Skip to content

Slow Down!

May 26, 2010

Arizona Mamma over at Our Daze in the Desert hosts this meme.  It’s a lot of fun and gives us a chance to share what it is that makes us moms.  You should check it out! It’s always a lot of fun!

This week my oldest “graduated” from fifth grade.  He finished elementary school.  I am in shock at how fast it’s all passed.

You know you’re a mom when you are a week overdue and feel like crying because time is creeping by and you cannot wait another second to hold your baby.

You know you’re a mom when you blink and they are heading off to preschool.  You wonder why time that once creeped is all of a sudden flying.  “Slow down,” you think.

You know you’re a mom when you dress your little boy for his first day of kindergarten and have a good cry on the way home.

You know you’re a mom when, before you know it, he’s home for summer and again your house feels complete.

 Again, you think, “Slow down.”

 Years pass, clothes and shoes are outgrown.   Games and toys are outgrown as well.  He’s outgrown his once standard, Batman cape and his superhero action figures. And, in the back of your mind, you wonder how much longer before he outgrows you too.  You really wish things would slow down.

You know you’re a mom when looking for old pictures for your baby’s fifth grade graduation slide show makes you and your husband weepy. 

That baby, who was so slow in getting here is growing up way faster than you think is fair.   And you want to scream “SLOW DOWN!!!” 

Actually,  you know you’re a mom when you want to yell “Don’t just slow down, STOP!  Stay.  Be my baby.  Just a little while longer.  Please.  What’s your hurry?”

You know you’re a mom when you want to wrestle with the stubborn hands of the clock and those cruel pages of the calendar.

Yours truly, mother of a rising middle schooler,

12 Comments leave one →
  1. May 26, 2010 11:16 am

    My editing was totally just not here today! Sorry for the drab pictures! 😦

  2. May 26, 2010 11:48 am

    Hey…we can’t expect you to be an editing “machine”! You’re a mom..and are totally allowed to add un-edited pictures. Look at mine this week..ha!

    He is such a handsome boy!! I just can’t believe how time flies. It’s crazy. It feels like just yesterday I was sending my 9 year old to pre-school.

    I absolutely love what you wrote.

  3. May 26, 2010 1:26 pm

    You have reminded me to slow down and appreciate the days.

    Thank you!

  4. May 26, 2010 2:01 pm

    Those pics are not drab in the least. What a handsome boy.

    I used to tell my girls all the time, “You need to stay 4. I don’t want you getting any bigger.” They never listened. It goes so fast. No one understands until they’re in it.

    But, summer is here. Now if we can just slow down the minutes!

  5. May 26, 2010 2:42 pm

    Thanks for a good cry! If only we could slow down the time so our precious babies didn’t have to grow up! Seem like just yesterday my oldest was in kindergarten and now we’re looking at college applications! Now I really wish I could STOP the time!

    Thanks again for the reminder and a great post!

    RL

  6. JDaniel4's Mom permalink
    May 26, 2010 2:53 pm

    Stopping from Mom Loop! I loved your post. I would love to slow my son down too.

  7. May 26, 2010 4:28 pm

    Aww…congrats on becoming the mom of a MSer. I agree, LL, it does go by too quickly. Yesterday I was nursing my oldest and next year he’ll be off to college. My heart aches when I think of next year at this time, it aches in a good way and a selfish way. I’ll have to get over to AM’s blog and check out this meme for next week.

  8. May 26, 2010 4:46 pm

    Such a sweet post! It’s truly bittersweet as they grow up! I’m with you on telling time to SLOW DOWN!

  9. May 26, 2010 11:31 pm

    Truly a sweet post! I k now exactly how you feel…I just want it to stop! With kids, time goes by too fast.

    I also wanted to tell you how much I appreciate your comments on my blog. You are the best commenter!

  10. May 27, 2010 8:11 am

    Aawww, I love that progression! He’s so adorable!

  11. May 27, 2010 9:14 am

    What a great post. It is funny because I have days right now where I feel that way about my baby boys. I know they are going to grow up so fast. Some days I would love to say STOP and just keep them that way for a little while. 🙂

  12. May 27, 2010 4:15 pm

    LL- Such a touching and well written post. I feel it too…the slow down. I seriously wonder if it’s why some families have so many kids….they just want new babies around.

Leave a Reply

