Skip to content

5Q Friday! Spring Break!

April 9, 2010

It’s once again time for Five Question Friday with the exceedingly cute Mama M. Link up and answer these five pressing questions. You know you wanna!

1. Who would you want to play you in a movie of your life?
I’m thinking Kellie Martin probably looks most like me. Or at least did before years of hard living and child rearing took its toll on me!  But, if not for the fact that we look nothing alike, I’d go with Kate Hudson.  I adored her in Almost Famous.  Best movie ever as far as I’m concerned.  I totally should have grown up back then!

2. Did you ever go to summer camp?
Yep! I went to several. One in particular was not quite finished the summer I went. The pool wasn’t finished and we weren’t allowed to swim in the pond. It was so bleeping hot! And the gnats were about to carry us away. No air in the rooms. It was a long week. I remember being so excited about going home(and I am never somebody that wants to cut a trip short, haven’t had a single “homebody” episode, ever) that I took the sheets off the bed and packed them up the night before and slept on the mattress!

3. What sends you running and screaming in the other direction?
Laundry! Big piles of it make me grab my car keys and head for the door. Avoidance, it’s my coping mechanism.

4. What is something you do that drives your spouse nuts?
Avoidance of laundry! 

5. What is currently your favorite song?
Kodachrome, by Paul Simon. Not a new song, but about as current as I get. lol  You see, it’s spring and my best friend is living on the other side of the country and I need a river day. I probably should explain that one.
For years, we took Wednesdays off and did something together. As soon as it was warm enough, we’d take off for the river/which is really a lake/ and spend the day. We’d float around on the wave runner or boat or kayak and partake of cold beverages and talk about everything under the entire sun. One day, we had a whole performance of Kodachrome and it was the best laugh ever! The warm weather makes me miss her more than I already do! And it makes me want a Kodachrome day!

Now, go link up! I can’t wait to hear about summer camp!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. April 9, 2010 2:52 pm

    What a wonderful memory. I think I would like a river day too!
    I had to laugh at your laundry answers. I think you and I are very similar in that area. I don’t know what it is with me and laundry, but we DO NOT get along!

    • April 10, 2010 7:33 am

      I’d much prefer the river day to the laundry day! Let me tell ya!

  2. April 9, 2010 3:53 pm

    Laundry…LOL!!! That is just too funny, I totally didn’t expect that answer 🙂

    Have a good weekend!

  3. April 9, 2010 7:13 pm

    I woulda been the same dang way at summer camp! Air conditioning or not!

    Sounds like you have some awesome memories and times with your best friend…are they the best?!! Nuthin’ better than an awesome girlfriend!

    • April 10, 2010 7:34 am

      She’s the best! My life is much more “vanilla” without her here!

  4. April 9, 2010 9:15 pm

    Oh I LOVE Almost Famous!! I agree, it is one of the best movies ever. 😀
    Laundry send me running too…you’d be disgusted to see the piles I let grow and grow, and not dirty clothes, but clean clothes that I just don’t want to fold and put away!!

    Love the “hole” story! ^_^ It makes me feel better about myself…lol. I almost ruined my uncles wedding, when I got my fingers stuck in the pew! (In the holes that hole the communion cups.) It took 5 people and about 5 lubricating products before they just took that piece off the pew. Once it was at a different angle I was able to wiggle free. It hurt sooo bad and I was so swollen! LoL Sorry for the long comment back!

    • April 10, 2010 7:35 am

      Did you get your finger stuck before or after the wedding? How awful! I hope someone was taking pictures. It’s the back story that people always remember from special days. 🙂

  5. April 12, 2010 7:16 am

    hehe
    I really love the laundry answer – that could so be me *gg*

    Thanks for your nice comments 🙂

Leave a Reply

