Skip to content

Before and After; Getting Dirty

April 1, 2010

 

It’s time for
“Before and After” with Pixel Perfect.  If you have an edit that’s really interesting, you should link up!

Here they are! Sam, again. He’s the only child that doesn’t run when I get out the camera. I truly believe that kids that don’t get dirty don’t have much fun.  This is my little pudding head showing that he knows how to have fun.  There’s some kind of red mud/dust stuff all over him.  I wish it would have shown up a little better.  But, I wasn’t sure how to make that happen.

So, here’s what we’ve got this week. A couple of edits done in Photoshop Elements.

Here he is, straight out of the camera.

Here’s my edit. I just adjusted the levels, tweaked his eyes a little, and tried to lighten the dark shadows under his eyes a little.

I ran one of the Coffeeshop Actions on this one, I think it was called “Perfect Portrait.”   I think I need to figure out how to adjust the actions a little.  I’m still really new at using them.   

What do you think? I’d love some suggestions!  I need all the help I can get!

19 Comments leave one →
  1. April 1, 2010 7:24 am

    Great edit! Really cute pic! ^_^ You did a great fix to the first one, and the second edit is beautiful! I love the perfect portrait action. It’s one of my faves and I use it often! 🙂

    I love shooting in RAW, and recommend it to everyone! Are you a Canon or a Nikon gal? If you’re a canon, the program “Digital Photo Professional” that came with your camera will help you do your RAW editing. (It’s what I use.) If you have Nikon, you would have to purchase software. Lightroom is great, I hope to purchase it one day! There may be a free program out there, I’m not really sure.

    • April 1, 2010 7:29 am

      I’m a Nikon girl! I need to look into Lightroom. Boy, this photography isn’t your cheap hobby, is it? Always something I want to buy! 🙂 I think I am making the switch though!

  2. April 1, 2010 7:39 am

    Nice! Looks like you’re getting really comfortable with your new camera. Great editing!

    • April 1, 2010 9:19 am

      I’m still deleting more than I’m keeping! But, I’m really enjoying it!

  3. April 1, 2010 7:42 am

    This photo is so cute! I’m not sure which edit I like better because I really like them both!
    I would pick the second one. 🙂

  4. April 1, 2010 8:58 am

    Wow in the first edit, you did make the dirt show up more! Actually, if you want to highlight the dirt even more, just use the lasso tool to loop around the dirty areas, like his hands, and then punch up the saturation on just that area. Or, you can remove some of the cyan from that area, that will boost the red tones and make the red dirt pop.

  5. April 1, 2010 9:57 am

    Great photo and edits! My favorite is the second edit, because it really pops, and the exposure looks spot on with the extra punch of brightness. Lovely catchlights.

  6. lauraahoughton permalink
    April 1, 2010 11:27 am

    Great edit! I love the increased lighting and the vignette.
    So cute 🙂

  7. April 1, 2010 1:42 pm

    Love the pop of color and adorable little man. Beautiful!!

  8. April 1, 2010 3:34 pm

    i love the color in your edits, but i think i prefer it uncropped – i like things pulled back sometimes. but it’s also great cropped! nice job!

  9. April 1, 2010 5:27 pm

    Beautiful colors! I love the vignette!

  10. April 1, 2010 5:50 pm

    I love the second edit. You do such a great job all on your own!! I’m loving your pictures.

  11. April 1, 2010 7:57 pm

    Love the 2nd edit! Excellent how you made the colors pop and come to life! He’s adorable, too!

  12. April 1, 2010 9:08 pm

    So cute! I love your crop, and the awesome bright colors!

  13. April 1, 2010 9:24 pm

    I love the edit you did on your own, but the one with the action is great too. I’m still learning how to use those actions myself- I can run them, but I don’t know how to tweak any settings yet. I like how you can really see the dirt around his mouth in that first edit!

  14. April 1, 2010 11:11 pm

    Great job! I love the 2nd edit! Sam is too cute.

  15. April 2, 2010 9:45 am

    Love the second edit- mainly because you can better see his freckles! Very cute 🙂

  16. April 2, 2010 12:36 pm

    LOVE it! He is adorable! Im glad you left the pudding around his mouth too!

Leave a Reply

