Skip to content

A Charmed Life

June 20, 2010

I always thought of myself as having a “charmed” life.

I think it’s that I’m just optimistic as heck.  Because the people around me have dropped like flies, and that part doesn’t seem charmed at all.  From deaths in my family to miscarriages, I’ve still felt like I led that charmed life. 

The entire time.

So charmed in fact, that at age 24, I had the good sense to marry the right person.  And it’s a wonder, because at age 24, I was still partying pretty hardily! And the portion of my life leading up to “24” wasn’t marked by sound decisions. 

But, somehow, the real charm that I imagined in my life must have really taken hold, because I married the man who is a perfect fit for me.  The perfect father for my children.

He’s wonderful because……

  • He tolerates all the extreme foolishness that comes along with being married to me.  For this, he deserves a medal. Cause, I come carrying the crazy with both hands!
  • He is in charge or mice, bugs, snakes and anything else that sends me running and screaming.
  • He loves being thrown up on.  He would deny this.  Who wouldn’t? But, if one of our kids gets that green panicked look, he steps forward, as I take a step back.  My thoughts, “There’s going to be enough to clean without having it all over me too.”  His thoughts, “Plaster me with it son.”    Or, maybe more like, “My child is sick and needs me.  I’m making him feel better by not running, even if it means sleeping with my head in a cabinet.”
  • He helps me get the kids ready for school, every single morning.  And then drives them to school most of the time.
  • He bends over backwards to make it easy for me to have time to myself.
  • He has been involved with more little kid teams than I can count.  And even if they don’t play so good, he leaves it at the ball field .  At first, that was sort of hard for him, but he quickly realized that playing sports is about the experience and having fun.  And if the experience was having a pissed off ride home, where was the fun?  That’s not the dad he wanted to be.  And I’m so glad!
  • He plays the “monster game” with the kids.  Lights off, everyone on the couch, while he hides until they come sneaking around looking for them. This is followed by chasing and screaming and often stumped toes(cause it’s dark) but they always come back for more.
  • He took care of my dad better than I ever could have when he was dying with cancer.  He came home from the farm to take him to the bathroom several times a day.  He spent the night with him in the hospital and was the only person who could get him to eat and even shaved him.  (If you want to avoid, sad, creepy and morbid, skip to the next one, I will not be offended)The week my dad passed away, I was 13 weeks pregnant and found out that I was having a miscarriage, our baby had no heartbeat.  I was sad and overwhelmed.   I don’t look at dead people.  I saw my mom, and since then, the first picture of her in my mind is in a pink and white dress with her hands folded and earrings she’d never have worn.  Since then, I’ve decided to remember people alive only.  My dad wanted to be cremated and I was the next of kin and would have to identify the body before they could do it.  Wayne stepped in and did it, and even when they asked for me, he firmly told them that I would not be doing it.  Period. End of story.  He was my hero!
  • He works really hard to provide for us and make sure we don’t want for much.
  • Even the quirks that our kids have(and with us as parents there are quite a few) don’t concern him a bit.  He totally loves every ounce of their weirdness.
  • He does housework.
  • He doesn’t mind wearing socks that don’t match because I can never keep up with the laundry.  And he doesn’t hesitate to wash clothes when he sees that the pile is growing rather than shrinking.
  • He likes me a lot.  And wants us to hang out or at least talk on the phone umpteen times a day.  And if he can’t get me on the phone, he calls any friend that I might be with. Not to check up but to check in.  He just likes me.  And I like him too.
  • He slept on the couch many nights when I needed sleep so that Adam(who only slept while nursing or swinging) could sleep in his swing.  And if the batteries went dead, he’d spend the whole night pushing it with his foot each time it stopped.
  • He cried at the births of each of our children.
  • He was the first to hold Mack after he’d had hernia surgery, because Mack is a daddy’s boy(the other two are mama’s boys, I’ll give him one) and we knew that’s who he’d want first.
  • He wants nothing more than for me to be happy.  If that means crazy road trips and dirty laundry.  At the end of a good day that he hasn’t been able to participate in because of his hard work, he’ll say seeing us happy makes everything he does worth while.
  • He takes me on swell dates, seriously, follow this link, you’ll be shocked and awed.  And you can see his picture.
  • He thinks I’m funny.  Though, he’s much funnier.  And he loves making us laugh.  And he does it often and well.  Nothing is more attractive to me than a good laugh.
  • He doesn’t know how to tell time.  I’ve never been someone to get hung up on schedules(though I hate being late, I don’t like putting someone else out) and it’s given me the freedom, in our life together,not to watch a clock.  I LOVE that!
  • He is an adventurous eater. May not be important to everyone, but since I simply can’t take a picky eater, it means bunches to me.
  • He knew me when.  He was my good friend for many years before we ever stopped and noticed each other in that way.  He still treats me like his friend.  And that’s huge.  I can’t imagine being married to someone who wasn’t my friend.
  • He’s so sensitive that he really hurts when the kids hurt.  It bothers him as much as it does me when they get their feelings hurt. 
  • He is fearful of carnivals and screams like a woman on the rides. (Thanks Liz for the reminder!)

I’m going to stop now, because I know I’m boring you completely to death.  And this is wordy and random, and in all rights, could go on all day.  But, what I really want to say is, I have great kids and a great life because at age 24, I had a moment of brilliance and married this wonderful man.

Happy Father’s Day to my wonderful husband, who’s made that “charmed” life a reality a million times over!

I meant to do a picture montage thing showing what a great husband and father he is, but time got away from me and I have a fantastic dinner I need to start cooking for him.  I’ll try to throw up a few shots of him soon, just to prove he exists!

Have a great day!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 20, 2010 10:02 am

    I loved this oh so much! I want to hug you and your husband through the computer! He sounds like a great and amazing man! The puke thing really blew me away.

    And I love that you didn’t tease him about screaming like a woman on rides. 🙂

    I need to start using “carry the crazy with both hands.”

    You are a wise woman, LL.

  2. June 20, 2010 10:34 am

    Oh, my gosh, that date at the cat house is so freaking hilarious! It makes me shudder, too. 🙂

    I love the list – all very good, important traits. Not many men are quite that fabulous!

  3. Monica permalink
    June 20, 2010 10:41 am

    Good ole Wayne!!

  4. June 20, 2010 10:56 am

    Beautiful, beautiful tribute. You’ve got a good one there.

    My husband, too, when my father died, took care of everything, my dad’s business, the funeral plans, everything, so we wouldn’t have to. Which speaks volumes since my dad was his best friend.

    And picky eaters are like my biggest pet peeve.

    Have a wonderful day with your amazing husband and father of your boys.

  5. June 20, 2010 7:56 pm

    You say you must be boring us all, but that is simply not the case! I tell you, I love the way you write! You have a real talent for it. What wonderful things you have to say about your husband. You can tell how much you love him. : )

  6. June 21, 2010 1:28 am

    I am just crying reading this! What a lucky lucky girl you are, and what a fabulous husband you have! I only hope I will get so lucky some day! 🙂

  7. June 21, 2010 12:26 pm

    That was frackin AWESOME!!!! OMG! I teared up reading that! SOOOOO sweet!

    I am the same with death. I can’t go into viewings. I ALWAYS stand outside. To the horror and annoyance of everyone else there. But I still can’t bring myself to do it even just to make them happy.

Leave a Reply

