Skip to content

High Tide or Low Tide

July 10, 2010

 

In high seas or in low seas,
I’m gonna be your friend,
He said, “I’m gonna be your friend.”
And, baby, in high tide or low tide,
I’ll be by your side,
I’ll be by your side.

 

If you have just a second, listen to this cover of this Bob Marley song.  I’m not normally big on covers, but this one really speaks to me.  And who doesn’t love Jack Johnson and Ben Harper?

 

 

 

The perfect end to a lazy summer day is a long, lazy walk.

Sometimes it feels so good, you have to lie down and make snow sand angels.

Sometimes, there are big beds of shells.  Sam picks up every fragmented shell he can find. Notice his pocket. Notice the shells. When he runs out of room in his pockets, he recruits others.  Why do we ever walk off without a bucket?

Imagine what doing my laundry is like.

Notice who’s “on” for the camera. The only one this picture-taking mama can really count on. Every. Single. Time.

Wonder what happened to Adam’s hat?

 

 

 When, oh when will I learn to make them put their bathing suits on before we walk?

I have a confession to make.  We do this almost every night.

And I don’t make them take a shower.

Half the time they’ve been on the beach all day.

I rinse them off in the outdoor shower.

 They jump in the pool and after a nice swim, I pronounce them chlorine clean. 

 I suppose that makes me a grub.

These are my grubby children.

And husband. Who does, however, shower.

For the most part.

Sometimes, it’s nice to be alone when we’re together.

And, sometimes you just need to run. Not me so much, because I’m lazy. But, these people I’ve given birth to, they run.

And sometimes, there are streams to jump.

And I love it when we don’t make it home until way after dark!

 

What’s your favorite way to spend a summer evening?  Do tell.

 

 

20 Comments leave one →
  1. July 10, 2010 9:39 am

    These pictures are gorgeous and your boys are so beautiful!

    Don’t tell them I called them beautiful though.

    I would kill to have a beach so close, but we’re land-locked, so we have to find other things to do. We love to go to the amusement park on Saturday nights. I love it when it gets dark and the lights turn on all the rides; it makes it feel magical and old fashioned. Summer nights are the best.

  2. July 10, 2010 10:00 am

    Oh, I love this post! I so really wished we could’ve made it to the Gulf this year and to the beach we “borrow” from my uncle-in-law. Hopefully next year we’ll be able to.

    As for how we spend our summer evenings, my husband and I sit on our porch swing and watch our kids and the dog run around being crazy, chasing lightning bugs, visiting quietly, recounting our day. I wish summer was year round.

  3. July 10, 2010 10:09 am

    I wish I was closer to a beach! Kids are supposed to be bathed in the summer?!?
    Glad I’m not alone falling down on that chore.

  4. tgoodloe permalink
    July 10, 2010 12:06 pm

    Top 20 Tracks for an Eclectic Weekend
    http://eightrackmind.wordpress.com/2010/07/10/top-20-tracks-for-an-eclectic-weekend-p-1/

  5. July 10, 2010 1:42 pm

    Well you and your hubby have a knack for producing beautiful children…who will be growing up to be heartbreakers in a few years 😉

    Your photos are beautiful, and I’d love to have a day just as perfect as that!

  6. July 10, 2010 1:54 pm

    Your boys are the prettiest boys EVER. They’ll all be heartbreakers, LL. Our summer nights aren’t nearly that cool.

  7. July 11, 2010 1:08 am

    Hey, chlorine clean is just fine! I am always so jealous of your georgeous pictures. And the fact that you actually get out and do stuff! We just laid around today and did a little cleaning.

  8. July 11, 2010 1:22 am

    You sure do have a pretty fantastic life lady… And 3 of the most handsome boys I have EVER seen!

  9. July 11, 2010 3:54 pm

    Love the idea of sand angels. We go to the beaxch next week and I can hardly wait!

  10. July 11, 2010 4:42 pm

    LL, this is a beautiful post! Love the song, tied in with your awesome pics of the kiddos. I think showers in the summer ARE optional for kids, most of whom spend many days in some sort of water or another.

    Those beach days are so relaxing….love them. Thanks for taking me there, if only temporarily!

  11. July 11, 2010 4:49 pm

    I am in LOVE with your pictures!! And just a tad jealous you live on the coast in South Carolina! Maybe we can meet up next time we stay in Pawley’s. We just got back from San Diego, a place I love as equally. And now I’m home in Phoenix. And it’s 110 out. 😦

  12. July 12, 2010 1:50 am

    Just. Adorable. You’re soooo lucky! The beach always calls my name, but somehow I end up in the mountains.

    I’m curious – have you seen any signs of oil in SC? I heard somewhere that ginormous tar balls were washing up in New Jersey (though they didn’t say where they were from). Just kinda scary. In the meantime, enjoy the gorgeousness you’ve got going! Wow.

    • July 12, 2010 5:55 am

      Thankfully, no oil. I hope it stays that way. I don’t see how we’re going to dodge it with the gulf stream and all. But, what do I know? I just hope they’ll get the mess cleaned up.

  13. July 12, 2010 2:06 pm

    Gorgeous, amazing post! You have the cutest boys! I hope you frame some of these photos and hang them in your house. You are LUCKY to be able to stroll on the beach daily.

  14. July 12, 2010 2:28 pm

    Wow. What amazing beach photos! I love the ones on the lifeguard’s chair. I love the colors and reflection in the water in the last one also!

  15. July 12, 2010 5:17 pm

    I live right by Lake Michigan, but you know what? There’s still something magical about that ocean!

  16. July 13, 2010 9:10 am

    I SO need to find me a beach. Great pictures!

  17. July 13, 2010 11:22 am

    I wish I could be there!

    Instead, we are sucking it up in 105 degree heat. Fortunately we are taking the kids to San Diego in a couple of weeks. We intend to spend a day at the beach. Of course, the time of day will not lend itself to pretty pictures…but I am determined to try anyway.

  18. July 18, 2010 1:55 pm

    WOW! This is a beautiful post!!!!!! Complete with a Marley tune! I love that pic of the boys in the big beach chair. That’s an awesome shot!

Trackbacks

  1. Apple Says You Can Return iPhone 4 For Full Refund But What About The AT&T Contract? | Antennas Phone Blog

Leave a Reply

