Skip to content

A Redneck Easter

April 6, 2010

Well, we’re six months into our move to the country.  So far so good.  I have to say, I like it a lot.   

Our grooming has sort of fallen off, but we live so far out-of-town that no one really knows, so it’s all good.   

“Redneck” seems to be a reoccurring theme on my blog here lately.  I’m going to have to take a little time and analyze that.  Not sure where I come down on it. I’ll get back with you.   

In the past, we’ve spent our Easters at the beach.  It’s a good time.  And I think next year, we’re going to return to that plan.  As for this Easter weekend, we taught the kids how to dye and hunt eggs redneck style.   

We set up a table outside.  Mixed up our PAAS dye in the cups that came with the $1.88 kit.  This isn’t Martha Stewart, but this isn’t the redneck part either.   

PAAS Easter Egg Dye, some white vinegar and four dozen chickens not allowed to hatch. The beginnings of a Redneck Easter.

It was hot, so everyone took their shirts off.   Except Wayne, he said his “wife beater” tank was plenty cool enough.  😉  

Little Redneck Boy coloring his egg with crayons

Notice Mack’s mouth.  You have to hold it just right.  

Shoes didn’t make the cut when they were getting dressed, so there were none to kick off.    

In keeping with our theme, no hair was brushed.

No one was having a good hair day.   I’ve got some pictures.  And they ain’t pretty.  I’ll omit the ones of me.  I still haven’t lost the baby weight. (He’s only 5) And as appealing as the idea of an almost 40-year-old woman, still sporting “baby weight” from her five-year-old , dying Easter eggs shirtless and shoeless is, I’m going to leave it to your imagination.   

I jest. 

Scroll on down, they’re coming!

Nothing says "true love" like a love proclaiming Easter Egg made by a 38-year-old man.

I think this is how Bud and Sissy would have raised their children. (Urban Cowboy reference thrown in free of charge)  

So, my husband and I hid eggs.  All week, he didn’t cut the grass so we’d have more places to hide the eggs.  He actually wanted to add to the “Redneck Easter” theme we had going.   He’s a genius in the arena of redneck themed holidays.  I’m a lucky girl.   He rocked it! 

See this sneaky joker......

This is Jake.  He looks shifty, doesn’t he?  

Here he is with his very own golden egg.

Turns out, he’s a better egg hunter than any of the kids.  According to our calculations, using the very precise redneck calculator(fingers and bare toes) we think he ate no less than 18 eggs.  Finally, the little one just started following him around.  

I’d already cleaned up, or I’d feature a couple of empty PBRs and some Pall Malls.  ;P 

Hope y’all had a great Easter.  If you didn’t go the redneck route this year, I hope I’ve convinced you to give it a whirl.  Mother’s Day is right around the corner.  The possibilities are endless!  

10 Comments leave one →
  1. April 6, 2010 5:37 pm

    I’m confused, I thought you said the pictures were coming. Was that just a ploy to get us to read about the dog?

  2. April 6, 2010 7:44 pm

    LOL! I think you guys still have a way to go to be truly “redneck”. I think your Easter was more “real life” than anything! 🙂 Oh, and btw, we went to the beach at Camp Lejeune, NC 🙂

    • April 7, 2010 9:58 pm

      We usually do Easters at Surfside(SC) beach. I really missed it this year! I’m feeling like we’re rocking the redneck pretty hard here lately! lol

  3. April 6, 2010 9:21 pm

    Once we moved from Chicago to Memphis, TN, our “traditional” Thanksgiving dinner became deep fried turkey. YUMMY! There are some high points to Red Neck life.

    I’m disappointed Jake didn’t find the egg hidden in your drawer.

    • April 7, 2010 10:00 pm

      My brother in law and his brother in law always deep fry turkeys for the holidays. I don’t eat meat, only seafood(and perhaps a bite of bacon), so I haven’t tried it. But, everyone raves over them.

      If Jake had opened the drawer, it would have been a better story! 🙂 There’s always next year!

  4. April 7, 2010 1:40 am

    So funny that the dog found the eggs! Did he eat them with the shell and everything? As for pictures of yourself…I thought you said they were coming? I can’t say much, though…I hardly ever put pictures of myself on my blog.

    • April 7, 2010 10:02 pm

      He did indeed eat the eggs, shell and all. How crazy is that? I am such a sow that I hate being in pictures. I’m trying to do Mom n Me Mondays just so that there are actually pictures of me. Because I usually totally dodge the camera. Classic “out of sight, out of mind!”

  5. April 7, 2010 10:56 am

    haha, I love your pictures and story! I grew up in suburban redneck (yup, it exsists in Alabama) and I love to claim it, at least to make people laugh! Glad I found your blog 🙂

    • April 7, 2010 10:03 pm

      Welcome, fellow redneck, welcome! I have to say, it does get me tickled when I think about it!

Leave a Reply

