Skip to content

Shoulda Been a Gypsy

July 12, 2010

Sometimes, you just need to take the plunge.  Makes waves.  Generate your own excitement.

  I took an art class in college, many, many moons ago.  The professor introduced us to the Luscher color test. I was so interested, I purchased the book.  My best friend and I would often throw the cards down and see what it said about the current state we were in, and it was almost always right. 

It’s amazing how much your choice of color says about your personality and mood.  This is the online test, and I still pull it up and do it every now and then. If you take it, come back and let me know if it was accurate for you.



I won’t bore you with the results.  And I don’t know if you “get” this from my blog entries.  But this first line pretty much sums me up.

Needs excitement and constant stimulation. Willingly participates in activities that are thrilling and offer adventure.

Before I took the test, I spent the morning trying to find something interesting to do.   Something new, that we’ve not done before.  I’m considering take the kids for Hobie Cat lessons, or wake boarding lessons.  I’ve looked a kite surfing, and paddle boarding. I’m considering deep-sea fishing.  I’m checking out rafting trips in the mountains that even Sam may be able to go on.  I’m checking out waterfalls we can swim under. (Can you tell that I really like water?)

I’m googling places to go and areas to visit.  I’m restless. I’ve been in one place for two weeks now.  And, I’ve got the rest of the week here. 

I seriously love being at the beach.  I love all the things we normally do. And I am fully aware of how fortunate we are to spend such a big chunk of our lives in such an incredible place.  I don’t take it for granted at all.

 But, I’m ready to mix it up.  I’ve got to do something different.  Even if we’re staying here. 

I most certainly would have made a great gypsy.  Except for the peddling thing.  Not so much your peddler.  I’m not your salesperson.

But, the constant movement appeals to me. 

And right now, I’ve got a sense of urgency about these feelings.  Time is closing in on me.

August 13th is the day that my oldest goes back to school.  On a Friday no less.  Who thinks Friday is a good day for school to start? They take your last weekend by doing that nonsense. 

I am filled with dread when I think of that date.  Seriously. 

On that day, I feel like I hand our carefree summer lives over to the “man.”  The establishment.  They give us a calendar and a clock, and expect us to line up and get with the program.  

I detest “getting with the program.”  I can almost hear the clank  of a cell door behind me, the closer it gets to fall.

But, I’m unorganized and so spur of the moment that I’d make a stinky homeschooling parent.  And my kids have a great school with great teachers and great kids and I don’t want them to miss out on that.  I just wish the school year didn’t last so stinking long.  And I wish that it allowed for more freedom to move about a bit. 

I wish that if you planned a trip, the kids could take a downsized version of their classes online.  Without all the roll calling, paper passing out and taking up, discipline, and all the other housekeeping that comes with being in a class full of kids.

Those few years when I had no one in school, I really enjoyed it.  But, now, looking back, I didn’t realize how good we had it. That’s why I’m bound and determined not to waste our summers. 

Have you had any adventures this summer that I should not miss?  My bucket list is pretty long and I’m always adding things. Share if you’ve got something I should write in-in pen.

 How do you feel about school starting back? 

Are you a gypsy too? Or am I the only one?

Have a good day, I suppose I should get ready to do some palm map reading so that I can determine our future. 

24 Comments leave one →
  1. July 12, 2010 9:08 am

    Oh, LL! I bet you are seriously dreading that day! And it is SO dumb to start on Friday? Who does that?!

  2. July 12, 2010 9:57 am

    A Friday? Who starts school on a Friday??? I like constant movement, shaking things up. I completely understand where you’re coming from.

  3. July 12, 2010 10:34 am

    Friday is not a smart back to school day.
    I’m not really a gypsy these days but I have a non listening 3yo. I hate the heat and not a big fan of crowds so we do quiet things at home. Lots of crafts.

  4. July 12, 2010 10:42 am

    Whoever came up with starting school on a Friday must have had a horrible childhood or something. How dumb! I understand about getting restless. We’ve done absolutely nothing this summer, and my kids start school on August 9! Eeek! I hope you find what you’re looking for…

    I’m about to go take this test. By the way, congrats on being a Made Man. As soon as I read your post I thought, “Now THAT deserves to win!”

  5. Katie permalink
    July 12, 2010 11:08 am

    I just ignore the fact that school is going to start soon. I love having my kids home and cry like a baby every first day of school. We don’t really do much in the summer (if we lived near a beach things might be different) but just spending time with them, hearing their noises and seeing their sleepy faces in the morning…. that’s what makes summer special for me.

  6. July 12, 2010 12:12 pm

    Here is the one liner of my results…the rest of it was so right on. Crazy.

    “Outgoing but unpredictable and unstable. Likes things to go her way, otherwise she becomes agitated, indecisive, and fake in her activities.”

  7. July 12, 2010 12:41 pm

    That picture is priceless and so very true. Starting school on Friday…man that would stink!

  8. July 12, 2010 12:57 pm

    Oh. My. Goodness. That color test was right on! And it is amazing that I admit it, cause my life is in turmoil and I didn’t really care to read that about myslef.. but it was spot on true regardless.

    Yes, I dread the first day of school.. or going back altogether. I too am incapable of homeschooling. at least by following a curriculum, I would get all A’s for field trips and learning that way.. I am hpoing that we know about our move before the first day of school begins, wherever we may be.. But it is all in GOd’s hands so I leave it at the cross!

    Thanks for a great post, and I hope you find the adventure that you seek

  9. July 12, 2010 2:00 pm

    I couldn’t agree more with this post! I’m dreading the start of school. Luckily, mine don’t go back until Sept 7th. August 13th is so early – though your kids must have also gotten out early. You need to cram in all the adventures you can between now and then!

    I understand what you mean about following the rules. Sometimes you just have to break them! We pulled our kids out of school for 11 days in May to go on vacation. The schools weren’t thrilled, but we didn’t really given them a choice. The oldest had work to bring with him, but the two elementary age kids could do all their work on the plane rides (9 hours & 10 hours).

    I hope you find some great adventures in the rest of the summer! The shark sighting sure was one adventure. Be sure to report on the rest of them!

  10. July 12, 2010 2:03 pm

    We are just one and the same. I will always dread that first day of school. With each passing day of our sweet summers, I have this little whisper in the back of my brain that says, “One less year with them.” It fills me with such a mourning.

    I, too, could never accomplish the magnitude of home schooling, but I consider it every year as our summer comes to a close far too soon.

    Enjoy your beautiful days there at the beach. I sure have wistfully enjoyed them with you every day as I read your blog.

  11. July 12, 2010 2:22 pm

    I totally hear what you’re saying about feeling like time is closing in! Just this morning, I ticked off the list of everything I want to accomplish in the next week, and wondered how long I could go without sleep before I went completely insane.

    Excited to take the quiz! One more distraction from doing my list … hehe.

  12. July 12, 2010 2:53 pm

    seriously? They start on FRIDAY?! That has got to be the worst idea ever! Who thought of that one?

    Hope your summer is chock full of wonderful adventures!

  13. July 12, 2010 3:01 pm

    Wow, August 13th is soon. Where did the summer go? I am too unorganized to homeschool my kids too. I need a professional to do it.
    That test, uh wow, I was stunned by how accurate it was. It is almost creepy. It pretty much hit my life right on. Thanks for sharing the test!

  14. July 12, 2010 5:03 pm

    OK, I took the test and this is what it said, “Likes to be in control and wishes to hold a position of power. Comes up with ideas and plans to overcome obstacles and likes to feel control over events and situations.”

    Which is so true it’s hilarious.

  15. July 12, 2010 11:44 pm

    They start school on FRIDAY THE 13TH??? Now that’s just not right…

    Time just slips by so fast, our summers go faster and faster. When the kids were in elementary school, we had 11 weeks of summer; now it’s only 10. I don’t have quite the gypsy in me that you seem to, but I have always cherished the summer time with my kids. Your ideas are fabulous!

  16. July 13, 2010 3:01 am

    You just described my feelings to a tee lady! I love moving around and starting over and have always kind of envied a friend of mine who has a seriously transient lifestyle – she works on private yachts and is always on the move!

    Plus, I would be a horrible home school mom, and I know it…

    But at least it sounds like you are having a fabulous summer with the kiddos!

  17. July 13, 2010 9:08 am

    AMEN! I am right there with you! My kids go back August 16. We just barely got out and I’m not ready to even think about a schedule again. I want to be free and go do some fun stuff, dang it! But somehow, I’ve been less adventurous this year. I need to broaden my horizons and go on some adventures.

  18. July 13, 2010 11:02 am

    First – great picture!

    A friday? And people starting school on August 16th? That’s insane!

    I am homeschooling my kids this year – it will be our first, possibly last, attempt. The reasons for it are too numerous to list here, but I will say that I am also a very unorganized person, so I’m a little scared. We’re getting some hours checked off during the summer, just a few here and there, so that our days can be a little shorter for the rest of the year.

    And it’s offering a lot of freedom to do cool things. Right now we’re charting the cycle of the moon for science. I’m also being quite anal about penmanship, so we’re correcting what the public schools did to them there.

    So far, we’re having fun, and not being too rigid. I think I might like it – if I can get my act together with that organization, planning thing.

    Happy summer!

  19. July 13, 2010 9:13 pm

    I think we’d get along really well in real life!

  20. July 13, 2010 11:20 pm

    Interesting, I am going to check it out. Great pic btw!!!

  21. July 15, 2010 9:34 am

    I’d never heard of that color test before, but I went and took it and I’m not sure how I feel! I mean, a few things were creepy accurate, but then I often worry those things are always written open to interpretation so everybody thinks it describes them perfectly!

Trackbacks

  1. USS Yorktown « Lula Lola
  2. Lula Lola
  3. Restless « Lula Lola

Leave a Reply

