Skip to content

Silly Bandz aka $6 bags of Rubber Bands that the Insane Parent Can Be Coerced Into Buying

June 8, 2010

Have Silly bands/bandz hit your house?  They have mine.  Though, my kids aren’t exactly obsessed with them.  They still like them an awful lot.  I’ve been talked into buying a pack or two.  And the kids have spent some of their own money on them.  On rubber bands that are shaped like various things.  Canoes, baseball bats, David’s slingshot(of David and Goliath fame) .  You name it, they have a silly band for it.  And I have to admit, it’s making the money. 

Not for me, mind you.  I’m the goober who is spending $6 for 24 of the things. 

Oh well. 

That’s investing in the future.  About like those beanie babies of years gone by, but without the false hope of one day becoming valuable. 

Cross your fingers, maybe the next pack will have glow in the dark ones!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. June 8, 2010 9:01 am

    Oh boy. Kids like the weirdest things.

  2. June 8, 2010 9:05 am

    I haven’t seen these yet. It is always so funny to see what gets so popular with the kids. These actually remind me of the bracelets that were popular when I was a kid. We would string them together into necklaces, etc.

  3. June 8, 2010 10:23 am

    I’ve seen these on other blogs, but I haven’t seen them on kids around here yet. Thank goodness because I would be paying for them, too! ; )

  4. June 8, 2010 4:28 pm

    never heard of such a thing! the glow in the dark sound pretty cool, though.

  5. June 8, 2010 4:45 pm

    Oh yeah, they’ve hit our house! I had not even heard of the darn things, but my mom (who is a preschool teacher) brought over two packs and my kids were hooked! They love the rock and roll ones the best! Except we are currently missing the piano one and Jaina is all upset!

  6. June 8, 2010 11:23 pm

    What??? I haven’t seen these…hopefully they don’t make there way to the Northwest!! Or maybe they have and I’m just “behind the times”!!

  7. June 10, 2010 7:47 am

    I just heard about these things last week—guess I’ve been in a cave this past year! But luckily, both kids don’t want any, so I guess we’re off the hook. Six dollars??!!

  8. June 11, 2010 12:50 pm

    I swore to my kids I would never buy Silly Bandz (what a waste of money!), but I have to admit that I’ve found myself lingering in the store and thinking about how happy the kids would be if I broke down and bought some. Clearly, you’re a nicer mom than I!

  9. June 12, 2010 5:40 am

    I’ve never seen these but they remind me of all the little “fads” that we bought into when we were kids! 🙂

  10. June 12, 2010 9:23 am

    my little sister gave some to my daughter … they remind me of a nicer version of slap bracelets, lol! oh and we totally waited in lines for the newest beanie baby, and now I can buy them at garage sales, haha.

Trackbacks

  1. Saturday Sevens: Memory week…

Leave a Reply

