Skip to content

Redneck Trampoline

March 27, 2010

My little country bumpkins get a thrill out of the smallest parts of farm life. 

Shavings are cause to celebrate around here.  Not, the rare occasion that I shave my legs.  (For full details of my lack of grooming, see here)  Though, I do think my husband may celebrate a little. 

The shavings I’m talking about come in big truck loads.  They are what goes on the floor of our poultry barns.  We get a big load three times a year.  And for a couple of days, the kids have somewhere to jump.  A redneck trampoline.  They end up kind of scratched up and itchy and with irritated eyes.  But, to them, the trade-off is worth it.  You couldn’t pay me to have saw dust in my eyes, ears and crack, but to each his own. 

Here we are, free entertainment….

I agree, this was dangerous!  Thankfully, Mack’s pretty fast.  And a good scolding took place.  But, it’s a great capture, I thought!

All the good of the scolding, being undone by the dad.  What the heck?

The laundry full of shavings doesn’t seem too bad when I know they’ve had this much fun.

He’ll spend the rest of the day picking saw dust out of his teeth!

Among other places….

So there you are, that’s what passes for a weekend of fun in the sticks!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. March 27, 2010 9:08 pm

    Perfect fun. My cousins had a farm growing up and I swear my best days were at that farm doing things exactly like this. Beautiful Boys, there.

    • March 28, 2010 4:36 pm

      Thank you! I think they’re pretty cute. Growing up on a farm is actually a pretty good time. There’s always something to keep them busy.

  2. March 27, 2010 11:14 pm

    That actually looks like fun! My boys would absolutely love to jump on those shavings.

  3. March 28, 2010 12:32 am

    Your pictures are seriously so great. I am always so much more impressed with other’s pictures than my own. That looks like a total blast. Sticks or anywhere.

    • March 28, 2010 4:38 pm

      I feel the same way when I look at other people’s pictures. It drives me crazy! Thanks for the compliment though. Yours are great though! I loved that sweet black and white you did. So pretty!

  4. March 28, 2010 3:29 am

    Oh my gosh! They look like they had so much fun! When I was growing up we had a canal that ran behind our house and ever few years they would drain it and pull all the mud and gunk out of it. For a day or two until someone came to collect it, there would be these huge piles of the most vile mud you have ever smelt in your life – and we all used to play in it! So gross (and probably not safe – who knows what was in that stuff!) now that I think of it, but we had so much fun!

    • March 28, 2010 4:39 pm

      Adults would be better off if they wallowed in sludge too! It’s so funny how much we spend on toys when seriously, they have a better time with stuff like this!

  5. March 28, 2010 7:45 am

    That looks awesome! I’d totally be out there, too. What’s a little itchiness when you get to have all that fun?

    • March 28, 2010 4:41 pm

      They love it and they don’t complain much, so it’s a good time! 🙂

  6. March 29, 2010 6:22 pm

    Wow, that looks SO fun! Great pictures!!!!!

Leave a Reply

