Skip to content

Edisto!

June 26, 2010

There are a couple of things you should know about me in order to fully appreciate this story. 

  • I am unorganized to a degree that few could fully imagine or appreciate.  If you need to travel with everything from liquid stitch to a flair gun, you probably won’t enjoy my company.  I will not be pulling my weight in this department.  Even if I plan ahead and pack well, I’m likely to forget the bag.
  • I get into crazy situations pretty close to every time I leave the house.  And I promise, I don’t go in search of them.
  • I am sort of a germaphobe.  Not about mud or dirt. My phobia is geared more towards germy bathrooms/improper food preparation/hair in any other place than where it grew/door knobs/bodily fluids and the like.
  • I believe my children are learning patience, flexibility, tolerance and humor by having me as their mom.

Wednesdays are meant to be the most fun day of the week, as far as I’m concerned.  And if they aren’t, they should be! So, the boys and I went on a day trip to Edisto yesterday. 

 If you’re unfamiliar with Edisto, it’s one of South Carolina’s sea islands.   Part of it is in Charleston county, but the beach is actually in Colleton county.   

Things slow down here.   There are no stop lights on Edisto beach.  No high rises. 

It’s made up of mostly proper beach houses, uncrowded beaches and a lot of nature.  This is a place for laid back vacations that include good books,  beach chairs, maybe a card game and a cold beverage.  It’s the perfect place to explore the waterways and the fantastic amount of wildlife that’s there.  Boating, tubing, swimming, birdwatching, dolphin spotting, biking and just slowing down and taking advantage of the slower pace are what this part of the world encourages.

There are great bike paths all over the island. 

The drive in is dotted with old churches that have been there for more of the joy and tears of life and history than I can even fathom. 

The live oaks dressed in delicate spanish moss line the road and seem to be reaching out to shake hands, old friends who’ve seen and shared much.   

We had a relaxing and hopefully educational day ahead of us.  And we could not wait!

We looked forward to an eco tour lined up for 5:15.  We made it to the coast pretty early, had a bite of lunch at the marina and then spent the day on the beach.  I’m sorry to report that I have no pictures from the beach.  It was either babysit a camera or play with my kids.  I chose to play. 

We spent much of the day swimming in the warm waters of the Atlantic.  When the water got too rough, we hunted shells.  And were rewarded by tons of treasures. 

Some more treasured than others.  Mack brought me a shell, the likes of which I’d never seen before.  As I turned it over in my hand, I realized I was holding the shell of a sunflower seed that someone had chewed on and spit out.(See note above about germaphobia) 

I felt like “Mommy on the spot” yesterday!(A feeling that I’m totally unfamiliar with)  I packed drinks and snacks, money and my driver’s licence.  I had changes of clothes for everyone.  And I had a full tank of gas.  I was on an unheard of roll.  I could do no wrong.  

We decided to go for ice cream and fried pickles before we went on our boat trip. (Nope, not pregnant, I just like to focus on good nutrition when we vacation.)   But, we had enough sand in our bathing suits to build a castle and were pretty salty.  There were no public showers or even spigots.  I drove to several public beach access points and never found one.  But, I remembered a shower at the marina.  So, we took off over there to get cleaned up. 

(Pardon how weird the above picture looks, I took it through a window in the restaurant upstairs, and there’s some funky reflection going on)

We all piled into the women’s restroom, which only bothered Mack.  He’s very modest and can be quite self-conscious.(If I ever have to squat or bend, even grocery shopping, he’s there to make sure my shirt doesn’t come up and show my lower back, he does this discreetly, so I won’t mention it.  He wants not big deal made of it, he just wants everyone covered. Why?)

This wasn’t the best plan he’d ever heard of, but he rolled with it like a champ.  Until……

I decided to shower.  Full shower, without my bathing suit on. Modest Mack, alarmed and appalled by the very idea, held the door with both hands, using all the strength that his little seven-year-old self could muster, much to the amusement of Adam and myself. 

Sam, being the button pusher that he is, threatened to open the door about every thirty seconds. Mack and I were both a little panicky that he’d go through with it. 

Loose cannon, that one!

No innocent bystander deserved to have the image of me, sans “skirtini” with sand in my crack, burned into their retinas.  And thanks to Mack’s community service effort, no one has to live with that memory!  Mack, the hero!

Well, despite my efforts my packing just wasn’t good enough. 

No towels. 

Not one. 

As far as the beach part goes, I hardly ever take a towel on the beach anyway.  We drip dry and then walk home.  No harm, no foul.  And it gives me less laundry to avoid. 

But, showering in a public restroom, gross as it felt, seemed even weirder as I dried each of my children and myself with paper towels.

All the good that I’ve done with recycling, feels like it was promptly undone with overuse of paper towels.  But, you do what you gotta do.  And I didn’t want to wear a clingy wet tee for the rest of the day.  So, there it is.   We giggled like it was the funniest thing ever, but as I’m typing it, I’m not even sure why I’m including it.  I just didn’t want you to get the impression that days with me come off without a hitch.  They never do! 

And, I’m all about realism.

We enjoyed a break for ice cream at McConkey’s Jungle Shack.  Good stuff.  And then it was on to our tour.

The picture above couldn’t be more typical.  Sam happy that there’s a photo session involving him.  Adam checking in to make sure he’s standing where he should be.  And Mack, dear, hard to photograph Mack, crawling between Adam’s legs.  My goodness, my boys!

We got to the marina a little early and had a chance to check things out. 

Sorry about all the pictures from behind, but when there’s so much for little boys to see, getting them to smile for the camera is a near impossibility.  He looks a little reddish here, but in person, it was gone by evening.  Not a real sunburn this time.  I’d feel like a dog if I’d done it twice in a season!

I’ve got tons of pictures I want to share from our trip.  But, this is getting really long!  I’ll post the rest tomorrow.  I don’t want you to fall completely asleep when you come here!   I’ll try to go a little heavier on the scenery, lighter on the kids. 

Hope you’re having a great summer!  Don’t forget your towels!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. June 26, 2010 8:06 am

    I love this ALL. period.

    i do have a question, though, what if they didn’t have paper towels? would you have tried to put your body underneath the had drier?

    • June 26, 2010 8:25 am

      We would have spent our entire day under the hand dryer. Yes.

  2. June 26, 2010 9:36 am

    That’s funny because I was thinking the same thing as Liz!!

    I love this story!!

  3. June 26, 2010 2:14 pm

    Great story! I was cracking up. And then I read Liz’s comment about the hand dryer AND your reply, and I thought it was even funnier. I ALWAYS forget a towel for some reason, and this is something that totally could happen to me!

  4. June 26, 2010 6:44 pm

    Oh, what a wonderful day y’all had! I so miss the beach and the magic that happens there.

    Beautiful pictures!

  5. June 26, 2010 10:24 pm

    Public restroom showers. Not my idea of fun. But the rest of your day looks plain magical! I love summer!

  6. June 27, 2010 5:17 am

    I’ve never even heard of Edisto island, but it sounds and looks amazing! I love that you just take trips like that with your boys! What a cool mom! 🙂

    • Babs permalink
      June 28, 2010 11:40 am

      Love Edisto! Never thought about the showers at the Marina…There is such potential there. The State Park would be another idea…a year pass for all the SC state parks is only $50 for a car load:) You get a pocket pass too!

  7. June 28, 2010 9:20 pm

    I am a germ freak too with all the same things you mentioned. Speaking of…saw the comment left by Liz…you should NEVER use a hand dryer. They are a virtual hot house of bacteria and nastiness and just spew it out all over your freshly washed hands.

  8. Bridget permalink
    July 8, 2010 10:13 pm

    I believe this is one of my favorite pictures of Adam!~

Trackbacks

  1. Edisto Part II, Hitting the Water « Lula Lola

Leave a Reply

