Skip to content

My very own “Kissing Hand”

April 25, 2010

Friday, I had the complete devil scared out of me.  I wrote about it here

All weekend long, I’ve had some serious anxiety issues.  I honestly feel like I’ve got some post traumatic stress stuff going on.  I’m jumpy and nervous and don’t want my kids out of my sight.  As I was telling Sam good night tonight, I told him how glad I was to have him here with me.  And I told him how scared I’d been and how thankful I was for his sweet, sweet face. 

He said, “Give me your hand, Mamma.”  I did, and he opened it up and kissed my palm.  And then put it on my cheek and said, “Sam loves you, Sam loves you, Sam loves you.” 

I’m tearing up writing this. 

Have you ever read the book, The Kissing Hand by Audrey Penn?  It’s about a little raccoon who’s scared to start school.  His mom gives him a “Kissing Hand,” to remind him how much she loves him.  She kisses his palm and tells him when he feels scared that all he has to do is put it on his cheek and “that very kiss will jump to your face and fill you with warm and toasty thoughts.”   

When he puts his hand to his face, he hears, “Mommy Loves me, Mommy loves me, Mommy loves me.” 

 It’s been a while since we’ve read that book, but it was just what I needed tonight.  

My very own “Kissing Hand.”

14 Comments leave one →
  1. April 25, 2010 9:51 pm

    Sam’s a sweet, sweet kid, LL. You should be proud. 🙂

    I hope my girls marry boys like that someday.

    • April 28, 2010 5:56 am

      You know, he really is. He’s very caring and I think he’ll make a husband just like his dad someday. That’s a good thing.

  2. April 25, 2010 10:00 pm

    Well you have me tearing up here too! When I read stuff like this, I always hope that my kids will be so loving and compassionate. Nice work, Mama.

  3. April 26, 2010 12:05 am

    You just got me tearing up too! What an incredibly sweet boy you have!!

    And now I want a boy again! 🙂

  4. April 26, 2010 1:13 am

    Boys really can be so sweet…especially to their mamas. I love that book…it’s a book that makes you feel warm all over and gets you teary eyed. Such a sweet post!

  5. April 26, 2010 3:43 pm

    Oh that is so unbelievably sweet! You have me in tears now, too!

  6. April 26, 2010 7:20 pm

    My girls are teens and I still cannot even think about that book without tearing up. I could never get through it without sobbing my heart out. Oh, your sweet, sweet boy.

    • April 28, 2010 6:03 am

      He’s a good one! I really liked the book before, but now, it’ll be a favorite!

  7. April 27, 2010 12:31 am

    S-girl and I just read that book at bedtime tonight!
    Sam seems like such a sweet sensitive little boy.
    Hope that you will find that peaceful, easy feeling soon!

    • April 28, 2010 6:05 am

      Thanks! I’m starting to feel a little better. It’s taken me longer than I could have imagined. That sickening feeling kind of sticks with you, when your kids are involved!

Leave a Reply

