Skip to content

A Rusty Bike

June 13, 2010

Something about a stretch of coast line and a rusty bicycle just go together. 

As I was growing up, we had lots of family and friends at the beach.  All within a few blocks of each other.  The roads were mostly dirty and the houses were proper beach houses.  On stilts, painted fun colors, with big screened porches full of rocking chairs with beach towels hanging over them. 

My dad loved to talk, to visit, to shoot the breeze, to laugh.  Nothing was better to my dad than a good laugh.  He’d hop on his bike and go visiting. 

I have fond memories of seeing him ride up on his old bike.  And so, after he died, I hung on to it.  Not sure why.  It was in pretty bad shape.  But, it was one of the hand full of material things that I felt sentimental about.  So, when we started planning our landscape at the beach, we decided to park his old bike right in the hydrangeas(and a few weeds I need to take care of).  To me, it looks like he left it there and things just grew up around it.  And I don’t entirely mean the landscape.

The beach developed into something he’d hardly recognize, in the course of just a few short years.  He lived here for years and I’m glad the changes didn’t really occur until after his passing.  He lived in the past and the changes would have really bothered him. 

I’ve grown up.  Though I had Adam before he passed away, I’m now the mother of three boys.  And I know he’d adore them. 

He’d love Adam for his kindness and sense of humor.  Adam was the light of his life.  I never imagined the effect this child could have had on him.   I found a letter after he passed away that he’d written to my mom.  My mom had been dead for 16 years when he wrote it.  He was sharing with her that I was expecting their first grandchild.  It broke my heart.  But, the sight of Adam seemed to heal something in him.  I’ll always be thankful for their time together.  And he’d be so proud of the boy he’s grown up to be. 

He’d love Mack’s fearless sense of adventure and his lack of a filter.  My dad would have loved hearing some of what comes out of this kid’s mouth.  Especially the stuff that makes me cringe.  He’d tell and retell stories about Mack, I’m sure.  I think the sense of fun that Mack has would have really captured my dad’s heart.

He’d love Sam for his ready smile and outgoing personality and love of mischief, so similar to my dad’s.  He’d love to watch him push the buttons of everyone in the house.  Sam’s brothers may call him annoying at times, but my dad would have thought he was clever.  He’d have gotten such a kick out of all the trouble this pint-sized little one gets into.   

He’s had friends and family who have since passed on.  Grandchildren who entered the world and are making their stamps.  A daughter who is quickly approaching 40.  He was 44 when I was born.   The world has gone on changing.  And so it goes. 

But, as a reminder of my dad and simpler times, his bike is still parked in the yard.  The world growing up all around it. 

13 Comments leave one →
  1. June 13, 2010 10:25 am

    I love your writing, LL. So meaningful and touching.

  2. June 13, 2010 11:15 am

    Wow, I love the pictures, I love what you’re saying. Really good.

  3. June 13, 2010 11:53 am

    Another jewel! Thank you for another great read!

  4. June 13, 2010 6:03 pm

    Your photos are beautiful and I think that parking his bike in the yard is the perfect ode to your dad. It is touching that you remember him so fondly and awesome that your little guy reminds you so much of him. Great post.

  5. June 13, 2010 10:15 pm

    You really do have such beautiful boys! I’m sure they each have a little piece of your dad in them too! 🙂

  6. June 13, 2010 10:24 pm

    Ah…he would have surely burst with pride!! Your boys are such little characters…I’m sure he would have just gotten a kick out of each one of them. The bike is such a cool reminder.

    Loved what you wrote. So great!!

    And these pictures…well…can you just say “top notch”!!

  7. June 13, 2010 10:32 pm

    You’re such a beautiful writer! Seriously! And the pictures are great, too. Maybe you can teach me a thing or two. ; )

  8. June 14, 2010 9:02 am

    That was really beautiful and the pictures are just wonderful. I can imagine being there. The bike seems like it is in the perfect place.

    On a side note, my two year old informed me that she wants to go there (she was looking at your pictures with me) in a stroller, not a car, and was asking for directions!! I 100% agree with her!

  9. June 14, 2010 10:56 am

    Gorgeous photos!!

  10. June 14, 2010 11:22 am

    I love these pictures…as I am sure your Dad surely would have as well. I am certain each of them would have secured a very special place in his heart. You always write the most touching things!

    I’m Baaaack. Did ya miss me? 😉

  11. June 14, 2010 3:28 pm

    Truly wonderful, heartfelt post. I enjoyed reading it. Thanks for sharing.

  12. June 16, 2010 9:46 am

    You have a way with words. I got goosebumps reading this post. What a beautiful tribute to your father and your children.

Trackbacks

  1. Full of Hot Air « Lula Lola

Leave a Reply

