Skip to content

Loving the Layer Mask!

April 9, 2010

I’ve used Photoshop Elements for quite some time. I’ve played with layers and blending modes as well as textures. But, I was missing out!
Julie, from The Peanut Gallery…Exit Here, is so talented. And she knows just tons about photography and editing. She wrote a great tutorial and I was so excited. She recommended a Layer Mask action that can be downloaded from the Coffeeshop. This is a really super website with lots of cool actions that she offers free of charge. You’ll be amazed. I’m so impressed with these ladies. They are very talented and are very generous! Go check out their blogs.

Here’s what I did with my new-found action/tutorial! What do you think? I know it’s not the greatest. But, it’s a start! And I’m quite excited! I’m hoping to torment my older boys into letting me take their pictures today! Cross your fingers for me. If I don’t add some of them to the family albums, they are going to think little Sam was my favorite. He actually likes having his picture made. God love him!

Here’s the pictures as it looked straight out of the camera.

And here’s my first attempt with the layer mask. I’m hoping I’ll improve with time.  If you’ve got any suggestions, please, send them my way!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. April 9, 2010 12:58 pm

    Can you share the actual steps you took with it? I think it looks great. I want to practice that, but beyond getting the action, I wouldn’t have the first clue as to what to do next.

    • April 9, 2010 2:13 pm

      Not sure if this is the best way to use it, but I edited my picture as far as the color and what not, then opened a picture of a rock that I took out in the yard. I placed it on the layer above the photo and clicked on the layer mask action. I set the blending mode to soft light. Then the little white box beside the texture layer, I clicked on it. Chose a black, soft edged paint brush and set the the brush opacity to about 70. Then, I kind of painted over his face and places I didn’t want the texture.
      Then, I dialed back the opacity on that layer to about 30%.
      I love being able to “erase” this way. I can’t wait to play a little more!

  2. April 9, 2010 1:53 pm

    I love it!! Layer masks make life complete! I was going to do a little layer mask tutorial today but have been sicker than a dog. I’m like death warmed over right now!!

    Anway, it is simply beautiful. Sam gives you the BEST looks!

    • April 9, 2010 2:16 pm

      Sorry you’re feeling bad! Is it the pollen? I wish I could send you a little cyber chicken soup!
      I can’t wait for your tutorial, I’ll be on the look-out!
      Sam, is the only one that will give me a look at all! lol

  3. April 9, 2010 3:18 pm

    LOVE it! ^_^

    Layer masks ROCKS! Couldn’t live without ’em! 😛

Leave a Reply

