Skip to content

The Craziest Taco Bell Visit Ever

May 7, 2010

So, today, I got up and got moving early.  I had some errands to run while Sam was at preschool and I needed to get a move on.  So, I didn’t grab a bite to eat before setting out.  After completing my errands, I was kind of getting hungry.  Decided to hit he Taco Bell drive-thru. (Don’t judge!)

Anyway….

I’m opening them up at the Taco Bell.  They open at 10:00 and I was the annoying customer that got there at 9:57.  And they were having none of it, let me tell you.  Drive thru, not open for business yet.  So, I drove on through. 

And what I saw left me scratching my head.

There was a man and woman, they looked no more interesting than me or my husband. 

Except, they were more interesting upon closer inspection.

She was BIG pregnant.  And sitting on the curb, grabbing her belly and crying and rocking herself.  Odd.  Their car was stopped at the front of the drive-thru.  And the husband/man with her was outside the car and seemed to be speaking with a lot of animation.  I could not look away. 

I decided to offer to help.  I don’t know what kind of help I would have been.  I suppose I was planning  to build a fire and boil some water.

I am not really your girl in emergency situations, but I’m all they had.  So, I rolled up beside the weird scene, after circling the parking lot while I decided whether it was a good idea to stop or not. 

I rolled down my window and said, “Do y’all need some help? Can I call somebody for you?” 

The husband, who seemed to be arguing and gesturing wildly as I approached, gave me the wave.  The “move along, nothing to see here,” wave, as he sweated profusely. 

The woman, just shook he head, as she continued to clutch her belly and rock.  Tears streaming down her face coming from underneath her sunglasses. 

So, if they wanted me to run along, I figured, I’d make another pass and try and get that Meximelt.  That’s what I’d come for, after all.

And really, I’m not who you ‘d want if you decided to give birth in the Taco Bell drive-thru at 10 am anyway. 

As I rolled up to the drive thru, I asked the lady working the window if they’d checked on this pair having the baby out front.  And she said, “We’ve called, and that’s all I’m going to say about that.” 

How is that all you’re going to say? It was the weirdest damn thing I’d seen.  And I wanted someone to discuss it with me.  So, I said, “Guess they could name it ‘Fajita’. ”  Giggle.

Taco Bell Drive-thru lady, nothing. 

So, I said, “You know, good name if it’s born in the drive-thru of Taco Bell.” 

Still nothing. 

Clearly not the person to appreciate this absurd situation with me. 

As I’m waiting on my two Meximelts with beans and no meat.  Lights flashing and sirens blaring, into the parking lot comes an ambulance and two police cars.  

Two seconds earlier, the man had driven his car up about six feet.  And somehow gotten the pregnant lady inside.  I think this was his intention the whole time.

So, they start to drive off.  They are hemmed in by the police and they have the husband outside the car.  Again, gesturing wildly.  He’s surrounded.  Then, of course, I found a parking place to eat my Meximelts.  And I’m just so blasted curious that I can’t leave.   

Then, they all are at her window.  And she’s not getting out of the car. They all are pointing and gesturing.  But, it doesn’t seem that she’s going anywhere. 

But, I find the Taco Bell lady who undoubtedly deals with this stuff daily, because she’s not even interested enough to discuss it, has forgotten my drink and my sauce. 

I didn’t catch it either.  

“Oh, what to do?” I thought.  I really wanted to see this.  But, I was thirsty, and a Meximelt is no good without sauce.  So, my hunger beat my nosiness.  And I rolled back through the drive-thru window. 

And when I came back, they were all leaving. 

I have no clue what happened. 

Thank you or listening.

I am a dork.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. May 7, 2010 11:17 am

    Yes…a hilarious dork! I would’ve done the same in that situation. I am so dang curious, I wouldn’t be able to leave.

  2. May 7, 2010 2:24 pm

    This story is awesome! I want to know what happened. I can’t believe the Taco Bell lady didn’t even chuckle. Seriously, I would have been right there with you. So funny!

  3. May 7, 2010 2:24 pm

    OH my gosh! I can’t believe we’ll never know what happened. I am so nosey. I wouldn’t have even noticed if I didn’t get my drink or sauce. So at least that gives you a little hope that someone is a bigger dork than you.

    And seriously the Taco Bell girl snubs gossip? Give me a break.

  4. May 7, 2010 4:23 pm

    Now I am DYING to know what happened! Geez!

    At first I thought it was what happened to me one time. I was 7 months pregnant and I HAD to have a Kentucky Fried Chicken barbequed chicken sandwich. Had. To. Have. It. I pulled up into the drive thru and start to order and this dude rudely interrupts me on the intercom and tells me they don’t open until 11:00. It was 10:30. I started to cry profusely.

    I figured that lady needed a Crunch Wrap Supreme something bad.

  5. May 7, 2010 4:47 pm

    So, did you at least get your soda and sauce? What a cliff hanger. BUT you are a wonderful writer, even if I almost fell off my chair with the ‘left to your imaginaiton’ ending’, you’re a great writer. And how educational it is to know and learn from you. I even know what at TOOL is now! If we don’t get to chat over the weekend, have a wonderful Mother’s Day!

  6. May 7, 2010 5:01 pm

    oh that sucks! I totally want to know what happened!!!!! Oh, I have totally made jokes that no ones laughs at. I was volunteering with flood relief and made some pun I thought was kinda funny … it was meet with crickets. Guess it wasn’t the time to joke? Thought I’d lighten the mood, lol. Ah man, the gossip side of me wants to know what happened. I totally sit and watch anything interesting. Drives my husband crazy! lol!

  7. May 7, 2010 7:51 pm

    LL – I’d be honored to roll through Taco Bell drive-thrus with you any time!! You always put a smile on my face! I wish I knew you IRL, because I’d want to hang out with you all the time.

  8. May 7, 2010 8:54 pm

    LOL! Oh my goodness, I think I would have done the exact same in your situation. Except I don’t like sauce on my meximelts 😛 Everything else was spot on!

    And I am dying of curiosity! Did you watch the news to see if they’d be on?

  9. May 7, 2010 8:54 pm

    oh, btw, this is Jess from Keep It Together. I have a wordpress blog for my photography now. I didn’t want to confuse you! Thanks for your sweet comments on my blog today!

  10. May 8, 2010 10:18 am

    That is seriously the craziest thing!! I’m morbidly curious now! I think I may have waited to see how it played out before going back for the drink, but I’m just cool like that!

  11. May 11, 2010 7:39 pm

    Children we do not stare, stop staring children. but then i would so be the person in the seat next to you. i probably would have been dying of thirst

Leave a Reply

