Skip to content

Before and After Georgetown

March 25, 2010

Pixel Perfect is hosting a Before/After Blog Hop. It offers people who enjoy editing their photographs a chance to show off what they’re doing. I’m hoping to learn a bunch.  I looked through some pictures from last summer and found this one.   I know, I’ve been on and on about getting a new camera.  But, I’m excited.  Hopefully, next week, I’ll have something better to work with.  This was from my not too great point and shoot. 

We took a shelling trip out of Georgetown, SC last year.  I love Georgetown, it’s a great port city in SC.  We took a boat to an island to look for conch(conk, drives me nuts when people pronounce the ch:) shells.  While we were wandering around, I took a couple of pictures of this tree that was uprooted and bleached.  I played with the photo in Photoshop Elements.  

Straight out of camera

The first edit

In the first edit, I boosted the contrast and saturation a little and did a little sharpening. 

Edit #2

In this edit, I think(should have made a note) that I used a layer and set the blending mode to screen. 

More editing

By this point, it gets a little hazy. 

The last bit of editing

For this last one, the one significant thing I did was create a black and white layer with a lot of contrast and blue.  Then erased some of the back ground.  So, it’s kind of a hodge podge.  

Which edit do you liked best?

28 Comments leave one →
  1. March 25, 2010 7:43 am

    Neat job with the before and after. I looked through you blog and you really have a get nack for eyes! I love how you make them sparkle so much. Very nice!!

  2. March 25, 2010 8:08 am

    I like edit #2. I like the blue water contrasting against the muted color of the driftwood. Way cool!

  3. March 25, 2010 8:27 am

    Wow, this is such a cool picture. It is so interesting and it make me want to go to the beach! I love the second edit the best. 🙂

  4. March 25, 2010 9:05 am

    The SOOC shot is good!

    I like the 1st and 2nd edits …I can’t make up my mind which one I like the most. Great job!

  5. March 25, 2010 9:33 am

    Gorgeous photo! I think my favorite is edit #2 or the one after that. Love it!

  6. March 25, 2010 10:14 am

    I like the first and the third one the best. Isn’t post-production editing AMAZING?! Great job 🙂

    • March 27, 2010 9:07 am

      I think I like playing with them after I take them as much as I do taking them! 🙂

  7. March 25, 2010 10:23 am

    I LOVE the second edit! Beautiful! Thank you for the step by step explanation.

    Monica

  8. March 25, 2010 10:39 am

    I love the last one the most!! But they are all amazing!

  9. March 25, 2010 11:13 am

    I LOVE IT! what a great job editing! gorgeous!

  10. March 25, 2010 11:55 am

    i think the first edit is my favorite. i love the cool blue water and sky against that broken tree. it’s just gorgeous! i would definitely frame it!! 🙂

  11. March 25, 2010 12:16 pm

    Love the angle, very cool!!!

  12. March 25, 2010 1:43 pm

    Awesome angle! I like the last edit the best and the first is really nice too! 🙂

  13. March 25, 2010 1:51 pm

    Love the edits! Very cool pictures.

  14. March 25, 2010 3:10 pm

    I love your edits! they look awesome!

  15. March 25, 2010 3:23 pm

    I love #4! Thanks so much for the kind comments on my blog! I love “meeting” fellow bloggers from SC!

  16. March 25, 2010 3:35 pm

    Wow you did a great job with sharpening!! Whenever I try to sharpen my photos it seems painfully obvious that it wasn’t “natural”! 🙂 But I never would have guessed that you didn’t just take the shot that way.

    Lovely photos!

    • March 27, 2010 9:08 am

      I sometimes think I sharpen too much with people pictures and it looks weird. There’s a fine line there. Not sure I always see if before I’ve crossed way over!

  17. March 25, 2010 7:20 pm

    Edit #2 is my favorite. Can I just say that I LOVE your processing on the photos in the post above this one. SO, SO, wonderful. I’ve bookmarked it to try to recreate that look.

    We live in SC as well. : )

  18. March 25, 2010 8:49 pm

    Oh wow! Great photo. The second, and last are my fave edits, but they’re all great! 🙂

  19. March 25, 2010 8:54 pm

    Great edits! I really like the first one- subtle, but I thought it really enhanced the photo. The last one was really cool too! I love playing around with PSE too, and I tend to forget what all I’ve done to a picture by the time I’m done.

    • March 27, 2010 9:13 am

      I never remember! I can get lost playing with them though! It’s really fun!

  20. March 26, 2010 12:20 pm

    I think I like the second edit the best. They’re all great though, what a beautiful photot!

  21. March 27, 2010 9:14 am

    The second edit is my favorite! It reminds me of how the day felt to me.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Before and After Georgetown « Lula Lola -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

