Skip to content

Doing the Happy Dance! School’s Almost Out!

May 18, 2010

I love that my kids have a safe school and wonderful teachers.  I love that they’re learning boatloads.  I love that they are well taken care of when they are there.  But, most of all, I love that it’s almost over! 

I am the biggest kid in the house, when it comes to the excitement that the end of school generates!

Mack had field day today!  It was a fun day! They took a quick lunch, but otherwise, it was wide open.  Adam helped.  Sam and I tagged along.  It was a good time!

Here’s how the last full week of school looks!

Looks like the girls are going to take this one!  

Mack won first place in the frisbee contest!  He had an advantage.  He knew how to hold his mouth just right.

  He almost hit the target.

  Several other children almost hit me. 

 The whole thing was touch and go for a while there!

The Mack wheel bearer, being pushed by the little girl in green, could have been a contender.

But, the little wheel bearer with the mohawk was a little wobbly and caused quite the collision. 

Fortunately, we made it through yet another year of Leap Frog without any decapitations. 

The water balloons were particularly wet.  Having spent way too many hours of my life filling up water balloons, I was both thankful and relieved that I had no part in these.  I wonder what poor soul got stuck with that job?

I really need to encourage shoes.  Why do they have none on? They are the ONLY ones who’ve kicked theirs off.

Side note, those are spiders on Mack’s socks. Not real ones, however.  Again, I ask, why?

Dirty knees were easy to come by. Loved her mismatched socks!  This is genius really.  I never have two that match anyway.   Think I could rock it?

The man in the picture had the ribbons. He was attacked by the angry mob of first graders and was later hospitalized.  He’s in stable condition and as of now, has developed a very real phobia concerning seven-year olds and competitive events. Keep him in your thoughts! 

The little girl making the face in the back must have been trying to discourage mob rule.  Not sure what type injuries she sustained.

Kidding!

This was more of a “Hip Hip Hooray, field day!” 

As for me, I’m cheering for the end of school.  I love this time of year!

Well, off to bed, round 2 tomorrow!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 18, 2010 11:03 pm

    Brings back memories and feelings of nostalgia.

  2. May 19, 2010 1:55 am

    Ah, field day. Mason’s is on Thursday. I won’t be able to go. : ( Looks like your kiddos had a fun time! Hooray for the end of school!

  3. May 19, 2010 8:21 am

    You could totally rock it! I never had a field day but I know many schools who do now. It looks like so much fun!

  4. May 19, 2010 9:25 am

    I LOVE your pictures!! I feel like such an amateur with my camera still. I’m with you though. I love the end of school and I love summer vacation! That has been the hardest thing for me with year-round school. My kids aren’t done until July 3rd. And they go back August 15th. It’s so short.

  5. May 19, 2010 12:07 pm

    That looks like fun. Boy, your schools get out early. I don’t think the schools get out here until June 9th or something. My daughter only goes to public school 2 hours a day and she does some of the extra stuff. She’s autistic so she takes the classes for “special” kids. Anyway, I homeschool the rest of the time. But I know that the “field day” is on June 8th and then they have a field trip the last day of school. Our homeschool will be out long before then. I don’t know if I’m looking forward to summer vaca. My kids hang out with the neighbors too much, get out of routine, and act all nutso. Then I have to get them back into shape come September. But I do like the care-free days of summer, for sure. Love the pics!

  6. May 19, 2010 12:15 pm

    You could totally rock the miss-matched socks. Go for it!

  7. May 19, 2010 4:39 pm

    I, too, am one of the rare moms who love it when summer begins. I mourn every year when they leave me again, another year gone by.

    You, my dear,if I haven’t said it enough, are an amazing photographer. Looks like great fun.

  8. May 19, 2010 5:15 pm

    I’m doin’ that dance with ya! May 28th for us and for HS all course work has to be in by tomorrow at midnigt so next week is devoted to finals. Field day for us is this Friday, but I think we’re going to skip it this year and do the ice-cream party at the most amazing park that Colorado has.

    It’s SO good to hear that you have such wonderful teachers in your school. Wish every student in every school could have those above and beyond outstanding teachers.

Leave a Reply

