Skip to content

Swallowed By The Baseball Field

May 2, 2010
tags:

Let me say, first and foremost, I love my boys.  I love that they play baseball.  I love watching them play.  I think it’s great.  Really, truly, I do.  For the most part, it’s a good thing. 

Adam's about to score here! And those are the times I'm really glad we're playing so much ball!

The thing is, I have three boys.  They are on three different teams.  It’s my first season dealing with that.  And I am run ragged.  We have maybe, if we’re lucky Sundays and Wednesdays off.  Otherwise, every night of the week and part of Saturday, we are at a baseball game.  And sometimes, Wednesdays end up being practice days. We are passing ourselves coming and going.  

Mack's trying to get "in the zone" he's going to be batting in a minute!

And I miss dinner!   Every night, we eat dinner around the table and it’s our catching up time.  And I look forward to it.  It’s a time to connect as a family.  The whole bunch, not paired off for one on one stuff.  Or parent time/kid time.  It’s the five of us.  And since we’re doing all this running, we’re not getting that time in and I miss it.  A lot. 

I don’t like rushing and we’re doing a lot of that lately.  I know it’s only for a few months, but it’s taking its toll and it’s still early in the season.  Wow! Three playing is a lot of work.  I guess I knew it would be.  But, this is my first taste and I’m just not sure!  

Here's Sam on Third. He's about to get a chance to score. But, he's trying to convince his dad, who's coaching third base, to let him go to the bathroom. Right then. T-ball is a hoot!

Summer will be here soon, and we’ll have all the time in the world.  But, for now, it’s quite the rat race!  

Are any of you doing this? Do you feel like a hamster on a wheel?   Please share if you’ve found a way to make things easier. 

I guess I wouldn’t have it any other way, but I’d love for it to be a little easier! 

Oh well, Buy me some peanuts and Cracker Jacks, 

11 Comments leave one →
  1. May 2, 2010 11:55 am

    I agree about family together for dinner. I think it’s hugely important! At least you know it won’t always be this way. Having them in sports, with you there to watch, and dad there to coach is equally important.

    Love the picture in the dug out.

    • May 3, 2010 7:55 pm

      It is important and I’m glad they’re getting to have this experience!

  2. May 2, 2010 12:19 pm

    I can’t fathom with 2, so the thought of managing all that with 3 makes my head explode.

    • May 3, 2010 7:56 pm

      My head has long since exploded! I’m trying to recover the pieces!

  3. May 3, 2010 9:50 am

    Fantastic photos. Love it!

  4. May 3, 2010 3:17 pm

    These are amazing photographs! I love the vivid colors 🙂

    I remember my parents running around like lunatics — I’m one of three kids, and my brother and sister both played soccer and baseball… it just never seemed to end!

    • May 3, 2010 7:57 pm

      Thanks! We never stop moving! I’m an only child, and had no idea people lived like this! It’s wild! In a good way!

  5. May 3, 2010 4:31 pm

    I remember those days growing up! I am one of three girls, and we were all on different softball teams. My dad loved it, but my mom was the one driving us all around town….lol. I think she liked it too, but it was a little hectic to say the least:)

    That’s funny about your engagment- I’d love to hear more about it!

    • May 3, 2010 7:59 pm

      It really is pretty hectic. I love it once we get there. It’s the getting everybody there that’s the hard part!

Trackbacks

  1. A Charmed Life « Lula Lola

Leave a Reply

