Skip to content

And You’re Miles and Miles from your Nice Warm Bed…..

June 23, 2010

You’ve got a friend in me.

I had a definite “You know you’re a Mom When” moment yesterday.

For years, my boys have loved the Toy Story movies.  I’ve loved them too.  Family favorites, I guess you’d call them.  No one liked them more than Mack.  We were driving to Disney when he was about two and I brought them along.  He wanted to watch them over and over.  And they kept him pretty quiet most of the way there.  We purposefully stayed at All Star Movies, just for the giant Toy Story stuff.  Mack was beyond impressed.  Thrilled, really.   The door to Andy’s room and the giant Woody just put him over the moon.

And when he got to meet Buzz, I actually teared up.  That little fellow loved him so much.

So, naturally, with our history with the Toy Story characters, we were anxious to see Toy Story 3. 

When we got there, the previews had already started and the place was pretty full, so we ended up sitting on the very front row.(Which thrilled the kids)  I won’t give away anything about the movie, but Andy is all grown up and about to leave for college.  

And I as I watched these dear characters who had been such a part of my children’s childhoods, I looked at my three little doorsteps, sitting in a row from youngest to oldest, faces lit by the big screen, and I cried.  Yep, you heard that right, I cried.

They never noticed, but I had myself a big old ugly faced cry, right there in the movie theater.  

We watched this fantastic movie, and I wiped tears more than once.  I’m not sure what or who to blame, Pixar, my boys’ refusal to stay little, or PMS.  But, I left Toy Story wiped out.   

I cried again over dinner trying to tell my husband about it.  I had to explain why I was crying to the waitress so that she didn’t think I had a mean husband who was verbally abusing me in front of the kids.  But, I probably would have looked more sane than telling her I was crying about a kid’s movie I’d seen hours earlier. But, Toy Story just did me in.

So there it is! My moment.

For more You know you’re a mom when-sdaze, check out Our Daze in the Desert hosted by my friend Arizona Mamma by clicking on the button below!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. June 23, 2010 6:28 am

    I would have done the same thing. How bittersweet. It is the one cruel thing about this parenting business, how fast they go from us. And that song from the original toy story, “When She Loved Me” that one gets me every time. Turns me into a big old crybaby, just for the song alone.

  2. June 23, 2010 7:00 am

    It’s a mixed blessing: as a mother, you need to teach your kids to grow and to be independent of you, to be their own person, yet at the same time something inside is begging them be 3 years old the rest of their lives!

  3. June 23, 2010 7:01 am

    Oh, LL! Again, you had me at “I cried!” 🙂 You are such a genuine person!

    How did your boys react to the tears over dinner?

  4. June 23, 2010 8:07 am

    Gulp. The beautiful picture is a prize winner.

    Can barely see the keys through my blurry vision now….

  5. June 23, 2010 8:44 am

    I guess I really need to see that, huh? I love a good kids movie that makes me cry!

  6. June 23, 2010 9:49 am

    Pretty much everything makes me weepy or worried now. That’s how I know I’m a mom.

    Or more specifically, that’s how I know I’m my mom.

  7. June 23, 2010 1:27 pm

    Oh, Lula Lola, you cried at Toy Story 3 and I’m crying reading your post, we make a great team! We have such a similar family history with Toy Story.

    All it took for me was reading, “…Andy is all grown up and about to leave for college.” That totally hit home, goose bumps and tears all at once.

    You’re a fabulous mom, I don’t even know you, but yet I feel like we’ve known one another for years. 🙂

  8. June 23, 2010 11:22 pm

    I absolutely loved Toy Story 3. I think it was my favorite of all. Probably for the same reasons you spoke of. My older 2 grew up on Toy Story.

    Now..get this…I wasn’t the only one choking back tears during the movie! Apparently D-man was having difficulty keeping that lump in his throat from bursting forth!!

    Priceless!!

  9. June 24, 2010 8:33 am

    That is so sweet. I’ve heard it’s a touching movie from several adults and I’m really excited to see it!

  10. June 24, 2010 9:52 am

    I teared up during the movie, too! Especially during the end! (You know which part I mean) It was probably my favorite of all three Toy Story movies. My kids have always watched 1&2 again and again, so it was a no brainer to take them to see 3. I bet moms everywhere are crying watching the movie.

  11. June 24, 2010 10:59 am

    Your husband must just love you! I don’t know how you manage to be so endearing all the time.

    You always make me able to “be right there” with you.

  12. June 24, 2010 2:40 pm

    The toy stories are a favorite here too, but we haven’t managed to see the third one yet. I love this story. It is so apparent how much you love your kids and how lucky they are to have you as their mom. I can totally understand why you would have cried and then cried again telling your husband. Sometimes I can’t wait for my kids to grow up, but most of the time I wish they would just slow down, just for a moment.

  13. June 25, 2010 1:13 am

    I know the feeling. My son loves Toy Story 1 and 2 and I cannot wait to see Toy Story 3. I love the picture of your son hugging Buzz… so so sweet!!!!!

  14. June 30, 2010 8:13 am

    Awww that picture is just super priceless! Love it! My son is Toy Story crazed too and when I took him to see Toy Story 3, after the movie was over he didn’t want to leave. Hahaha

Leave a Reply

