Skip to content

Dramatic B&W; My Brother is Mean

March 29, 2010

This is my first time EVER entering a photography contest.  I heart faces is sponsoring this one and the theme for this contest was “Dramatic Black and White.”  And who better to bring the drama than my baby, Sam.  I’ve entitled this photo, “My brother is mean.”  They were playing with cardboard boxes(the world’s best toy in my opinion) and his brother wouldn’t let him have the one he wanted.  That’s his brother holding the box in the background.  He looks so heartbroken.  You may be asking yourself why I took a picture instead of scooping him up and comforting him.  I’m kind of wondering that too.  Makes me doubt my maternal instinct just a little.  

Oh well, I’m over it.  He was crying about a box. And I happened to be holding the camera.  I didn’t go get it because he was crying.  I’m not mean like that.  Most of the time. 

Anyway, after this one picture, I did scoop him up and he felt all better.

But, if you feel so inclined, you could use your Paypal to send donations to his therapy fund.  I’d be good with that.

Hope  if you’re shedding tears today, it over nothing more serious than cardboard!

26 Comments leave one →
  1. March 29, 2010 6:43 am

    Wow, I mean, wow! That certainly is dramatic!! What an awesome first entry!

  2. March 29, 2010 6:45 am

    Lovely image and very dramatic indeed. Your tones are great, love the slight vignetting, and also very cinematic feeling, which I love.

  3. March 29, 2010 6:49 am

    captivating photo

  4. Sarah permalink
    March 29, 2010 7:57 am

    I think it is great how his brother is blurred in the background. Really nice photo!

  5. March 29, 2010 8:19 am

    Very dramatic! Great shot.

  6. March 29, 2010 9:36 am

    awwwww. i love him. this is a GREAT picture!!

  7. March 29, 2010 9:37 am

    oh, what a fantastic photo! It reminds me of the ’30’s something like the Little Rascals (heehee) Poor little guy, I hope he got to play with his box!

  8. March 29, 2010 10:00 am

    Great shot, I love the tears. You’re not that mean, like you said, he was crying about a box. Ah, siblings.

  9. March 29, 2010 10:03 am

    What a fantastic capture! It broke my heart a little but I could sit and look at it forever…simply stunning!

  10. March 29, 2010 11:03 am

    LL-I am continuing to be impressed with your photographs. This is stunning. Did you do any additional blurring to the back ground, or was that just from the aperature being wide open?

    • March 29, 2010 11:56 am

      I didn’t do any blurring. I actually wish it were a little sharper. Big brother was laughing at him and that was making it worse! lol

      I am having so much fun with the new camera!

  11. March 29, 2010 11:16 am

    So sad! We know all about mean brothers so I can relate.

  12. March 29, 2010 11:28 am

    oh what a sweetie! and his tears! great picture to enter 🙂

  13. March 29, 2010 12:41 pm

    wow so touching!

  14. March 29, 2010 12:59 pm

    Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment. Welcome ! This becomes addicting very quickly. The picture is wonderful – the little guy is precious. I will gladly pitch in for therapy but I doubt he will need it. Keep up the good work.

  15. March 29, 2010 1:00 pm

    What a great entry! I love the contrast, the emotion, the tears, the processing!

  16. March 29, 2010 4:36 pm

    I’m with the other WOWer’s. This photo is so “dramatic”. GREAT choice! Poor guy…

  17. mooney=mc2 permalink
    March 29, 2010 6:39 pm

    haha you are funny. I would have taken the shot too. We must prioritize! Anyway, you got the shot..this is prefect for this week’s theme! So glad that you are playing along this week! Looking forward to many more entries from you!

    Mindy~

  18. March 29, 2010 8:23 pm

    Wow such a moving picture! A heartstring memory moment.

  19. March 29, 2010 9:44 pm

    Beautiful photo, beautifully lit, and I love the narrative that goes with it. Hope he gets over the box!

  20. March 30, 2010 4:15 am

    You certainly captured the drama in this one! Love it done up in black & white.

    Kristin

  21. March 30, 2010 2:56 pm

    Wow…what a capture!! Please tell me what black and white option did you use?? I love it.

    • March 30, 2010 4:31 pm

      Julie, I converted it to black and white then made an empty layer and used the paint bucket to fill it with a chocolate brown. Then set the blending mode to soft light. I don’t remember how opaque I made it, just played around. Then I burned the edges a little. That’s all. Pityful, isn’t it?

  22. March 30, 2010 7:48 pm

    I love this shot! What a perfect dramatic moment!!

  23. March 30, 2010 10:53 pm

    oh, that’s precious. super dramatic!!

    thanks for stopping by my blog too! 🙂

    krista

  24. March 31, 2010 8:19 am

    You know! sometimes you just have to seize the moment. That is what a good multitask-er
    /mother does:)

    AND It is a Box…next time you go to the store “buy” him two…maybe you can avoid the big therapy bills. LOL

    Motherhood! It is underpaid and underrated. 😉

    Love this picture…It is great. I hope you win!

Leave a Reply

