Skip to content

Summer Doesn’t Last Forever!

June 29, 2010
tags:

“Rest is not idleness, and to lie sometimes on the grass under the trees on a summer’s day, listening to the murmur of water, or watching the clouds float across the sky, is by no means a waste of time.” John Lubbock

 

People are always in such a hurry.  There are items on lists waiting to be scratched off.  There are things to do, people to see, bills to pay, errands to run, laundry to fold, dishes to wash, dinners to cook, diapers to change, calls to return, emails to compose, lawns to mow, practices to attend, carpools to drive, assignments to complete. 

________________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________

But, summer is here. 

Slow down. 

Let the grass grow. 

Order take out. 

Blow off practice. 

Enjoy a sunset or sunrise.

Realize that the laundry and the dishes and the errands aren’t going anywhere. 

In fact, throw that list away. 

It’s summertime.  And it doesn’t come around but once a year.  Enjoy it. 

Swim, play in the sprinkler, grill, catch lightning bugs, pick flowers and tomatoes and berries, look for arrowheads or seashells, sit on porches laughing and visiting, shell beans or shuck corn while you’re sitting there, listen to your favorite music over a cold drink with friends, stretch out in a hammock and take a nap, do cannonballs, blow bubbles.  Spend time in rocking chairs and porch swings. 

Enjoy.

The phone won’t stop ringing, but you can turn it off.  

The world won’t fall apart if all the laundry isn’t put away(trust me on this one).  

Taking a walk isn’t a bad way to spend an evening. 

Turn the TV off.

Summer is here and you want to remember the sweetness of it, don’t you? 

Slow down. 

Eat a popsicle, churn some ice cream.

Boil some shrimp.

Enjoy every second of it. 

It won’t last forever!

This is the season for laziness, the season for adventure. My favorite time of year.  And friends, I don’t want you to miss a second of it!   

19 Comments leave one →
  1. June 29, 2010 6:13 am

    I’m kind of glad it won’t last forever so I don’t perish in this heat!

    But no, seriously, you’re right; it’s better to get out and enjoy it while it lasts.

  2. June 29, 2010 7:09 am

    I so agree… you have written what is on my heart…

    The SC Gamecocks have made qite an appearance here in Omaha.. See, I love all things SC, even a college baseball team.

    Thank you for starting my day in a relaxed frame of mind.. and given me permission for another day of not doing laundry, I am eternally grateful. 🙂

  3. June 29, 2010 7:14 am

    I can’t decide if I love the pictures or the writing more. Well said, LL! And the photos are gorgeous! I love that Dive Inn sign, too! And I’m all for ordering take out.

  4. June 29, 2010 8:15 am

    What a beautiful anthem for summer time!

  5. June 29, 2010 8:17 am

    amen. I love summer!

    You know what is neat too………..is when summer is coming to an end and we are getting ready to send the kids back to school, close the pools, buy mums……. I LOVE the changes too.

    Now …………….TO THE POOL!!!

  6. June 29, 2010 9:03 am

    Thanks for the reminder!! Only four more days of school, then we can spend days at the pool or just lazing around! Woohoo!

  7. June 29, 2010 9:07 am

    I just fell in love with this post…you captured summer perfectly!!

    Every Saturday I give a shout out about my favorite posts throughout the week…I would love to include this one!!

    • June 29, 2010 6:04 pm

      I’d be honored! Thank you for being sweet enough to include me!

  8. June 29, 2010 1:47 pm

    See, I was just thinking that i need to stop reading blogs. Then what would I do for inspiration??

  9. June 29, 2010 1:53 pm

    Ah…my sentiments exactly!! It’s SUMMMER TIME….DIVE IN!!!!

    I love it, LL!! You got your priorities in order!!

  10. June 29, 2010 2:57 pm

    wow – this is beautiful, and I need to listen to it! Sometimes it is east to get caught up in day to day routine. Your photos are always beautiful!

  11. June 29, 2010 4:18 pm

    I love the quote at the beginning. I am going to have to write that down and stick it on my bathroom mirror. This subject is something I have really been trying to take to heart lately. I get so caught up in taking care of everyone and everything that I am consumed by anxiety and miss the fact that life is passing me by. Thanks for the reminder. I think I will just enjoy the rest of this afternoon!

  12. June 29, 2010 5:28 pm

    I’d love to order take out tonight actually! It’s just the kids and me tonight. Maybe I should. Chinese sounds yummy!!

  13. June 29, 2010 8:46 pm

    Amen!! Now, that’s advice I would love to take!

    And we totally have to meet up next summer when we are in your area!!

  14. June 30, 2010 1:14 am

    I’ve never seen those flowers before, but they are GORGEOUS! What are they?

    • June 30, 2010 6:59 am

      They are hydrangea. They’re everywhere around here and they dry really nicely too. If you don’t like the color, you can put rusty nails in the ground and it changes the iron level or something and they’ll become bright pink, or sometimes a turquoise-y color. One of my favorites.

  15. June 30, 2010 2:27 pm

    Couldn’t agree more! My house is a wreck, I still haven’t unpacked from vacation, laundry is piled waist high, yet still I took the kids to the pool (which didn’t work out as well as I had hoped – story on my blog). But who cares? It’s summer. Time to relax.

  16. July 2, 2010 1:32 am

    What a great post! Before I read this I just did a post about how fast this summer is slipping away. But it wasn’t written anywhere near as eloquent as this post of yours!

  17. July 3, 2010 10:32 am

    Oh thank you so much!!!
    I have always such a bad conscience when I leave my laundry and dishes – but so right – they are not going anywhere (unfortunately…)

    Let’s enjoy summer together and leave the laundry for long winter evenings… ;=)

    Claudia

Leave a Reply

