a little, when I watched it.

  5. March 24, 2010 6:57 pm

    How funny! But I remember that “Bill the Cat” died of acne. See this link for more info: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bill_the_Cat

    🙂

    Donna

Trackbacks

  1. The End of Preschool Celebrated with Hysterical Father « Lula Lola

Leave a Reply

