Skip to content

Groovy

July 8, 2010

Sam is one cool little kid.  But, he looks a little too cool in this picture.  As in “put on a sweater” cool.

 

 

Thanks to a little Lightroom split toning, I think Sam’s gone from cool to groovy. 

Works for me, because when you think “Sam”, you think “groovy.”

But, I can’t leave well enough alone, and neither can Sam. For a variety of options, I decided to send it over to Photoshop Elements. 

 

 

 

I think I’ll call this one “Major Chill.”  And that’s saying something, because I almost never use the word “chill.”  Short of the occasional, “I think they seated us under the air conditioner vent, I’m chilly.”  I’d even go as far as to call it “Frostbitten.”

 

But, let’s end on a sunny note, shall we? I am after all, a summer girl.  And groovy little Sam takes with him his own little piece of sunshine.

Got a favorite? Think they’re all way overdone? I might just agree with you there!

Now, off to Pixel Perfect to link up and see more groovy before and afters.

Peace!

***While you’re here, check out this cool dock that I fooled around with  in Lightroom yesterday!

***And if you’re looking for some excitement, read about our recent close call with a shark, exciting stuff!

16 Comments leave one →
  1. July 8, 2010 5:43 am

    I like the first one best. But the others are fun! And oh, to be too cool. I could use a little of that right now.

  2. July 8, 2010 7:21 am

    I like them all but I think the last one is my favorite. Love the sunshine!

  3. July 8, 2010 7:50 am

    I like the first one best but they are all neat edits. I so wish I was as “cool” as him right now! Man it’s warm here. 🙂

  4. July 8, 2010 8:45 am

    i like how you can really see his freckles in the 3rd one.

  5. July 8, 2010 9:16 am

    Love the first edit! Great comp and a super fun photo!

  6. July 8, 2010 9:25 am

    i actually like the “Major chill” one… and the last one does look super warm. i don’t have a fancy editing program, but i make due with what i have! love your edits!

  7. July 8, 2010 9:52 am

    My fave is the third! 🙂 I love the colors, and contrast. Love your little rambling, they make me laugh! ^_^

  8. Tara permalink
    July 8, 2010 10:32 am

    I like your first edit, you definitely warmed him up! I need some of that!!!

  9. mooney=mc2 permalink
    July 8, 2010 1:36 pm

    I don’t think that your SOOC looks too cool at all, in fact, I think he just needs a little red pulled out of the photo and he looks GREAT! nicely exposed and all! I, too, love fun edits though, and he def. looks groovy in the others!!! I prefer the edits that keep closest to his hair color though.

  10. July 8, 2010 2:51 pm

    My favorite is the 2nd one! I LOVE freckles, both of mine have them. They really pop in these pics!

    I rarely use “chill” either, unless I am cold (which happens more often than I care to admit, even in sunny California).

  11. July 8, 2010 3:14 pm

    I really like that last edit!

  12. July 8, 2010 3:27 pm

    It is amazing how different one picture can look. I like the last one the best. That is a cool perspective to take the picture from. I need to work on taking pictures from different angles and heights.

  13. July 8, 2010 5:02 pm

    I like the interesting perspective of the photograph and the style of the effects in the 2nd edit “Major Chill” the best! The other two are a bit too warm and overprocessed looking for my taste.

    I came over here from the Pixel Perfect blog hop and I’m so glad I found your blog! I’ve subscribed and I’m surprised I haven’t visited here before.

  14. July 8, 2010 7:37 pm

    Frankly, I think your SOOC is really nice. I love the angle the the interesting pose. I really like the last edit. I like the warmth.

  15. July 9, 2010 2:40 am

    He is just such a handsome kid! And I am going to need some one on one photography workshops someday in Alaska please… you just let me know when you’ll be in town! 🙂

  16. July 14, 2010 10:59 pm

    Very cool edits! 🙂

Leave a Reply

