Skip to content

Today

April 6, 2010
tags: , , , ,

Today, I filled so many water balloons that my fingers hurt.  It took forever. 

Today, I blew 939,993,321 bubbles.

Today, my five-year old, Sam, told me that he was “Hot.  But, not the “sexy kind, the sweaty kind.”  Sexy is not a word I’m crazy about hearing from my five-year old.

Today, I found an easter egg in my silverware drawer.  I’m glad it was in a drawer that I open daily.  Could have gotten ugly had it been in a drawer with the good silver.  Maybe I should go check those drawers right now.

Today, I am “hot, but not the sexy kind, the sweaty kind.”

Today, I’m wishing spring break would s—l—–o——w down!

Today, I ate Ruffles Cheddar and Sour Cream potato chips and 6 Oreos.  I called it brunch.

Today, our crazy lab threatened to break all of our tomato plants, because he had to sit with me as I filled up water balloons.  Having a wet lab on your lap while you fill water balloons really adds something to the experience.

Today I got a lecture from my five-year old.  He thinks my saying, “yes” to TV wrestling was a bad choice.  “Because it’s about hurting each other and bleeding and sometimes saying bad words.”   He’s right, but I was too tired to make a moral stand against Monday night Raw.

Today, I realized that as a stay at home mom, I don’t wear shoes often enough.  I wore them all day yesterday and my heals are blistered.  I’m thinking most people have feet that are accustomed to shoes.  Secretly, I’m glad mine aren’t. 

Today, I pretended not to notice my 11-year-old eating cream cheese icing with no cupcake. I was in a “pick your battles” kind of mood. And I’d eaten Ruffles Cheddar and Sour Cream potato chips and 6 Oreos for brunch. Who’s looking to me for insight about proper nutrition?

Today, I listened to four people call my seven-year old. They all wanted toilet paper and somehow he was the go-to. It made me feel like I should make a run to the grocery store so that we weren’t all sharing a roll. I didn’t go though.    “Mack…..”

Today is almost over.  And I will probably post this tomorrow.  Isn’t that weird?

What are you doing today?

14 Comments leave one →
  1. April 6, 2010 8:26 am

    Wow, it sounds like Today was a big day for you! ^_^ Your cheddar and sour cream chips with 6 oreos brunch made me feel so much better about my chef boyardee and frito breakfast this morning! lol

  2. April 6, 2010 9:30 am

    Here’s my Easter Egg tip. I make a tiny little list while hiding and recheck all the places after the hunt is over. I made this list because of the year we didn’t find that one Easter egg…until 3 ungodly weeks later.

    Today, I am running around like a chicken with my head cut off, feeling guilty about what I won’t get accomplished.

    • April 6, 2010 3:44 pm

      Next year, if I can actually find a paper and a pen at the same time, I’m going with the list!
      Don’t feel guilty, I hardly accomplish anything, ever.

  3. April 6, 2010 11:11 am

    Is this your spring break? Ours was last week. My son was crying last night. When I asked him why, he said he missed spring break, and his cousins!

    Too funny about the egg in the drawer. When we first moved out to the 12 acres we had a huge easter egg hunt outside. We were literally finding eggs all summer long. But they were plastic with candy in them. So the kids were always happy to score another egg!

    • April 6, 2010 9:43 pm

      We are having spring break this week! I feel like crying because it just goes way too fast!
      Next year, we’re going with plastic eggs. The real ones were just too attractive to our dog!

  4. April 6, 2010 1:52 pm

    fellow kershaw girl here!! i stumbled upon your blog via blog frog. (random, i know) i’m enjoying your humor 🙂

  5. April 6, 2010 2:27 pm

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! I hope that you enjoy the pizza crust! I tried to make it a healthier version of the original recipe that I found. Two things I wanted to let you know are, if you don’t want to use splenda, sugar will work fine. Also, make sure that your yeast is fresh because I have had some bad experiences with expired yeast and the crust turned out terrible! Let me know if you have any questions.

    • April 6, 2010 3:46 pm

      I made some bread that didn’t rise properly and I suspected the yeast. A friend who bakes a lot told me to always store my yeast in the freezer. Thanks!

  6. April 6, 2010 2:40 pm

    Sounds like a great day! After 9 months working from home, I had to buy a pair of clogs, a pair of rain boots and a pair of sandals because everything else hurts my feet.

  7. April 6, 2010 7:12 pm

    glad i found you. i really enjoyed your photos. i tried to look out for the rednecks but i was distracted by the cute kids and the adorable dog.

  8. April 6, 2010 9:19 pm

    Salty foods ALWAYS need to be followed with a sweet treat. It’s a requirement. 🙂

Leave a Reply

