Skip to content

Charleston Road Trip

June 17, 2010

My sweet husband is working long hours and doing a lot of traveling.  And the kids and I have decided to tag along and do a little road tripping while he’s pulling the long hours.

Today, the kids and I set out for Charleston.  We didn’t actually have a plan when we got up this morning.  We just got into the car and started driving.  We stopped at a visitors center on the interstate and grabbed some brochures, narrowed it down a little and took a vote. 

We decided to go kayaking.  We ended up in Shem Creek.  I needed a little help, since I was outnumbered, so we hired a guide.  He took the little guys with him in his tandem kayak, with Sam riding in the storage compartment. 

Adam and I teamed up in another boat.  And off we went.  Before we’d even put a paddle in the water, we were already seeing dolphins. 

I never get tired of seeing them.  They make me happy every time.  The thing is, you never know when they’re going to show up, so taking their picture is a little tough!

The restaurants along Shem Creek have great seating and you can watch the dolphins play while you eat.  And they are everywhere!

We paddled around Crab Bank island.  It’s a seabird sanctuary and people aren’t allowed to get out on it for most of the year.  Birds are mating and raising babies everywhere. We saw royal terns and noble terns, pelicans, and seagulls.  We saw some birds that would flatten themselves out and sunbathe.  My zoom lens wouldn’t fit in the dry box, so I was sadly without it.

We did a little shelling.

We pulled up a crab trap and checked it out. 

We did a little swimming around an abandoned sailboat.

Searched for shark’s teeth.

We saw shrimp boats bringing in their catch, with birds all around them trying to get a free meal.

 

I love how the pelicans are perched, I wonder if seating is first come, first served?  We paddled right underneath and there were crabs everywhere. 

I wish the pictures did this place justice.  They certainly don’t. 

The boys and I had a wonderful time.  We just wish Wayne could have been with us.   We’re rolling the dice about what to do tomorrow.  Who knows where we’ll end up!

The kids are so funny.  As I was looking for a room tonight, they said that they felt like we were running from the “po po” their word, not mine.  All this traveling around and a different hotel every night.  I hope they remember their childhoods fondly, perhaps not with the assistance of a therapist!

Have a great day!

P.S. Friends, if you read this. I apologize for my use of dear. I realize the deer were probably very dear.  And though they were possibly dears, I meant deer, the four-legged kind. Sorry for the mix up. 

P.S.S. Give a girl a hand.  Friends don’t let friends make grammar mistakes.  Shoot me an email if you catch me doing that again! 🙂 It’s very embarassing!

16 Comments leave one →
  1. June 17, 2010 9:16 am

    In these pictures, the color looks really off, especially the blues. Not at all the way they looked when I edited them. And they are sort of hazy in these pictures. Not sure what I did. If you know, let me know. I’d like to fix them!

  2. June 17, 2010 10:25 am

    it sounds like a great road trip! We love Charleston, too 🙂 Lots of good memories there!

  3. June 17, 2010 10:57 am

    LL- Are you not the least bit afraid of sharks? I am. In the worst way. No chance would you have found me swimming out near that old sail boat.

  4. June 17, 2010 11:14 am

    “They felt like they were running from the po-po”…HAHAHAHA! That’s priceless, LL!

    I loved all these pictures! I want to visit there. We had discussed making this area the destination for our 10 yr anniv trip next summer. Hmmm…

    Are the dolphins there just this time of year? I want to live where you live.

  5. June 17, 2010 11:31 am

    What a wonderful day! Makes me want to visit Charleston!

  6. June 17, 2010 1:58 pm

    I am so jealous of your dolphin sightings!!! Sounds like such a great trip!

  7. June 17, 2010 2:35 pm

    Ah…the infamous “po-po”! My sister seriously has po-po radar built in. Whenver she is in the car with me she points them out far before I would even begin to notice them. And she calls them “po-pos” too. It never registers with me at first! Ha ha I’m old, I guess.

    These are gorgeous shots. Livin’ the life of adventure! Right up my alley! Can’t wait to see more of what “goes down”!

  8. June 17, 2010 6:58 pm

    AWESOME!!!!

    My fave pic is of the shell. It’s GORGEOUS.

  9. June 17, 2010 11:00 pm

    You are making some freaking awesome memories with your kids. That is so cool.

  10. June 17, 2010 11:02 pm

    Ooh, great pics. Looks like so much fun. Love the pelicans in a row. This impromptu up-and-go kind of vacation sounds so much like us. We like to just grab the kids and head out without any plans or even hotel bookings.

  11. June 18, 2010 1:05 am

    Wow…that looks like a TON of fun! Especially the dolphins…that is really cool! I’ve never been anywhere near your neck of the woods. Maybe someday…sigh. Anyways, glad you’re having fun!

  12. June 18, 2010 1:14 am

    That just sounds like such an incredible day! And I am painfully jealous about the dolphins! You were SO close!!

  13. June 18, 2010 9:10 am

    Wow! What a fun day! It looks like such a fun place to take the kids! And, BTW, I don’t think I noticed the dear deer! LOL

  14. Bridget permalink
    June 18, 2010 4:47 pm

    Loved the pictures! They were great. Love the memories you are making with boys even more! You’ll always have them! (next time, take me!)

Trackbacks

  1. Splish Splash « Lula Lola
  2. The Creature Within « Lula Lola

Leave a Reply

