Skip to content

Lemon Twist Girl, Stay at Home Mom, Soap Maker?

May 4, 2010

I’ve had a small handful of jobs.  All summer jobs.  I dipped ice cream at a campground snack bar one summer.  Another year, I lifeguarded at a water slide.  Another year, I worked in one of those questionable excercise places.  The ones that you strap lazy people onto tables and the table exercises for them.  That was an experience, let me tell you.  One summer, I waited tables and I really stunk. (I wasn’t good with the hurrying)   And finally, my last job, as a Lemon Twist Girl. 

If you aren’t familiar with Lemon Twist girls, let me explain.   You put on a bathing suit and then push a cart full of frozen lemonade up  and down the beach and sell it.  The beach service that manages the lifeguards and chair rentals, also employee bikini clad girls to push their beverage carts.    Being the ambitious, high achiever that I am, this seemed like the perfect job for me.  I could have a great tan and tone my behind at the same time.  There was no money to be made, but it seemed like a great idea.

 Before long, my best friend and I started praying for rain.  We watched the Weather Channel religiously.  And any chance of precipitation brought hope of a day off.

 And after a few weeks, having 14-year-old boys, golfers misbehaving without their wives, and father’s of six looking at my boobs while they paid $1.50 for a lemonade, started to lose its appeal.   Over the course of just a few days, my hopes of gainful employment started to fizzle.  

I don’t care how good you look, even at your very best, you’ll be able to find something wrong with yourself.  I would pull my permanent teeth, molars and all if I could have the body I had back then, but at the time, I was still self conscious.  Not tremendously, because I was willing to work in a bathing suit, but I was still not that comfortable in my own skin.  And someone from the beach service had the bright idea of hanging cowbells from our carts to get people’s attention as we pushed by.  Well, nothing does a number on your self-esteem like ringing a cowbell while wearing a bikini.  It’s pretty horrific! 

Add to that, having my very thick southern accent poked fun at by people visiting South Carolina!  We are in the south here, people.  This is how we talk.  For heavens sake! 

Round it all out with having teenage boys following me up the beach with a video camera on my butt for an afternoon.    And it was the perfect storm.  I was done.  Over.  Not happening anymore.  

My friend was on her way out, or had even quit already, I cannot recall. 

It was finished. 

Working was obviously not for me.  

In the back of my mind, I still thought I wanted to teach school.  But, it was not to be.  I didn’t finish my degree.  Left before I started my student teaching.  I had to come home and marry my honey.  It was the smartest thing I’ve ever done.   And I’m not someone who has ever been known as a good decision maker!

I have no desire to teach anyone other than my boys.   And I  love the life I have.   I was at home the first couple of years of our marriage.  Wayne would finish at the farm and we’d spend our days at the river or doing something fun.  It was great.  Then, babies started coming and I loved being at home with them.  I’d found something I was good at.  And I’ve been so lucky to have found it.  At times, I’m crossing my eyes, but for the most part, it’s where I’ve gotten my sense of fulfillment.  

Now, next year, my youngest will be starting kindergarten.  And I’ll be all alone.  *Tear*  My oldest will start middle school the same day.  I can almost feel the anxiety attack approaching!

I want to continue to be a stay at home mom.  But, I’m going to have lots of free hours.  And I can’t imagine what I’ll do with them.

If you can’t tell by now, I’m not ambitious at all.  I’m not career oriented at all.  I understand that some people get a real sense of accomplishment from their careers.  My husband does. 

I just don’t crave it.  My bank account wishes I did.  But, alas, I don’t.

But, I am kind of crafty.  I’ve always liked having my hand in things that I can make.  And I’ve gotten into making bath products recently.  So, much that I thought, maybe this is something that I’d like to do.  So, I’m going for it!  I think.  

I am thinking about opening an Etsy shop.  And I’ve got a load of stuff made that I’m going to take to a local salon.  I’ve got high hopes.  Not so much of making tons of money, though that would be nice.  But, of having that sense of accomplishment that up until now has come strictly from being a mom.  

As the kids outgrow me, I want to have something else to sink my teeth into.  I’ve seen women who’ve always been stay at home moms not know what to do with themselves once the nest was empty.  I realize kindergarten is far from empty nesting.  But, I want something for just me.  

Cross your fingers for me! I’d really like to make a go of this! 

If you have any experience with Etsy, or selling stuff, or making soap, please share!  I’m so interested in learning! 

Have a great Tuesday!

  

8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 4, 2010 1:02 pm

    Good luck in figuring it out. Opening up my writer’s notebook again that I had ignored when my girls were babies, was my saving grace. Writing a novel has been one of the biggest joys and triumphs of my life. (We’ll see where that takes me.)

    An Etsy shop sounds like a great plan. Some of my loveliest things I have found on Etsy.

    I had a revelation the other day. I was trying some clothes on and I looked at all my jiggly parts in disgust. And then I had this flashback of being 20 something and looking in the mirror and hating parts of myself. And then it came to me, I have never been happy with me, yet when I look back in time, I realize that in every stage, I was glorious. I’m trying to do a better job of reveling in myself. We’ll see where that takes me.

    Good luck!

  2. May 4, 2010 3:40 pm

    I think it’s an absolutely wonderful idea! If you open an etsy shop, I will talk about it on my blog, and you can post about it in all the communities. Also, I promise to buy some stuff to show my support!

  3. May 4, 2010 7:42 pm

    We have a lot in common! I have a degree in Psychology, but have never had a career. I was pregnant with my firstborn months after I graduated college. I’ve always wanted to be “just a mommy” and I love staying home!

    My youngest will be starting Kindergarten in the Fall as well. Hubby wants me to join the work force. Doing what? I have no idea! I’d rather just volunteer at my kids’ school!

  4. May 5, 2010 12:16 am

    I would totally support you if you opened an Etsy shop! What a great idea. I am, unfortunately, in a position where I have to work. I read your blog and I think, “Hey, that’s me!” Not about the soap, but about not being very career oriented. My kids are my life…and my job is something I have to do.

  5. May 5, 2010 2:33 pm

    What a great idea. I’m proud of you for getting out there and trying. I’ve had all kinds of “ideas” over the years and never done anything about it!! Proud of you girl. And…I love you all the more..knowing you have a thick Southern accent!

  6. May 5, 2010 7:34 pm

    That would be so great! I say GO FOR IT, LL! What would you name your shop/products? There is much scheming to be done.

  7. May 6, 2010 1:34 pm

    I adore Etsy. I had a shop there for a while, but I’m too busy writing to do anything with it. In fact, I’m about to host a giveaway of some stuff I made because I can’t be bothered to sell it!

    I will totally visit your shop once it’s open. =)

  8. Dale permalink
    August 16, 2010 4:29 pm

    Are they still selling Lemon Twist on the beach in Myrtle Beach? Best frozen drink I have ever had….

Leave a comment