Skip to content

I’m back……

April 22, 2010

We’ve had some strange days around here lately.  My computer went down.  Well, not the whole thing, but for some reason, the DSL wasn’t making a connection.  Almost two weeks without a computer has been sort of tough.  And I’m weird.  Because I’m weird, I couldn’t have the phone company people come out to my house to fix it.  Because my house was a mess.  Is anyone else weird like that?  Or is it just me?  My friend has led me to believe it’s just me.  

I had a full-blown, lying in the bathroom floor with a wet wash cloth on my head, stomach virus.  This didn’t help the state of my house one little bit.  The virus had me in its grips and wasn’t at all willing to let me go.  But, I fought the good fight and came out on the other side of it. 

I finally got around to calling today, and they talked me through it on the phone.  In less than five minutes.  I am a moron.   

My little one had a birthday, five years old.  Wow!  I’m getting so old.  The baby is five!  We did the preschool party(cupcakes with his class, no biggie) and the family party(again, no biggie).  We’ve still got to have the friend party, but baseball games and schedules are sort of interfering with the planning.  For the family and for guests.  

Baseball has started for all three boys.  Three separate teams.  My husband is coaching one of them and is assistant coaching the other two.  It’s going to be a busy season!  In fact, I’m on my way to a ball field shortly.  Hope I remember, which child, which uniform(my youngest two wear the same size), which field, and what time.   Last year, I let my middle son practice with a team that he wasn’t on.  I’m from a small town, and knew lots of people at the ball field, so started chatting away.  I didn’t realize my son had spent an hour on the field with the wrong team until I saw his coach showing up for practice.  Not only was I an hour early, but I didn’t notice that these weren’t the people that my kid plays with.  Have I mentioned that I struggle with adult ADD?  I’m sure that was crystal clear, but I like to point out the obvious, you know?

While I was in the throes of my stomach virus, lying on my sick-bed, my husband and my first-born came to the door of the bedroom, both keeping a safe distance.  They were coming to deliver bad news.  News that would not go over well with me, had I been the picture of health.  I could tell they were trying to pass the buck, neither wanted to be the bearer of this unfortunate development.  Finally, my husband spoke up.  They saw a mouse.  They tried to get it out with a broom before I even had to know about it, but couldn’t.  

 I cried.  Really, I did.  And I am not a crier.  But, the first one almost did me in.  And in my fragile state, I just couldn’t imagine that I had to face the prospect of going through that trauma again.  My husband and my first-born,(who I broke my tail bone giving birth to, by the way) laughed at me.  In my time of need.   Hmph!  Let them call me next time the virus gets them and they sleep with their heads in a cabinet.
You’ve got to be tough to live in the country.  I’m sorry to say, I’m not tough.  We have four mouse traps hidden in the kitchen.  I forgot about one of them and set it off sweeping.  I’ve never come closer to heart failure.   The mouse is still on the lamb.  Hopefully we’ll catch him soon, dead or alive.  

I opened the pantry last night and thought I heard something.  Whether I did or not, is up for debate.  Either way, I had the feeling that I heard something.  My eleven year old, always the wheeler/dealer, offered to catch it for me, if I’d let him play hooky from school.  I quickly agreed.  I’m all about the occasional mental health day, so this was an easy call for me.  So, he equiped himself with a rubber band and one of those Gladware disposable containers with the blue lids.  I watched from a chair, sitting on my feet of course.  He cautiously took things out of the pantry.  Then would stand back with his rubber band/sling shot.  Once again, pointing out the obvious, it’s still a fugitive from justice. 

Sorry to be so doggone random tonight.  But, this is what it’s like when I’ve been cut off from the computer for this many days, I have lots to share, none of it important and I want to do it all at once!  Hope you’ve all been doing great!  I’ve missed blogging so much, but more than that, I’ve missed reading blogs.  And the print on my phone is just so small that I can’t seem to read it.  My eyes are going quickly.  My arms aren’t growing in an attempt to accommodate my need for distance from what I’m reading.  It may be time for glasses.  I guess 40 is right around the corner, I should expect this kind of stuff.  

I’m looking forward to catch up on all of my favorite blogs!  

Glad to be back,

  

12 Comments leave one →
  1. April 22, 2010 6:55 pm

    Well, I know it probably seems like you went through a hellish experience with the stomach bug and the mouse, etc…But I for one am glad that’s all it was. Julie even started a thread in my Blog Frog community about your MIA-ness. You’ve been missed. Happy to have you back!

    • April 25, 2010 8:10 am

      That cracks me up! I’m glad to know someone noticed I was missing!

  2. April 22, 2010 9:18 pm

    Um, I think you need a vacation from your blogging vacation! Big HUGS sweetie!

    • April 25, 2010 8:11 am

      Living in the real world the whole time was exhausting! Hugs right back at ya!

  3. April 22, 2010 10:11 pm

    Glad you are back, LulaLola! I could almost feel your pain through this post. And you sound pretty tired, too. Poor thing.

    I’m kind of impressed with the wheeling and dealing of your son! Playing the “skipping school” card so quick!

    • April 25, 2010 8:13 am

      If he could have pulled it off, I’d have been more than happy to let him play hooky! Though, once he’d armed himself with a rubberband and a plastic lidded container, I had my doubts that I’d be paying up any time soon. MacGyver, he isn’t!

  4. April 23, 2010 9:51 am

    I’m so glad you’re back! I missed reading your blog, too! Sorry you had such a rough time with the virus and everything. And a mouse would kill me, too. Hope he’s caught (and by someone else, so you don’t have to do it!).

    • April 25, 2010 8:14 am

      Sadly, he still hasn’t been apprehended. I saw him yesterday. I stayed in the chair sitting on my feet until my husband got home. Such a wimp!

  5. April 23, 2010 7:04 pm

    Ah, here I was checking your blog all the time when you were MIA…then I go and miss your first post yesterday!! Sounds like you’ve had all kinds of excitement in your life as of late. And…as far as the horrible stomach virus…did you pass that to us through the computer??? We had it too! Just horrible. Really! So glad you are feeling better.

    Sorry about the mouse! Ah the joys of living in the country. Since we now have three cats we rarely see them alive anymore. Just dead at our front door. Little peace offerings from the cats so that we won’t get rid of them…since I threaten that all the time!

    My husband accuses me of having adult ADD all the time. I just call it a multi-tasking gone bad…with a lot of randomness on the side!

    • April 25, 2010 8:48 am

      I’m thinking about a cat, but my lab is a cat chasing son of a gun. I’m scared he’d eat a kitten. And I’m not sure I could handle a litter box! Though, when you have a mouse, which is the lesser of the two evils?

      I figured out I was ADD after getting lots of phone calls from friends and relatives after an Oprah or Dr. Phil show a few years ago. Everyone who saw it diagnosed me. I talked with my doctor and after spending the afternoon with him, he saw I was having a “failure to thrive.” e were building, moving into a rental, the kids were 20 minutes from all of their sports practices and games as well as their school. I was coming unraveled. At other times, I’d held it together with glue sticks and tape, but by this point, I was a mess. lol
      He fixed me right up, but I have done my share of back-sliding and am currently just floundering again! 🙂

  6. April 24, 2010 1:35 pm

    Wow! My first time visiting this blog and this was the first post I read. Intense! But, so glad it had a happy ending and sorry you had to endure that.

    When I was 9, my mom once told me to go clean my room and when I opened my closet to put toys away, there was a boy standing in my closet!! Turns out, it was a mentally challenged boy who lived down the street, wandered inside and hid in my closet when he heard us come home!

    • April 25, 2010 8:49 am

      Of all days to stumble upon my blog! Sorry you had to catch the whole missing kid thing!
      You must have been scared to death. Did his parents know he was missing? Scary for all involved!

Leave a Reply

