Skip to content

Kindergarten, Hoping for Big Smiles and Blue Skies!

June 21, 2010

Sam’s first day of kindergarten is coming up.  And it’s got me thinking about Mack’s very first day of kindergarten.

He was very excited.  My kids are all people who could happily be dropped off on the moon.  They always hop right out with barely a backward glance. 

Mack was very excited about Kindergarten, and we went for his first day orientation.   His teacher and assistant were fantastic.  They loved the kids and it showed.  Mack was to be in good hands.   The kids in his class were a good group. 

Of course, there were tears. 

Fortunately, they weren’t Mack’s.   Somehow, I thought that because Adam was already in school and since I still had a baby at home that I’d be okay.  I’d underestimated the effect of not having my middle child with me all the time.  When the teacher read her sweet but sad poem, I had myself a good, ugly faced cry.

 Mack, on the other hand, was doing fantastic.  It was going to be a great year.  He was ready for his first day all by himself.

They staggered attendance for kindergarteners that first week.  They came in small groups to be tested.  The teachers were able to find out what they knew, one on one.

So, that day came, and I let two boys out in front of the elementary school instead of one.   Wayne, Sam and I all rode to take him, and I cried like a baby the whole way home.  Wayne wiped his eyes too, but because of my hysteria, he was able to laugh a little too.

{Before pictures!}

Our house felt empty and quiet. 

The day dragged by at a snail’s pace.  Not long after I’d dropped them off, the sky became dark and the wind had really picked up.  A storm was brewing.  Tornado warnings went on all day.  I sort of wanted to go get the boys, but figured that a sturdy school building might be the best place for them.

I got into the car rider line extra early that afternoon, excited to be reunited with the little guy.  I anticipated hearing about his wonderful first day of school.  I couldn’t wait to get my hands on him!

School gets out around 2:00.  At 2:10, the line was still not moving.  By this point, friends were calling and giving me updates.  The county couldn’t allow them to leave until the tornado warnings had lifted.  So we sat there, for another half hour.  Eventually, I decided to park and go in. 

I spotted Mack right off.  He was with one of his teachers and came running to me as soon as he saw me.  He threw his arms around me, which is most unMack like.  He is normally too cool for PDAs.  And he started crying.  Again, not very Mackish, he’s not a crier.

So, I picked him up, and he whispered in my ear, “Take me home.   Take me out of this place.” 

Uh-oh.  This didn’t sound good.

I talked to his teacher for a second and took him home.  My heart breaking for him. They’d spent almost the entire day in the hall with their heads between their legs, tornado drill fashion.     

I felt so sorry for him.  What a way to kick off his formal education!

He cried on the way home as I tried to reassure him that tomorrow would be better.  I told him that kindergarten was fun!!  He was going to love it!!(Can’t you just feel the {!!!!!!s}?) 

In response to all my reassurances, he said, “What’s fun about it?  All you do is sit in the hall with your head between your legs all day?  And I’m not going back.”

All the kindergarten hyping I’d been doing about coloring, and playgrounds, and chocolate milk, and friends, and rice tables, blown due to bad weather.  The poor kid didn’t understand that this was an unusual, one day only event.  He seriously thought that this was what kindergarten was all about.   Hard as I tried, I couldn’t convince him that this was not the norm.

The assistant teacher, who really bailed us out a million times that year, called and told me the whole story.  She took special care of him on his next school day.  And since it was staggered, he had a day to recover.  Thank heavens.  I couldn’t have pushed, pulled or dragged him back through those doors without a day to recover. 

But, he did fine.  Didn’t want to go, but, one of his good buddies rode with him and that took the pressure off.  The assistant in his class called me a couple of times that day to reassure me that he was fine.  And when I picked him up, he was singing a different tune.  He’d loved it!  Thank the Lord.

Sam’s starting school in August, y’all pray for clear skies!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. June 21, 2010 11:57 am

    Oh my gosh! My heart was bleeding for him!! I can only imagine what you felt as his mother! Letting go that first day or Kindergarten is so hard. I cried all those tears too and then a few more! Let’s hope for blue skies and great weather for this year’s first day!

  2. June 21, 2010 12:26 pm

    I know without question, that I will be a mess when Addyson starts school. Then, no different when Colton goes the following year. Heck, I already fear things like driving age. I wish I could just stop all the worrying I tend to do. Not sure what my problem is. I know I went a bit off topic…sorry. Just got me rolling.

    Anyway…I’m sure his first day will be great. He’ll have his own unique memory, and you’ll have a fun post to write about it!!

  3. June 21, 2010 1:03 pm

    Oh, talk about mother’s heartbreak! What a scary way to start school. I’m hoping and praying for blue skies for the upcoming school year.

  4. June 21, 2010 1:39 pm

    Poor guy! That is SUCH a rough start to school! Talk about getting off on the wrong foot!

  5. June 21, 2010 7:47 pm

    Oh, I feel for him. I hate tornado drills,especially in school where it’s so boring to sit in the hallways with your head tucked between your knees.

    Here’s to hot, dry weather for the first day of kindergarten for Sam!

  6. June 21, 2010 8:13 pm

    I will be right there with you. My little one starts in September 😦

  7. June 21, 2010 9:34 pm

    Oh my Goodness, that’s awful! Poor kid…what a way to start the schoolyear!

    My little guy is about to finish pre-K in 2 days, and will officially be a Kindergartner! School around here starts in September, but I can’t believe my baby boy is old enough to start his elementary school career!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog and reading, and I’m really glad you like the title of my blog, and the story behind it! 🙂

  8. June 21, 2010 10:04 pm

    Poor boy! That is not the first day any parents would hope for! I’m glad the assistant took special care of him upon his return to school.

    Hopefully, the first day of school will be smoother this time around!

  9. June 22, 2010 12:09 am

    Poor kiddo! I hated tornado drills, too. What a way to start school! A 5 year old’s logic is so unique, isn’t it? I’ll cross my fingers that Sam will have clear skies!

Leave a Reply

