Skip to content

Strawberries on Black and White Wednesday

March 31, 2010

Hump Day! Yay!  That means we’re almost there.  And spring break is next week! Hooray!  Today is also Black and White Wednesday!  Check it out at The Long Road to China!

I bought these giant strawberries this week.  My Sam ate his weight in them. 

I sort of liked it in color.

So, I made a black and white layer, and lowered the opacity.  I wanted his eyes and the strawberry to really stand out, so I erased them completely from the black and white layer.  Not sure what I think.

In this one, I ran the opacity back up on the black and white layer.  This one is weird and alien looking to me.  But, thought I’d share.  Full disclosure here. 

This time, I desaturated the background layer a little.  I like it some better.  Still a little iffy.

And here we are with an unadulterated black and white.  No fooling around.

I’d be curious to hear whether or not you thought they were all train wrecks, or if you like one better than another. 

Happy Wednesday!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. March 31, 2010 7:21 am

    I was playing around with leaving some color in one of my b&w pictures today, too … and the verdict is still out for me! I think I like the second-to-last one here the best. Although the second from the top is great, too—has a nice vintage feel to it!

  2. March 31, 2010 8:24 am

    WOW! These are really good. VERY Creative!

    I love the one in color and the slight color. I liked the black and white one with the eyes and strawberry too until you pointed out the alien thing. Now I think ya, your right. The black and white one is dramatic too.

    Your son is adorable……Love the hat!

  3. March 31, 2010 8:56 am

    LOVE it in full color; LOVE it in unadulterated black & white; really like it a lot with the lowered opacity and the full color eyes/strawberry. Don’t much care for the other two versions. They aren’t bad, just not great. The first, last are definitely GREAT; the 2nd is good/great, IMO.

    Nice work playing around with it! I’ll have to figure out how to do that “lower opacity” thing…..

  4. March 31, 2010 9:06 am

    Nice work! It is so much fun to play around with the editing – I will spend hours just to see what I can come up with. I like the full BW, the one above it and then the one below the full color. There is almost too much color in his eyes in BW with full color left in eyes and berry.
    Of course this is just my opinion.
    No matter what conversion – I love the look in his eyes.

  5. March 31, 2010 1:20 pm

    What a cutie!! Love the freckles!!!

  6. March 31, 2010 1:29 pm

    I love all of them, but I think I really like the last one the best. Even though you can’t see the red in the strawberry, you can just tell he is really enjoying the sweetness of the fruit.

    Funny you posted about strawberries. We just went to Costco on Sunday and bought a container of ginormous strawberries. We really thought they would taste as sweet as candy. Unfortunately, they looked better than they tasted. A bit disappointing but will make a wonderful prop for a photo shoot!

    Happy Wednesday!

  7. March 31, 2010 2:14 pm

    I really liked the second photo, but I have to admit the third one freaked me out a little!

    I miss eating strawberries. My kid’s allergic, so I can’t eat them because they get on my hands and then I touch him and he breaks out in hives. *sigh* It’s not going to be summer without strawberries.

  8. March 31, 2010 2:41 pm

    I love the second to the last one. Awesome. I think I would make his eyes just a smidgen less sharp…for a tad bit more natural look. But other than that…it’s gorgeous. And that is just my amateur opinion! 😉

  9. March 31, 2010 5:51 pm

    With all that delicious redness going on, I’m glad you eased us into the black and white slowly. Sweet photos! Man, I want strawberries now!

    Donna

  10. March 31, 2010 9:58 pm

    That first shot is amazing! I love all the bright colors. But I also really like the second one too. This is such a great idea!! 😉 Very Creative.

  11. March 31, 2010 10:17 pm

    I like the 2nd one —isn’t it fun to have the ability to change and adjust — you did a great job!

Leave a Reply

