Skip to content

Weeds

July 9, 2010

Laura, from Blogging from Bolivia, hosts Macro Friday.  Link up and show us your close  up!

 

Weeds.

If you have a garden, you pull them.

If you have a yard, you battle them.

If you have Roundup, you spray them.

If  your husband is in the business of landscaping, you’re glad they’re there.   

Because it provides work for your husband.

And so, you photograph them.

Because your husband wages war on them elsewhere.

And they’ve come to your house.

 To stay!

Happy Friday! Hope you have the weekend all to yourself and your lawn mower is broken so you can enjoy it!

 

 

 

18 Comments leave one →
  1. July 9, 2010 7:10 am

    I’ve never thought about looking at the “beauty” of weeds, LL!

  2. July 9, 2010 7:44 am

    What a gorgeous shot! The bokeh is dreamy. (that’s my word for the day – dreamy).

  3. July 9, 2010 9:47 am

    Great shot! I’ve got morning glory coming out my ears. It’s driving me crazy! But I remember as a kid how I thought it was so beautiful because the flowers were so pretty.

  4. July 9, 2010 9:57 am

    What a great way to look at weeks!! Quite a different perspective, and a great pic.

    And I already heard from one blogger who HAS a broken lawn mower…maybe she’ll comment here!

  5. July 9, 2010 10:05 am

    Weeds ARE pretty. One of my favorite pictures ever was a dandelion (with a ton of bokeh). They always make me think of the line: “Weeds are no more than a flower in disguise.”

  6. July 9, 2010 12:09 pm

    Heck, you should come to my backyard…I’ll give you plenty of weeds to take pictures of! Seriously, though, it’s a great shot! Love it! And is it your hubby who is in landscaping? If so, I sure wish you lived closer. I need advice on how to do my backyard. Right now it’s still dirt and weeds. We like to call it “natural desert” landscaping.

  7. July 9, 2010 1:33 pm

    Actually, mine is broken, and I’m not pleased with it. My neighbors are going to complain any minute now. And I hate weeds! A lot! 🙂

    Nice picture though!

  8. July 9, 2010 1:53 pm

    The good news about weeds and a husband that is a landscaper is I don’t think we will ever run out of weeds. There are some really beautiful ones though. I love that you captured the beauty in something that most people would pass off as just a weed.

  9. July 9, 2010 2:45 pm

    So pretty!! Now…kill it! ha ha

    I hear ya…my husband is a contractor and yet our house was started 3 years ago and we still haven’t totally completed it. Sigh!!

  10. July 9, 2010 4:24 pm

    Beautiful shot, Lula Lola! I love the clarity of the top of the weed! The coloring is fantastic also!

    Blessings,
    Addie

  11. July 9, 2010 4:35 pm

    I never thought I’d say this, but your weed is beautiful!!

  12. July 9, 2010 9:15 pm

    So Beautiful, and I jsut yanked a relative of your photo from my garden this evening. Great capture….I love it!

  13. July 9, 2010 10:22 pm

    Great focus, and reason to celebrate them.

  14. July 10, 2010 1:48 am

    I seriously love the pictures from Macro Friday. So pretty LulaLola!!

  15. July 10, 2010 3:47 pm

    Lula…really nice shot! The background is perfectly blurred.

  16. July 12, 2010 1:40 pm

    Creative shot! I LOVE the color… so lush & beautiful!
    Great detail and perfect background 🙂

  17. July 12, 2010 2:08 pm

    That is one beautiful weed!

Leave a Reply

