Skip to content

Let Freedom Ring

July 5, 2010

Yesterday, we spent the fourth soaking up the sun and enjoying a perfect day.  Never in all my life can I remember the weather being better on the fourth of July.  Temperatures were in the 80s, it wasn’t humid at all, and we were in shock.  This is SC we’re talking about. In July.  It was a glorious(not a word I throw around lightly)day.

The highlight for me was a military flyover. A low flying airforce C-17 flew from North Myrtle beach south to Hilton Head Island.  Folks were asked to wear red white and blue, wave and show support for our troops as it flew over.  They shot video from Surfside Beach to Pawleys Island to send to our troops stationed overseas. 

(The picture above was taken from the Salute From the Shore Facebook page, the plane is flying over an ultra crowded Pawleys Island)

I have never seen Surfside Beach so crowded.  It’s a beach that you can pick your spot at almost any time of day, even at high tide.  But, yesterday, because of the perfect weather, the tide being in and the flyover, you couldn’t stir it with a stick.  People were everywhere and just this once, that’s okay.

(A little note about the above picture. I was unprepared. I grabbed my camera when I saw the plane was coming. The settings were really weird{Thanks Adam} and I didn’t have time to get them right. Sadly, no decent pictures of the flyover)

As the plane flew over, I felt my throat tighten and my eyes start to tear up. As my husband and I watched the shows of patriotism all around us, and that big old plane flying over as our children waved and people shouted, he held up his arm, showing me his cold chills.  I laughed through my tears as I thought of the day we were enjoying. I thought of all the days I’ve enjoyed. And all the days we will enjoy because of brave men, like my father, who were and are willing to lay down their own lives so we can live freely.

Having always been free, I don’t think I can fully appreciate what my freedom means.   I’m sure I’m not as grateful as I should be. I don’t know how good I’ve really got it.  But, yesterday on that crowded beach, it felt good. Really good.

I’m free to sit here on my porch this morning, writing this little blog, enjoying another day in the 80s.   Because I know that someone out there is sacrificing time with their family, their comfort, their safety and maybe their life to make it possible.

And I want to say thank you!  

14 Comments leave one →
  1. July 5, 2010 8:05 am

    Great post- reminds us what to be thankful for! And, lucky you to live near the beach!
    Andrea

  2. July 5, 2010 9:10 am

    It looks like you could reach up and touch the plane in that first shot! WOW!

  3. July 5, 2010 9:57 am

    How beautiful! Itching to get back out that way. I know what you mean about choking up. I find myself doing the same when I hear the Star Spangled Banner in certain situations and think of how many people have died for our country, for our freedom. Crap – here I go again.

  4. July 5, 2010 10:40 am

    Beautiful! We really are lucky, aren’t we?

  5. July 5, 2010 11:06 am

    LL- I never know how, but I always know that I will be moved in one way or another when I read your blog. Whether it be to laughter or to tears…you always manage it. This time is no different. Such a wonderful post.

  6. July 5, 2010 1:24 pm

    I really enjoyed reading this post. It was very well written. Thanks for the reminder behind the day.

  7. July 5, 2010 3:05 pm

    So glad you and your family had such a fun Fourth of July. The flyover looks awesome. We did too despite Colorado’s teribble timing for a big, long, rainstorm. We brought the grill in the garage and had a great time.

    I so thought of you yesterday as my son and his good buddy, both HS Seniors and have known each other since kindergarten, came back from seeing Toy Story 3. They were both all teary-eyed and at the same time had big smiles on their faces. It really hit them both that this will be their last year at home. 😦 I just have to go see this movie.

    Oh, and you just have to watch this 5-minute video with your children when you find time.
    I Fought For You By The Sound Tank

    • July 5, 2010 6:48 pm

      I hope you do not mind but I just posted this on my blog.

    • July 5, 2010 8:18 pm

      That is so moving Lori! Thank you for posting it here.

  8. July 5, 2010 4:38 pm

    So good Lula Lola. I felt that way last night as we watched the fire works. I always get so choked up. We do live in a great country!! May we never take it for granted.

    I can imagine how loud that plane must have been in that first picture. Holy cow!!

  9. July 5, 2010 6:43 pm

    I would have been in tears. This year my husband was not with us. I can not wait until next year when he is with us again

  10. July 5, 2010 10:22 pm

    What an awesome picture! I would love to have been there, I’m sure it was very moving. I think I would have been bawling like a baby, though!

    Thanks for sharing….what a great post.

  11. July 6, 2010 2:07 am

    What a PERFECT 4th of July! The 4th in San Diego you used to have to go to the beach at like 6 am to stake your claim of land because it would get so crowded… we used to do it in shifts!

  12. July 8, 2010 1:28 pm

    Very touching! Those blues are gorgeous…

Leave a Reply

