Skip to content

Planting Blueberries

March 25, 2010

My family can do away with some blueberries.  They’re pretty expensive at he grocery store, so my husband decided to plant some.  He hopes to fill our bellies with blueberries, as well as our freezer.  And while he’s at it, I guess it’s the farmer in him, he’s hoping to sell a few. 

Tilled and ready, complete with pup and baseball bat.

Many holes to dig.  Where are the boys when you need ’em? (Climbing on some rocks in the woods)

It’s a lot of work to feed three growing boys and an overweight wife.

Sure doesn’t look like much yet.

Some time later, there’s a field full of blueberry plants.

The disappointing part is, we’ve got to pick them before they ripen this year.  Somehow that makes them produce better in the future.  Or so my husband tells me.  So, this summer, we’re still going to be buying them!  But, in another year or so, it’s going to be great!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 25, 2010 10:39 pm

    Fun! My kids and I love blueberries…my husband? Not so much. I am in love with the look of your land. Wherever you live is beautiful.

    P.S. Overweight wife? Please.

  2. March 26, 2010 9:58 am

    We are in SC. I’ll have to post some pictures of the farm, it is kind of pretty.
    And I am a sow! Seriously!

Leave a Reply

