Skip to content

Crooked toes, Scars and Other Things No One Will Care About But Me

April 5, 2010

When I first had my boys,  I’d hold their tiny feet in my hand and notice my weird curled under, fourth toe on Mack’s little foot or Wayne’s long raccoon toes on Adam’s. (They appreciate me calling them raccoon toes, really.)

I’d look at Adam and wonder if he was always going to be as hairy as a monkey. (Mercifully, he’s not hairy at all now)

I loved looking at Mack’s little fair hair and his “mean faces.”  It cracked me up when he’d roll his eyes, even before he could walk.   I wanted to bite him, he was so funny.  He looked like a very old, very haggard little man, who had put up with way too much in his long eleven months here on the planet. 

I’d admire Sam’s little fat thighs and wonder why, when mine were just as fat, fatter even, that they weren’t considered cute. 

Sam’s five now, and I know every freckle.  I’ve memorized the weird little wrinkle/crease on the end of his nose, that looks like no one else in the family.  I love the way his little eyes light up when he’s trying to be really sweet and knows he’s going to get credit for it!

I took this picture of him on the porch the other day, and was happy that it showed the little scar on his hand.  I’m sorry he’s got a scar on his hand.  But, it’s a memory.  He caught it on a nail playing at his best friend’s house.

It makes this picture more personal to me than his eyes or freckles.  Because I remember the day that he got the scar. It’s a day that he won’t remember.  But, because it’s in this picture, I won’t forget it.   Is that weird?  Do any of you do that?  Which details are the ones you want to remember?

Since I got my new camera, I’m hardly ever without it.  I’m hoping to capture more of the details that I’m so scared I’ll forget.  Time just passes too fast!  And while I’m trying to remember to pay a bill or buy the right snacks, I’m scared I’m forgetting the important stuff.  The important stuff that’s only important to me.  The stuff that makes up my life.    

I’d love to see pictures or read about the details that aren’t important to anyone but you.  Share please!  I’d hate to think I’m the only one!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. April 5, 2010 6:01 pm

    What a gorgeous picture! It’s amazing how each one of our children is such and “individual” inspite of coming from us!! Beautiful post!

    • April 6, 2010 7:16 am

      They are individuals upon arrival. I love all their little quirks!

  2. April 5, 2010 8:07 pm

    I think that’s a very touching post, LulaLola. Kate has a scar on her forehead, and any time I brush away her hair or she’s getting her hair washed and her forehead is exposed, you can see it. I hate that she has something on her face, and she got it at age 2 while playing with a rough-housing little boy.

    Right after Maddie was born and they took her away to do all the newborn tests and assessment, the nurse brought her back saying that she was exactly perfect but had a small beautymark on the back of her thigh. It is one that is a lighter color than her skin, and I have one in almost the same spot on my body.

    They are 4 and 1, so I’m sure there are still many more things that will surface over the years.

    • April 6, 2010 7:18 am

      Even with little scars, don’t you love that you know exactly where they are. I can put my hand on 11 year old Adam’s head and feel a little bump. They used that suction during his delivery, and he’s still go a little warped head. I can remember exactly how it felt when he was tiny.

      And you can’t help but love that you share your “beauty mark.” Sweet!

  3. April 5, 2010 8:42 pm

    Time really does go by too quickly and I’m astonished at how little I actually remember from a few years ago. Thank goodness for pictures 🙂

  4. April 5, 2010 11:54 pm

    See? You are a GREAT writer. I love this. I love the picture, the scar, what you said…the whole nine yards!

  5. April 6, 2010 12:12 am

    I love this post! I get so sad when I look at my boys and see how much they’ve grown. I love what you said about not wanting to forget what’s really important! It’s so true! I worry about that all the time.

    • April 6, 2010 7:21 am

      Thanks! Sometimes, I think I get mixed up about what really is the important stuff. I’ve got to make an effort to be more mindful!

  6. April 6, 2010 12:28 pm

    Very cute post. It is hard to remember the important things, even if they are only important to us! I too love taking pictures of my boys so I will remember the little things.

Leave a Reply

