Skip to content

Just when you thought it was safe to go back into the water…….

July 6, 2010

Just when you thought it was safe to go back into the water…….

Yesterday, Adam and Wayne decided to try and do a little surfing.  I was on the beach and had planned to try and get some pictures.  I saw a friend from home walking on the beach and she stopped to talk for a minute.  So, I didn’t get my camera out. 

Do you know how unusual that it? I document EVERYTHING! If you can pass gas at this house without me taking your picture, then you know I must have been unconscious.  But, today, my camera was with me, still in the bag.  And of all times, I wish I’d had it!  And I haven’t gotten any good pictures of him surfing this year. It’s too hard, when it’s just me, to watch all three kids in the ocean and take pictures.  But, Wayne’s here now and I should be getting tons.

 I wasn’t though, I was running my mouth and only half watching the two of them.  But noticed they were several feet apart and as the wave they were floating over began to swell, I noticed a shark in it.  Right there between my husband and son. Swimming towards Adam.  Seriously!  I may or may not have screamed said a bad word loudly and with feeling at this point.

I didn’t just see it’s fin, I saw the whole shark there in the wave before it broke.

It was probably about four feet long. I have no idea what kind it was.  And I’m sure it wasn’t too awfully dangerous.  Because if it had wanted them, it would have had them.

Wayne was half on half off his board at the time and saw it swim beneath him.  He tried to get Adam’s attention to point out the “really huge fish.”   He couldn’t see it in detail, not well enough to know what it was anyway.  It was swimming towards the front of Adam’s board.  Literally an arm’s length from him.

 Another man and woman on the beach saw what was happening and ran to the them.   They were there before I could even process what was happening.

Wayne heard people yelling “shark” and thought it must be behind them.  It took him a second to realize that it was right there with them. 

Adam saw the shark and began walking on water, let me tell you!  This child never hurries.  He is always slow-moving.  But, I saw him hustle today!  He fumbled with the board and did quite a dance trying to get out of there.  

I saw the shark in as shallow as knee-deep water.  After we spent some time talking to some of the beach goers who saw it too, my knees were still kinda weak.    The little kids didn’t know why we weren’t letting them go back in the water. An uprising was beginning.  So,we decided the pool would be a good way to spend the remainder of the day!

Surf camp is supposed to start today. I’m thinking we’re going to skip it, until Wednesday or Thursday, anyway. I think he’ll  still be too spooked to get much out of it.

(He looks a little shaken here, doesn’t he?)

The funny part is, I’m not scared of sharks. I’m not scared of anything about the ocean.  I know the likelihood of a shark attack is ridiculously low. At the same time, I also know that our family doesn’t do it, if it isn’t crazy.  And a shark attack is about as crazy as you can get! And seeing one swimming near your fellows will leave your heart in your throat, fumbling for words(that aren’t profane).  I just really hope it hasn’t made Adam afraid of the water.  He looked plenty afraid yesterday when he was trying to get to shore.

But, for the next day or so anyway….I think the water we’ll be playing in will be in the backyard, I know all the critters that swim there and none of them are dangerous!   

***The picture of Adam holding his surfboard was taken last summer.   This board is a lot better fit than the one he’d had before and he was really thrilled with it.  Notice the sticker he put on the top of it.  Foreshadowing maybe?

***I’d share some older surfing pictures, but they’re all on my home computer.  If he ever surfs again, I promise to post some, even if they’re no good!

The incredible way I worked in the word “fumble” was thanks to the Word of the Week, sponsored by the Nerd Mafia!

header 150x150

40 Comments leave one →
  1. July 6, 2010 8:31 am

    Holy cow. I can’t imagine, girl.

  2. July 6, 2010 9:06 am

    I can’t even imagine how fast my heart would have been beating…..how scary!

    And you missed the shot….but at least he missed your boy!

  3. July 6, 2010 9:17 am

    Oh my heavens!! I am scared of everything in the ocean. Big fish, little fish, rocks. Terrified.

  4. July 6, 2010 10:00 am

    Holy crap! That’s scary!! But surfing camp…well, that’s just cool! I had no idea they did such things. I’m ridiculously unschooled in ocean type activities. I’m a poor landlocked girl!

  5. July 6, 2010 10:51 am

    Here’s a Florida girl saying, I understand about the sharks. Still mighty scary.

    And I love Hilton Head so much. It’s one of my favorite vacation places in the world. I’m on vacation this week in Chicago and it is so hot, last night I dreamt I was at the beach. I love it here, they’re just not supposed to have tropical temperatures.

  6. July 6, 2010 11:35 am

    Eek! I would have had a heart attack on the spot. 😦
    He’s too cute!

  7. July 6, 2010 11:54 am

    This.is.INSANE!!! I want to commend your use of “fumble”, but I can’t get over the story…

  8. July 6, 2010 12:06 pm

    I… I….I…. I have no words. I love sharks, and think they rock, but if I saw one swim between my husband and son I would have died. Right there, on the spot, dead.

  9. July 6, 2010 12:16 pm

    Girl, I just knew I’d get the details today! How incredibly scary for everyone. I’m glad to hear that all is well and nobody was hurt.

  10. July 6, 2010 12:24 pm

    Pretty sure I would have crapped myself. Oceans terrify me.

  11. July 6, 2010 1:39 pm

    Oh. MY. GOSH! How scary! I would have yelled some fairly colorful words myself. I am so glad they are ok. That would have been a cool picture though! Hopefully that will be the only shark encounter EVER for your family!

  12. July 6, 2010 2:27 pm

    CRAZY! I can’t imagine the string of profanity I would have had to be apologizing for. Wow, what a story.

  13. July 6, 2010 5:45 pm

    EEK! I would have FLIPPED OUT! It seems to happen to me with my camera as well. While I usually have it to capture everything, it seems like there are times when I would KILL for it, and it’s long gone.

  14. July 6, 2010 6:26 pm

    This is why my husband doesn’t like the ocean!

  15. July 6, 2010 6:48 pm

    Well…let’s just say you weren’t fumbling for any words when you saw the shark!! I’m not sure what I would’ve done. Especiallly seeing it swim towards my son!! Eee gads!!

    I’d like to think I would have gone running into the ocean, ready to open a can of whoop a$$ on that shark! But most likely I would have just screamed at my husband to save himself and my first born! ha ha

    I love the surf board picture…I can see why all the girls are texting him!!

  16. July 6, 2010 8:29 pm

    I would have FREAKED out!!!!

  17. July 6, 2010 10:22 pm

    CRAZY!! I’m so glad that everything was okay and nobody was hurt…and now what an AMAZING story he’ll have to share for the rest of his life!

  18. July 6, 2010 10:23 pm

    SICK! THAT is why I do not like getting in the water. Love the beach. Love the smell of the water and sound of the waves. I do not want to get in…JAWS ruined it for me and I saw it back when I was a teenager. That is a long long time ago. Fear stuck. I’m so glad this had a happy ending.

  19. July 6, 2010 10:38 pm

    Holy cow, LL! That is one of the craziest stories I have ever heard! I probably would have frozen in fear and screamed cuss words. Or had a heart attack. Glad they were OK…and I hope Adam feels like surfing again, because that’s actually a really cool pastime…without the sharks, of course. Best use of the word fumble ever!

  20. July 6, 2010 10:42 pm

    Your life is insane!!

  21. July 7, 2010 7:55 am

    Unbelievable! I would have had a heart attack. I don’t blame you for sticking with the pool for a few days.

  22. July 7, 2010 2:48 pm

    Yes to the pool. No to sneaky things fumbling towards you.

  23. July 7, 2010 2:59 pm

    OH. MY. LORD! That is REALLY freaking scary! I would have had a heart attack. That is crazy! What a story that will be told for years!

  24. July 7, 2010 4:01 pm

    That. Is. So. Scary. How on earth did you not break down into sobs when they got back safe? I think I would’ve had a seizure or something. Glad everyone’s okay!

  25. July 8, 2010 3:07 am

    Holy cow! That is so scary! I’m not afraid of the water in the least either, but something like that would definitely make me freak a bit!! Poor guy!

  26. July 8, 2010 1:18 pm

    I still can’t even believe that happened! How scary! Had they ever had shark sitings around there before?

    Love the photo! He DOES look a little shaken 😉

    • July 11, 2010 12:44 pm

      Every blue moon we’ll see one. But, it’s not often. I know they’re out there, but they don’t bother anyone.

  27. July 8, 2010 1:21 pm

    Wow, we live in different worlds. I can’t even imagine this. Your story is one that will be told for many years to come. Well into your sons grandpa-ing years. Stopping by from Word up yo.
    Dana

  28. July 11, 2010 11:30 am

    This post made my knees weak! My husband grew up surfing and has had a few bumps (and ankle nibbles by a baby shark). I know it’s only a matter of a few short years before he’s got our little one on a board (he’s already got him training on the Indo @ 15 months!). I don’t think I’ll ever be prepared for the danger of our finned friends and jagged rocks that await… Nice use of WOW!

  29. July 11, 2010 12:08 pm

    Oh. Em. Gee. This story is freaking me the flip out. Where do you live? Please say East Coast. Please say East Coast.

    Anyhow, I am Sports Boy News’ mom and while I was all prepared to let him read his co-winners post, I may have to reconsider.

    Considering he and his dad surf.

    All the time.

    Oh, be still my beating heart, I am soooo glad your guys are ok.

    • July 11, 2010 12:39 pm

      East coast! No worries…..for you. lol
      They’ve been out again and we’re cool. Discovery Channel actually sent us some really cool Shark Week stuff. Including a Tshirt and DVDs and they adopted a shark for us! Pretty neat! Considering no one lost a limb or anything!

    • July 11, 2010 12:40 pm

      I loved your guys post by the way! Cute! He’s quite the writer!

  30. July 13, 2010 12:23 am

    And now I know why Jed Clampet preferred the cement pond. So glad all went well.

    ~ Yaya

  31. July 16, 2010 2:02 pm

    I guess when God handed out fear, you didn’t show up. Because I would have soiled my suit and yelled a stream of profanities the likes of which people have never heard before!

Trackbacks

  1. Sittin’ In the Mornin Sun, I’ll Be Sittin When the Evenin’ Come « Lula Lola
  2. Groovy « Lula Lola
  3. What I Hope You’ve Learned Over Summer Vacation « Lula Lola
  4. USS Yorktown « Lula Lola
  5. Wetting a Hook « Lula Lola

Leave a Reply

